We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
55
50
10
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
50
10
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2015

My wife and I are big onsen fans and go probably about 8 times a year to different places. this time we went to Hanaya - excellent service, excellent kaiseikiryori and beautiful old ryokan. I was very pleased. We took a friend who is leaving japan (and speaks little japanese) for one last memory ..impeccable. the only negative would be the fact that you can hear the people in the floor above and next door - the building is very old (well maintained) ...

by the way, you can walk around to beautiful small temple and shrine as well as various bars all in walking distance.

Room tip: difficult to say as the rooms are spread out through the compound.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johntaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was an amazing ryokan. A 100 yr old building beautifully restored with heavenly gardens. The service and cuisine was impeccable. The onsens were lovely including a small outdoor bath. More than anything the warmth of the hospitality and gourmet local cuisine was well worth the expense.
Walking distance from the sweet little station of Bessho Onsen and the the 3 temples in the area.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbaradesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

At the moment we entered the room #26 after checking-in, we were shocked with the status of our room. Its windows and walls were dirty, water tubs were rusted, private ‘Onsen’ room seemed not well-attended and so on. Any customer, who expects common-sence-level of cleaness in such a prestigious Ryokan (authentic Japanese ‘Onsen’ hotel), would claim against such a poor standard of amenity. Our first impression, therefore, was disastrous.

However, during our dinner (served in rooms), the more we talked with a staff, the more we were fascinated with charm of this Ryokan. Such change might be generated by her hospitality and, more importantly, her affection to the place. To her, every item in our room, furniture, ramp, ornament and so on, has its own history, and is associated with memories of the ex-owners and co-workers who used to be here. Through learning the history by her talks, our view and evaluation changed gradually.

Although we still stress the needs to attend the room amenity, we finally became fascinated with the real history (since 1917) and dignity of the place after using their authentic marble public bath halls and all-wooden dining halls. On the 2nd day, therefore, we were fully satisfied to stay here.

As said, staff's hospitality was excellent, and such attitude came from their affection to the place and we believe that it had played a vital role to sustain this authentic Ryokan for years.

Served Japanese cuisine, dinner and breakfast, was impeccable. We could feel, from the materials, the cheff’ heart-felt intention to entertain customer by making full use of local and natural crops. We heard that he had been trained in Kyoto, and that made us think that his such skill gave a new lives and tastes to his selected materials.

So far, this is an excellent Ryokan and it will attract a number of Japanese repeaters, but, even for overseas visitors, we would recommend the Hanaya to be in your itenerary if you want to experience traditional hospitality of Japanese style hotel.

We suspect that some part of this Ryokan belongs to the natinonal cultural assets. It may be hard to rebuild or modernize the buildings and even harder and more costly to maintain them as they are. But we hope that not only such properties but also its unique hospitalities tradition which we experienced will be handed down nicely to next generations to sustain the authenticity of this place.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chocolate_Library
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent two nights at this inn/hotel. I do not know how much English is spoken as I muddle along in Japanese and my wife is Japanese. Rooms were large, well kept, straight out of the early Taisho Era (1912-1925), Food, dinner served in the room, breakfast in a very nice dining room were excellent. One of if not our best experience in 45 years in and out of Japan. The public baths are excellent and the rotenboro (outdoor bath) is also quite nice.

I can not recommend this place too highly it is one of my best experiences in Japan ever.

Bessho-Onsen is a small village with 3 lovely temples one of which has a pagoda which is a national treasure. All three are well worth visiting. Allow two days, our third day we went over for a day tour (taxi and walking) of Ueda which is 20 minutes away via the Ueda-Bessho Train, quaint and charming.

About 75 minutes by bullet train from Tokyo Station to Ueda and then 20 minutes on to Bessho.

Room tip: Room 30 where we stayed was great, but I suspect that is the case for most of them.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Rooms might need some refurbishment and in winter, the bathroom can get really cold. But nothing that wouldn’t make your staying there unpleasant. On the opposite, the staff is very friendly and the garden very beautiful. Dinner was served in the room, but breakfast not. Nevertheless, I think this is something they decide on the previous day, depending on how busy they are.
It is a walking distance from Bessho onsen station. But they even offered to take us to the station by car. A very pleasant experience!

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews