We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of The Glenelg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenelg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glenelg Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gargunnock, Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My very first impression was not good as I went in to buy a bottle of wine to go and was charged full table price:(.
Went on a Sunday night the place was busy so glad we had booked. The food was excellent I had pate followed by venison and my wife had soup and haddock rounded off with a beautiful chocolate dessert. The whole bill came to £75 which included pre dinner drinks and a bottle of wine.

Glenelg is not exactly on the main road to Skye but it is well worth detouring to sample the food at the inn and then take the small ferry across to Skye

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    72
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
43
120
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay! The drive over the mountain on the single track road was lovely, and the view from Room 6 across the water to Skye was even better. The ferry across to Skye wasn't open for the season yet, so the inn was relatively quiet. With no cell signal and no wifi, we just disconnected and relaxed. The dinner was excellent, the local fresh scallops about the best we've ever had. The bar was full of locals, and two of their dogs. Friendly staff/owner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank PapaGIle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-wye
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent a mid week night at the Glenelg Inn. A superb, restful and quiet location. A beautiful room looking across to the Isleof Skye with a king size bed. The staff were most welcomming and happy to serve our breakfast earlier than usual time. A very good dinner in the bar with a great atmosphere and some tasty real ales on tap.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartRoss-on-Wye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I recently returned to Glenelg and stayed overnight at the Inn. I have been many times to the Inn and my most recent trip yet again confirmed what a unique and special place this is. The food was first class. The atmosphere in the bar is always special and the mix of local characters and tourists a great combination. If you are looking for a sterile upmarket hotel then there are increasing numbers of such establishments where you can sit alone and have no conversation or interaction. Alas a trend everywhere in the world. For those of us still seeking out some magic then the Glenelg is one such place. My room was really lovely. I highly recommend the Inn and keep up the great work Sheila and her great team of staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here with friends recently and will be returning this summer with my partner.The Glenelg is a charming place with lovely ,friendly staff who go the extra mile to make your visit memorable.
Was very surprised to see the recent negative review about the Inn being unclean and not good value for money.
The rooms we occupied were very clean and comfortable. There were dogs there but this is a dog friendly place like most Highland establishments and they must clean very thoroughly as I didn't notice dog hair all over the place.
The food is excellent and is well presented.There is a varied menu and the portions are very generous and represent good value for money.
Overall this wee Highland Inn offers very good value for money and is a lot cheaper than some places I have visited up North.Well worth a visit...a memorable experience I wish to repeat.

Room Tip: If you want an early night request room away from bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isa243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was looking forward to a return visit to the Inn having been there a few years ago how disappointed we were, where do i start 1, rooms yes its an Inn as previous traveler said but not cheap they ARE taking hotel prices starting at £100 b&b so paying that you expect rooms to be clean sorry but dust every where, dogs hairs, holes in ceiling into loft covered in cobwebs did,nt take pics sorry my mistake but if you look at previous travelers pics its not changed any and that was 2012 !! Think pillows bedding been there from my last visit need replaced as they are well past there sell by date. Food choice not good very over priced ,was offered tomato soup 3 nights in a row surely its not hard to get ingredients to make a better choice menu there is road in to the village and this is 2014 also only 1 sweet on menu Cranachan think its been there from the Burns Supper . The location is beautiful but a badly run business with no composition so i will not be returning for a third visit think the chap that used to own it should come back was a far better place .

Room Tip: Dont get rooms near bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shielbridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here the weekend of Burns Night ie Jan 2014 , Rooms very clean and fresh looking for the establishment that it is , an INN . I live on the other side of the hill and rather that get a taxi I stayed, Staff very helpfull , Kevin the little Irish gnome and his lovely wife Katie (whom does not work there ) The scrumptious owner Sheila , very accomodating and friendly , I have noted previous comments , and have heard stories from weekend, Personally I think there personal issues and slandering going on, 1, If the rooms were dusty or cobwebs !! Why not mention when you are there ? 2. Why would you come back and stay if you were that unhappy ?? 3. If your food is not to the standard you are used to or wanted , You say so at the time ?? 4. If you want a refund on your stay or are unhappy , speak to someone at the time, Do not throw toys out of pram and slag off online unless you have photographic evidence of your accusations . The location is ideal if you are into west coast scenery any time of year, Jan tends to be cold so be prepared for weather changes and 4 seasons in a day

Room Tip: The room I had was upstairs with a great view towards the Isle of Skye
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nissangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenelg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenelg Inn

Property: The Glenelg Inn
Address: Glenelg IV40 8JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenelg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Glenelg Hotel Glenelg
The Glenelg Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing