We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful friendly stay”
Review of Hotel Moc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moc
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Myoko
Buderim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful friendly stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Had the pleasure of Sachiko as our host in April this year. We had a 3 family group and all our needs (and more) were catered for.
The positon of Moc is ideal-a 30m stroll to the gondola !!!! Although it was end of season we had enough snow to keep us busy. The hotel is clean, well run and well organized. Nothing is a problem for the wonderful Sachiko and her family!!!
We dined out most nights and each night brought something new. Sachiko even took us to a local sushi restaurant and also to a chicken restaurant,locals only , no english.
Then to top it all off she held a party in our honour on the last night. What a wonderful, warm stay.
If you are going to Myoko. why woudnt you stay at Hotel Moc???
Thanks again so much Sachiko.
ps she also dropped all of us at the train station when we left.....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Hotel Moc is located very close to the ski slopes - across the road from the ski resort. But it is not so convenient for dining out at night as it is a good walk up to where most of the restaurants are located. There is a restaurant on site that you have to book one day before and there is a small izakaya around the corner. The rooms are quite large for Japanese hotel rooms but they could do with a little sprucing up/ updating. The most irritating thing here is that they allow people to smoke at the stairways so it travels up into the rooms above and a lot of the time it was the staff smoking late at night that filled the stair areas with smoke. They also need to do something about the smell in the toilets on the basement level.The owner of the hotel was so delightful and she looked after us very well. It was convenient that they had wireless Internet but it did not work in the room so we had to sit near the off- duty staff at night to be able to use the Internet. As chiko spoke very good English and she would be the main reason why we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeSkiSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed for 5 nights mid January 2013, family of 4. As others have said whilst hotel is a little dated in decor, it was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Family room was warm and spacious by japanesse standards and smoke odour free, TV and separate heater and windows that open so you can adjust to suit your needs. Shower/bathroom/toilet ensuite was tight but served its purpose, and nice onsens and extra toilets on each floor and in the basement anyway. Hotel layout was great, basement with nice little separate men's and women's onsens for a soak after skiing, ski room/locker with side access onto street and 100 m walk to lift ticket office and adjoins gondola to have ski access to both Akakura and Onsen ski areas. Ground floor restaurant and dining room area, where lovely breakfasts, lunches and dinners can be all had, and at a discount rate if your a hotel guest. First floor reception area and large comfortable lounge area with free wifi, wood stove, piano, great area for mingling with other guests and to relax in out of your room if you want. Hotel location great for skiers, with shuttle to other resort areas just across road. Short (15 min, level but can be snowy),walk to main street area with a good variety of small restaurants, cafe and shops. From the beginning hosts Sachiko, Kenichi and rest of family + Toco the dog, very obliging from picking us up at the train station to dropping us back at the end of our stay which was not expected and a great bonus with our luggage. All in all a great small family run hotel perfect for families to stay, and we definitely will again if we find ourselves back in Myoko which we hope to one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our family of 6 adults had 3 nights at Hotel Moc. As skiers and snowboarders we were thrilled that the hotel is opposite the gondola, a very short walk across the road and up a little hill. Sachiko, who runs the hotel, was amazingly helpful, hospitable and always available. I booked via their website and Sachiko speaks English, which helps a lot. She sells lift tickets at the Hotel at discounted prices. We had breakfast and dinner included, which was excellent value. We had 3 Japanese- Western combination rooms and they were spacious and clean, with 2 Western style single beds and a Tatami mat area. As other reviewers have noted, the decor is dated, but at this price point one can hardly complain! Also, smoking in hotels and restaurants is common in Japan, so smoke was especially noticeable in the stairwells. I would highly recommend this hotel to price-conscious travellers. We hired excellent equipment from Myoko Snowsports, the quality of their skis, snowboards, service and fitting was outstanding. Myoko had awesome powder snow.

Room Tip: The Japanese Western combination rooms are very spacious by Western standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbette26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I organised a trip for 12 people to Myoko Kogen and we decided to stay at the hotel Moc which we do not regret. Sachiko San and the rest of the family members made our experience really pleasant. She assisted us with the most of our wishes and nothing was impossible, the breakfast was nice you could choose between Japanese or western breakfast. The dinner was also good with lots of different Japanese courses. The rooms where clean and spacious and there was a small onsen in the basement that where really nice to use after a day of skiing. The hotel is really close to the akakura gondalal 75m. I would most definitely stay at this place again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pazzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

we stayed at hotel moc dec 22-27 2012 with our daughter age 11 and another family from
singapore. we had a happy stay and would
glad to go there again. our daughter loved coco the dog. sachiko the owner was very kind and helpful. western visitors should understand that japanese ski hotels are quite modest. we were happy but one should not expect large luxury rooms like one finds in whistler or aspen. myoko sports has a ski school with australian coaches about ten minutes walk up the road. myoko sports offers lessons and rentals or u can rent in hotel. just be aware that apart from hotel and train ticket almost everything else in japan requires cash payment. sachiko is very helpful and speaks english which is not the norm in small hotels in japan. we found the skiing to be first class. the main gondola is across the street. to get to hotel moc you take shinkansen train from tokyo to nagano then a local train to myoko. the total journey is about 3 hrs from tokyo station.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SingaporeLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay in myoko I would highly recommend this hotel.Owners are wonderful hosts and great western or japanese food in the restaurant,rooms are basic but clean,comfortable and have good heating.The hotel is located across the road from the main gondola and the price of accommodation is ridiculously cheap but still delivers excellent service including pick up and drop from/to the train station.5 min.walk to shops and 8-10min to the town center.If you plan to ski in the back country witch is easily accessible from the lift lines don't forget to pack a snorkel!!.

Room Tip: If skiing and lots of sake are not enough to put you to sleep I would suggest you get a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vic r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myoko
Hotel Silver Horn
#4 of 81 in Myoko
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Wakui Hotel
Akakura Wakui Hotel
#7 of 81 in Myoko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Hotel
Akakura Hotel
#5 of 81 in Myoko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akakura Onsen
Akakura Kanko Hotel
Akakura Kanko Hotel
#1 of 81 in Myoko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Akakura Onsen
Kogakuro
Kogakuro
#3 of 81 in Myoko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Okushiga Kogen Hotel
#8 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moc

Property: Hotel Moc
Address: Shin Akakura, Myoko 949-2102, Niigata Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Myoko
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Myoko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing