We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great dinner!”
Review of Feel Unazuki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Feel Unazuki
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kurobe
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Unazuki Onsen is a small town and somewhat quiet with the streets almost deserted by nightfall. It is the start point for all excursions into the Kurobe gorge by the torokko train. This hotel is ideally situated just less than 100m down the road from the torokko train station and the Chiho Dentetsu Railway terminus.

The room was smallish but that is not unexpected in Japan. The look and feel is a bit dated and 80ish but the reception staff try hard and are very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Dinner was not at the hotel but we were given a voucher for the Unazuki House restaurant down the road. That was, hands down, the best dinner we had on this trip and ranks up there among the best across the many trips we have had all over Japan. Truly unexpected to have this great dining experience in this quiet little town.

Being so near the coast, the dinner kaiseki is a seafood one and the highlight was the generous serving of fresh sashimi and the hotaku ika, or tiny firely squids that we ate for shabu-shabu. Every course we had was beautifully presented and tasted great. For the price we paid for accommodation, this dinner was well worth it. Even breakfast was a generous spread of choices.

If you're going to the Kurobe Gorge, this hotel is a good place to spend the night just before or after the train ride!

I had a bit of an eerie experience in the female onsen but I think that added to the atmosphere of the whole town and the travel experience as a whole.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

On exit from Unazuki Onsen station, turn left and the hotel is located a short 100m away. The Kurobe Railway station is another 100m up the road.
We had one of the 2 western style rooms. Room and large and clean, with a toilet only and no shower. Bath is to be taken in the indoor onsen on the top floor. The onsen water is hot and smooth.
We decided to forgo the Kurobe railway ride that day as we were told the walks around the upper stations were closed due to earlier snowfall. Instead So we went for a walk along a pathway located past the Kurobe station car park that takes you to a bridge that overlooks the gorge and a view of the red Kurobe railway bridge.
During our visit in Nov, there were only 2 restaurants down the road that were open for dinner. We chose the less trendy oden restaurant, run by an old lady. The sashimi was thick cut and very fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We wanted to ride the kurobe gorge railway so we searched for a cheap hotel around the station. Feel Unazuki was the cheapest one we find at that time. The building wasn't exactly luxurious nor did it look new, but there was a lot of space in the room and everything were clean as far as I remember. The location was perfect, we just have to cross the road to ride the famous Kurobe Gorge Railway. And the other train station also just around 4 minutes walk away.

The service was great. It was raining that day and the receptionists gladly lent us umbrellas. They were helpful with informing us the location of convenience store, restaurants, etc.

There was only one problem that we encountered. When we entered the big ofuro / onsen, we read that at 10PM the location of men's ofuro and ladies' ofuro will be switched. Therefore, we kinda rushed everything and tried to get out of the ofuro 5 minutes before 10 o'clock, and wait for the switching because we haven't got the chance to relax in the onsen. However, no staff came at 10PM to switch the rooms, and we can still hear men's voices from the other ofuro so we didn't know what to do. 20 minutes afterwards we decided to call the reception desk and a staff immediately came to switch the rooms. I guess we were just stupid for being too punctual with time, but hey it's Japan, everyone is usually on time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etsuko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank YOSHIKA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 上総ちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ちょびずみ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kurobe
Hotel Granmirage
#2 of 16 in Uozu
25 reviews
Unazuki Onsen
Enraku
Enraku
#2 of 21 in Kurobe
99 reviews
Unazuki Onsen
Hotel Kurobe
Hotel Kurobe
#2 of 16 in Kurobe
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unazuki Onsen
Entaijiso
Entaijiso
#5 of 21 in Kurobe
102 reviews
Unazuki Onsen
Yukai Resort Unazuki Grand Hotel
Unazuki Onsen
Unazuki Suginoi Hotel
Unazuki Suginoi Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kurobe
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feel Unazuki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feel Unazuki

Address: 462-2 Unazukionsen, Kurobe 938-0282, Toyama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Toyama Prefecture > Kurobe > Unazuki Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kurobe
Price Range: £71 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing