We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings - Fawlty Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This retreat has the enormous advantage of being situated in one of the most spectacular parts of South East Queensland. The views are inspiring – the walks generally easy and rewarding. Our one bedroom canopy suite had a spa bath for 2 perched high in a position affording views to the south-west over the valley. The rooms were comfortable and spacious with a well operating wood burner keeping it cosy. There are 2 things that were disappointing. The first was that they took every opportunity to extract some more money from you – charging for everything. Adding an extra cost for guided bushwalks – which is their reason for existing – is not on; and I fancy something that has come about since we were last at O’Reilly’s about 5 years ago. We paid to do the Segway tour ( and I have no problem with paying for extras such as this) but rather than it being a glide through the rainforest as advertised it was largely confined to roads in and about the resort. I must though compliment Justin - our informative, cheerful and helpful guide and patient Segway instructor. Finally the great disappointment was the food. Guys if you want to pretend that you are a 4 star resort get a decent chef and overhaul the very limited and mostly boring menu. What was on the dinner menu was basic, boring and barely competently cooked. We couldn’t have stayed a third night and eaten there again – I couldn’t have faced it. The breakfast buffet was similar: one morning the bacon ran out and stayed that way for 20 minutes at least ( we left). On the second morning in an attempt to avoid the tasteless slop that was alleged to be scrambled eggs I ordered an omelette. Without question it was the worst example of one I have ever had the misfortune to be presented with. It was flat and chewy and burnt – literally inedible. Despite the nice room, spectacular scenery, cheerful and helpful staff the food means we won’t be back .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brissie3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana J, Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Our Retreat guests are offered a complimentary bird walk each morning which I hope you were able to take advantage of. That is disappointing feedback about your dining experiences and has been addressed with management. We will pass your feedback on to Justin - he is a great guide we agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Mountain View Room. Though the room was not very new, but it was clean and spacious. The service from hotel staff was generally ok. I love their cafe, which served good breakfast, morning and afternoon tea, which came as a package. We had dinner at the cafe too and though the price was not cheap, but food and dessert was good. It was located near to many walking trails and nice lookout. My two children had a wonderful experience with the Glow Worm night tour in the forest. They love this place!! Good memory for my family!
For people from Asia who is not used to winter, one thing to take note the heater in the room doesn't really keep the room very warm. So I let my kids wear jackets to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YengAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana J, Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for the great feedback, in particular the Glow Worm Tour - we agree Glow Worms in the rainforest is a must see. We hope to see you and your family back here some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On first arrival, we had a bit of an issue as I was certain that I booked (over the phone) a room with a fireplace and spa. When we got there however we had neither of these in our room, and the staff were not able to help us change to another room. The 'Mountain view room' we were given had pretty average mountain views. Probably not worth calling a 'mountain view' room. Also, the room seemed pretty outdated, and we couldn't get the heater to work. Food, OK, (Breakfast buffet was great!) but not much to choose from (which is understandable considering their location), and I got mild food sickness after eating their lamb shanks one night. Other than that, nice location, staff were kind, nice range of activities on offer too. But would not recommend the glow worm tour, which costs $30. Totally not worth it.

Room Tip: Just make sure, if you're booking over the phone, to confirm exactly what you want in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorVONDOOM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana J, Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at O'Reilly's. We are disappointed to read of the break down of communication - only the Canopy Suites have log fires. We do not take food poison comments lightly and investigated further, this is the only report of 21 lamb shanks sold that night and meals are prepared fresh daily. We would be happy to put you in touch with the Exec Chef to discuss further. Glad you enjoyed the rest of the food during your stay and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our second visit to O'Reilly's staying in a mountain view room. We had a fantastic time - room was clean and well laid out. Shower was amazingly hot which was fantastic after a full day of hiking. Staff were friendly and efficient. We could never tire of the views that surround the property. We bought a deal - Two nights for $199 - a great bargain. Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi There,

Thank you very much for your review and continuing support of our mountain home.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your partner had a great time at O'Reilly's. I have forwarded your review onto management so that they can share it with the team!

We hope to see you up at O'Reilly's again soon.

Best Regards,
The O'Reilly's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The views are wonderful up at O'reillys, can be a little chilly at times so maybe pack a jumper just to be safe. The road is also very windy so probably not good for travellers who may suffer from motion sickness. Loved the free sky walk, amazing atmosphere through the dense rainforest and the bell birds singing! I loved it! Would suit active people who don't mind a nice walk. Only downfall is it could be a little longer.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bek1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi There,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review O'Reilly's.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the breathtaking beauty of the Lamington National Park lived up to your expectations!

We look forward to seeing you up at O'Reilly's again soon.

All the best,

The O'Reilly's Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A gorgeous scenic drive up the mountain from Canungra sets the scene for breathtaking valley views from the retreat room. An afternoon being pampered at the Lost World Spa was heavenly. A beautiful, peaceful hideaway. Dinner was fantastic and the breakfast buffet offered a great variety of hot and cold options. The room and bed were very comfortable and the sunset views from the balcony were memorable. The library and the bar are both very charming and beautifully set up. Would love to visit again, there are so many activities available day and night out in the rainforest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi There,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our mountain home!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself and our facilities, dining, accommodation room and surroundings lived up to your expectations. I have forwarded your feedback onto the whole team.

We hope to see you up at O'Reilly's again one day.

Have a great week.

O'Reilly's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived mid-day on a sunny Friday after a gorgeous trip up the mountain through valley and rainforest views. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and we were delighted with our retreat room which looked directly out to the valley and mountains. A variety of wrens and crimson Rosella visited our deck while Paddy-melons ate at the edges of the grassy area in front of our room. We enjoyed many of the trails and were excited by the number of birds we spotted including a bower bird and a noisy pitta! The mist and rain the next day seemed to only enhance our rainforest experience and made for a cosy time that evening in the bar and the excellent restaurant. We loved our stay at O'Reilly's and would like to thank the staff for their efforts.

Room Tip: The Villas looked wonderful for a family or group of friends but we were very happy with our retreat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JHadAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana J, Guest Relations Manager at O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi There,

Thank you very much for the positive review of our mountain home.

It sounds like you had an amazing time and were able to experience much of the flora and fauna of the Lamington National Park.

I have forwarded your review onto the entire O'Reilly's staff. We hope to see you up at O'Reilly's again one day soon.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canungra
4.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
14.8 mi away
Canungra Hotel
Canungra Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canungra
89 reviews
20.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
14.6 mi away
The Odd Gecko
The Odd Gecko
#1 of 2 in Canungra
28 reviews
23 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa

Address: Lamington National Park Road, Canungra, Queensland 4275, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Canungra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Canungra
Price Range: £80 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore World Heritage-listed Lamington National Park from the best and only vantage point on Green Mountain - at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat - operated by passionate by third generation O’Reilly family members whose ancestors pioneered eco tourism in Australia in 1926. Choose to stay in a cosy Rainforest Retreat guest room with expansive views overlooking the western McPherson Range or one of 48 self-contained and architecturally designed modern Villas perched unobtrusively onto the sloping hillside. Get amongst the daily activities of guided bird walks, animal shows and the famed Tree Top Walk and treehouse climb to viewing platforms above. Plus, test your skills on an off road two-wheeled Segway tour through creek crossings to Morans Falls, or bliss out in the Lost World Day Spa. Dine in the casual treehouse bar on homemade pizzas or opt for the rustic dining room with a gourmet a la carte menu including matching wines from the Canungra Valley Vineyards down the road. Order a packed lunch or picnic hamper and set off to one of 500 waterfalls via 160 kilometres of nature trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Reilly`s Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Hotel Canungra
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas And Lost World Spa Australia/Canungra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing