We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to perfect as a holiday gets!”
Review of Muxima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muxima
Ranked #9 of 17 Aljezur B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“As close to perfect as a holiday gets!”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just once in a while everything comes together to make a holiday close to perfect and that was our experience at Muxima. Jorge and Sofia have created a laid back, casual retreat. No TV's, wi-fi only in the guest lounge and quiet, shaded seats and hammocks everywhere. The rooms are simple, comfortable and cool. Book a suite with a kitchenette and separate seating area if you have a family. Chaouen was just perfect for our little family of 3. Our son loved Jorge and adored the animals - a goat, donkey, dogs and a pig, not to mention the hundreds of frogs in the eco-pool. It is simply wonderful.
A great place to let the kids run free. Jorge and Sofia have young boys themselves so there are no worries about it being child friendly. It's only 10-15 mins from some amazing unspoilt beaches which are almost empty.
The daily breakfast is a sociable affair with a varied provision every day and was the highlight of our day. We met a lot of fun, interesting people who also seemed to be enjoying their stay. It is so dark at night we slept incredibly well and more to the point so did our toddler!
We genuinely loved Muxima and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kparsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent three nights here in mid September and really enjoyed it. Jorge and Sofia were welcoming hosts, the breakfasts (served al fresco) were great and the 'biological pool' - a large pond which is cleaned naturally and complete with lily pads and frogs - was unique! We stayed in the Soutouboua suite (bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchenette area) in the 'Casa do Monte', a short distance uphill from the main building. We thought the room was really well decorated and very well equipped for cooking a simple supper (large fridge, all the utensils you need and two electric hobs). Our only complaints would be that it was a bit dark in the room and the bed was quite hard, but apart from that we thought it was great. One other point is that the water is solar heated and although we had brilliant hot, powerful showers in the evening I'm not sure that there would have been so much hot water in the mornings - I don't know but it probably depends on how much you/your neighbours have used the night before. Overall, highly recommended for a warm welcome and a peaceful place to stay close to some great beaches.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the option of preparing food in our room for a simple supper - only the suites hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Imagine leaping into a sparkling bio pool with a young child, watching their amazement as they swim up to a lilly-pad full of frogs in the tranquil surroundings of a secluded wooded valley. Or taking hour long breakfasts as your children clamber over haystacks and swings underneath towering old cork trees. Beautiful, regenerating, family-friendly and all run by a lovely couple and their children, who kindly let you into their wonderful world for a few precious days. This is a special place, it's not for everyone, but for those who like the sound of quiet, eco-friendly laid-back luxury.. it is a little piece of heaven, 10 out of ten

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenandbluetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for one night at Muxima in mid-June. At first I was reluctant: the way leading into the house, the isolation, the decor ... I felt it was not for me, I felt I was too old to appreciate the place. But then Jorge and Sofia were so nice, we had such a nice dinner at the restaurant they recommended in Aljezur and after a good night sleep I was convinced. Our room was extremely clean, breakfast was good, the owners were so friendly... For me it was something new, completely different from the kind of accommodation I am used to. We could not stay longer, because we had to move on to the "other" Algarve, but this short stay at Muxima was an interesting, new experience ... All the very best to you, Jorge and Sofia and to your two little boys !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A lovely place, peacefull, where you say goodbye to city and welcome nature. We stayed in Coba, a tematic mexican suit. Excellent in terms of decoration, cleaness, service.
Near Aljezur, and all the beautifull beaches (Amoreira) Muxima is a must go, if you want peace, romantic enviroment.
Go and enjoy for yourself. We must return, Sofia and Jorge done an excellent job...
Muxima is definitly a gem in the Algarve.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoaoRaposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We are coming to the Algarve for a special holiday, and after looking at all the hotels in the area, we had our hearts set on Muxima, which sounded perfect for us. The hotel has no facility to book online, so we filled out the booking form on their website with specific dates. After 2 days, we hadn't heard back so tried calling Muxima a couple of times with no answer, and no answering service to leave a message. We then filled out another online enquiry form through the booking service I-escape, who confirmed that the enquiry had gone directly to the owners. Still no response. We finally Googled the hotel again and discovered that we could book only book online at one portal -- only for the site to tell us that the last room for our dates had gone 2 hours before!
Considering we had been trying to contact the hotel for four days without luck, this was really disappointing, and terrible customer service. The owners would probably respond that this is their busiest time of the year - but hey, no communication - no customers. The hotel looks great. But we'll never know.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This is probably the place where we've been more times... and it's always good to be back.
The rooms, the breakfast, the owners, the kids, the pool... everything is amazing! Definitely recomended for a family with kids. And Sofia and Jorge are always improving the place!! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcosFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aljezur hotels
1.2 mi away
Vicentina Hotel
Vicentina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aljezur
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Herdade Quinta Natura
Herdade Quinta Natura
#7 of 17 in Aljezur
33 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maravilha da Costa
Maravilha da Costa
#2 of 17 in Aljezur
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Monte do Cardal
Monte do Cardal
#3 of 17 in Aljezur
83 reviews
3.2 mi away
Offline Portugal House
Offline Portugal House
#3 of 41 in Aljezur
43 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vale da Telha
Hotel Vale da Telha
#8 of 17 in Aljezur
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muxima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muxima

Property: Muxima
Address: Montes Ferreiros Cx Postal 265A, Aljezur 8670, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Aljezur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aljezur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muxima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muxima Portugal/Aljezur, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing