We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friends...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onda Vicentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onda Vicentina
Ranked #2 of 15 Aljezur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friends...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

In few words, it looked like we were spending our vacation in the house of some long lasting very good friends! It was hard to leave...
We use to go every year to Costa Vicentina. I can tell you that we had one of our best vacations in this region ever at the B&B Onda Vicentina. This thanks to the great hosts Mic and Fla!!!

B&B is cosy, confortable, clean and pleasant! Location is just perfect! If you love the Sea, Beach, Surfing, good food and good company this is the place!
We will be back for sure to be with our new friends!

Ciao
André and Dani

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank AndreAguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndaVicentina, Owner at Onda Vicentina, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Thank you so much Andre!
Your words are so warming to us! That's exactly what we want to offer our guests. A big hug to you,Daniele and Santiago. We hope to see you soon again!
A presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
107
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose this B&B because of it's location, it si between three amazing beaches, all great for surfing and also having Praia da Amoreira with the river bays, ideal for sun lounging, swimming and paddling. The other reason was, that is is in the middle of Vicentine Coast Natural Park, which guarantees that you will stay away from the tourist masses. You will need a car as these parts are only accessibly by one. Also the area does not offer any touristy leisure activities so if you want to escape from it all, this is the place.
We booked the room directly with Flavia and Michele over their Facebook page for the property, paid a deposit and was given directions on how to get there. Upon arrival we were greeted by Michele, who was genualy happy to meet us and show us around the B&B. He gave us useful recommendations on where to go for lunch, how to get to all the beaches nearby, where to go for the best view overlooking the ocean. It felt like we are actually staying in a friend's house, from the first moment we spoke with him. Upon our return, we met Flavia which again was happy to greet and meet us, showed us our room, which was immaculately clean, good queen size bed, huge bathroom with a tub, kettle with complimentary tea and coffee on the side table. She informed us about the breakfast which was served between 9-11, and left us with a smile. On the next morning, we were greeted by both Flavia and Michele's smiling at the breakfast table. There was enough for a good breakfast to start off the day - cereals, corn flakes, amazing crusty bread, cheese, butter, jam, fresh juice, yoghurt, milk, fruits. And even more, home made cookies by Flavia, which were delicious. This we felt was a really nice touch, as she had home made brownies another day as well.
If you wanted to try surfing, they rent swimsuits, surfboards, and can arrange surfing classes as well - which we did not try as wanted to just relax. The patio around the house is very charming as well. Tables so you can just sit and relax, lounge chair so you can sunbath, but the area around is so amazing that you would want to go and explore. During our stay, Flavia and Michele would always ask how was our day, where did we go, give some more tips and advises. We even borrowed an umbrella for the beach which Michele was happy to provide. On the day we left, I have to mention that they both came to say buy, hugged us and asked if there was something we did not like or wanted to see differently. For us this was another sign that they truly run Onda Vicentina with passion and love, which is very rare to see nowadays. We wish them all the best, and can not express highly enough our recommendations for staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndaVicentina, Proprietario at Onda Vicentina, responded to this review, 11 April 2016
Thank you so much for your super detailed review Sampion! And for the time you dedicated us for doing that! Your words makes us so happy and proud to be managing our small b&b like that! Yours is a confirmation for us that probably we're going toward the right direction! Thank you again for being such a nice and attentive person/"reviewer"! Hope to see you again at Onda Vicentina!
All the best,
Michele and Flavia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Met our hosts Flavia and Michele, who are great people to meet and who were extremly helpful with their recommendations on restaurants, sightseeing and beaches, especially for surfing, to have a great stay in a quiet and relaxed place with a nice and clean room for ourselves - we extended our stay by 2 nights and are hoping to be there again in the future. Thx to Flavia and Michele!
David & Janin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndaVicentina, Proprietario at Onda Vicentina, responded to this review, 11 April 2016
Hi David and Janin,
thank you so much for your review! We're so glad to know that you enjoyed our quiet rooms, our surroundings and our company! It was a pleasure having sich a nice people like you! Hope to see you again soon!
All the best,
Michele and Flavia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just the perfect place to rest and forget about rushed city life.
Location is perfect: in the middle of wild nature, near the most beautiful beaches and the rota vicentina.
Flavia and Michele give always good advices on where to go or eat.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable and nicely decorated.
Breakfast is generous with fresh bread made by Flavia, fruits, cereals...
Thanks a lot Flavia and Michele for our stay!!
Maybe the best place where we ever stayed!
Elsa&David

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndaVicentina, Proprietario at Onda Vicentina, responded to this review, 24 September 2016
Hi Elsa and David,
thank you so much for your amazing review! It's so cool thinking that we may have been the "best place" ever for some of our guests! Your words give us the right energy to go on in the same direction and to always improve our service!
Thank you again! Hope to see you soon again at Onda!
MIchele and Flavia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ao Nang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This little B&B is very clean and well-located with breathtaking beaches nearby. Flavia and Michele were absolutely charming and very friendly - full of great recommendations on where to eat and what to do. Originally, we wanted to stay for three nights, but thanks to the great hosts, we decided to stay two more nights. We really loved our stay here and warmly recommend this bed and breakfast as really good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndaVicentina, Proprietario at Onda Vicentina, responded to this review, 24 September 2016
Hi Anne,
we're so glad you loved staying at ours'! We try to do our best to let our guests feel at home and, actually, it's not such a big effort for us since we have such a wonderful guests as you :-) !
Hope to see you soon again at Onda Vicentina!
All the best,

Michele & Flavia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a longer time in onda vicentina B&B (10 days).
Altough we have some bad luck (weather, with our scooters, ...) we enjoyed our stay very much!
Flavia & Michele were always cheerfull, helpfull and honest in their advice, ... to Sum up: The perfect hosts for a B&B
The rooms were perfect: enough space, clean, ...
I would reccomend this B&B to everyone who needs an escape from their busy life and would Like to enjoy the nature, beaches & nice hosts

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndaVicentina, Proprietario at Onda Vicentina, responded to this review, 24 September 2016
Hi Pinar!
Thank you so much for your kind words! Glad to know we've been "perfect hosts" for you, that makes us very proud of what we're doing! We just want you know that you've been the "perfect guests" for us, too :-D ! So, you'll be welcome any time you'll like to come back (choosing a better scooter, hopefully ;-) !)!
Big italian hug from Portugal!

Michele and Flavia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our time at Onda Vicentina was marred by illness and poor weather - so we could not really explore the area properly. However Flavia and Michele looked after us very well indeed, and we are so grateful to them, and warmly recommend this bed and breakfast as really good value. Sorry we cannot comment on the beaches!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank paulandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OndaVicentina, Proprietario at Onda Vicentina, responded to this review, 24 September 2016
Hi Paul and Meg,
thank you for your kind words! Glad to have been helpful somehow (we hope the honey/pollen mix worked out!), but sorry about the beautiful beaches you missed! Of course all was more complicated as you came with you bikes (so brave!!!), which didn't help so much with the illness and some rain! That clearly means that you will have to come back soon and check all our breathtaking surroundings out!

Kind regards,
Michele and Flavia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aljezur
21.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
18.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maravilha da Costa
Maravilha da Costa
#1 of 15 in Aljezur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Monte do Cardal
Monte do Cardal
#3 of 15 in Aljezur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Dos Perfumes
Quinta Dos Perfumes
#1 of 30 in Tavira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arrifana Retreat
Arrifana Retreat
#1 of 39 in Aljezur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onda Vicentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onda Vicentina

Property: Onda Vicentina
Address: Vale da Telha | Sector i, Lote 29, Aljezur 8670, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Aljezur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Aljezur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B ONDA VICENTINA is located in Algarve, southern Portugal, and it is surrounded by the wonderful 'Parque Natural do Sudoeste Alentejano e Costa Vicentina', just 2 km far from the amazing beach of Monte Clerigo and 4 km from the beautiful beach of 'Arrifana', one of the most important surf spot of the area. All our rooms have indipendent entrance and private toilet/bathroom. We have double, triple and quadruple rooms so just ask us for availability! We try all our best to make your holidays fantastic! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Onda Vicentina Portugal/Aljezur, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing