We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Forest Lodge Country Cooking School
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely fabulous food and wonderful people!

I hugely recommend this wonderful cooking school. Not only for the fantastic and tasty food, but... read more

Reviewed 26 March 2018
cstewartbrown
,
Geneva, Switzerland
Full day of foody fun

Normally I do not write reviews, but for this particular unique Portugal experience I'll gladly... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2017
CarliBri
,
The Hague, The Netherlands
Read all 33 reviews
  
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
28
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
3
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood oven portuguese cuisine bread market visit frances dessert pigs milton farm preparing recipe goats portugal skills
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I hugely recommend this wonderful cooking school. Not only for the fantastic and tasty food, but also for the nicest friendliest people in Algarve. Thank you Frances and Ozzy xx

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank cstewartbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Normally I do not write reviews, but for this particular unique Portugal experience I'll gladly make an exception.
Thanks to the inspiring guidance of Frances we were introduced to Portuguese cuisine. In a full day cooking class we created several dishes step by step and from scratch. Not only did the day include a market visit to look for fresh fish, but we also used fresh produce from Frances's garden to create a three course lunch.
We had such a good day learning about, preparing and enjoying fresh home made foods together.
Next to Frances, Milton is the true wood-oven-pro. His oven-operating skills made all our dishes have the proper authentic taste.
Frances, Milton and family; thank you for a very enjoyable day!

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank CarliBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We spent a lovely day learning about the gardens and cooking yummy Portuguese style food. There were only 3 of us so we had plenty of room and time to ask questions. A booklet was put together for us with the recipes from the day. Thankyou Frances and Milton!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank hannah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

A great day was spent with Frances and Milton. It started with coffee and cake, then a visit to the local markets followed by the hard work of cooking. Frances controls all aspects of her kitchen and the timing to ensure you get some sustenance and wine along the way. I have cooked for many years but Frances had some tricks to show me. The garden is a foodies delight with fresh ingrediants and some things I had never seen and Milton provides some anecdotes Portugese culture along the way. <I am a bit of a fussy eater but there was enough variety to keep me full and a choice of wine. I probably wouldn't make the dessert again. A big thanks Frances and Milton :)

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank PrincessaWombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

What a great day we had learning new cooking skills with Frances and Milton. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews