We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saanenmoser
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Romantik Hotel Hornberg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saanenmoser
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for ten nights in June. We are used to Swiss hotels being good but this one is quite exceptional. Christian and Brigitte have selected and trained up a really wonderful team of staff who are all, every single one of them, friendly, helpful and cheerful. They give 5 star service levels but without the pretension that usually goes with 5 star hotels.

Two examples -
1. We were sitting quite happily outside on some chairs by the garden reading. One of the gardeners walks by, looks at us and re-appears a minute later with some cushions for the chairs! This kind of attention to customer care is rare.

2. Even more impressive was the help I got when, only just having arrived at the hotel the night before, I realised I had a problem with one eye that would need urgent attention. The girl on the reception desk took immediate charge of the problem, spoke to an optician and a doctor and within no more than 15 minutes had fixed an appointment for me to see an eye specialist in Thun that morning. It was a Saturday as well. That care and attention rescued the whole holiday!

What about the food? Brilliant food every evening. Theoretically four courses but you can add a salad course and a cheese course if you want and it is included. The quality of the food was outstanding and every meal was a treat. Oh and they made me a little birthday cake - see the picture below.

The rooms we had was superb - room 15 - a junior suite that had a large terrace and a beautiful view towards Gstaad, Rougemont and the mountains.

Somehow Christian manages to get to speak personally to all of the guests every day and is so helpful with advice and suggestions. Normally we work out our own hikes and trips but Christian's suggestions were so spot on for what we needed at the time that we ended up just going with his plan! It always worked out well!

OK I have now run out of superlatives for this place but the care and kindness we received there will stay in our memories. We will be back!

Room Tip: The West facing junior suites are lovely and spacious. All beautifully finished in natural wood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Hornberg for a long weekend, during April 2014.

What really sets this hotel apart, is the extremely welcoming and friendly staff. Everyone, from the reception staff to the owners, was very kind, always smiling, and made us feel completely at home.

Other advantages:
The hotel is ideally situated right between some cross country ski tracks and an alpine ski track.
The restaurant is simply excellent, and all the dishes were delicious!
Very dog friendly hotel, we were given a small suite with direct access to the garden. They also gave us a small sign to put on the door, whenever the dog was alone in the room. I thought that was very thoughtful.

When it was time for check-out, I really didn't want to leave! Whenever I go back to the region, the Hotel Hornberg will certainly be my first choice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annafromathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My friends and I had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. We have been served by Sandro he is superb. He offered us a double loin with Château potatoes with was lovely. I couldn't decide which wine i wanted so I ask Sandro and he proposed me a lovely Barolo which suited us perfectly. Also the owner Christian was so kind and welcomed us directly. We also enjoyed the digestif. I can absolutely recommend the Hornberg for a lovely dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great hotel with bar, restaurant, internet access, childrens playroom and movie room. Located right at the base of major lift connecting to a very good skiing system.
I highly recommend it! Would not suggest it to party goers as it is far away from the clubs and the general spirit of the hotel is quite calm and private.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have stayed nearly 4 weeks so far in the Hornberg in a year both in the ski season and summer and would definitely stay again. We have been travelling to Switzerland for 20+ years and also travelled extensively elsewhere in the world, staying in places such as the Aman hotels, the Cipriani in Venice, Villa D'Este and on the Orient Express etc, so we like a very good level to stay at. The Hornberg ticks all the boxes for us, as whilst it is in no way 'showy' like the Beau Rivage in Lausanne (which we felt very impersonal and hugely over-priced, particularly the 3* Michelin restaurant), it just feels like a total sanctuary as it offers the full package in the most utterly amazing scenery which is stunning in all seasons. Christian & Birgitte (and Birgitte's parents) work tirelessly to offer all their guests a stress-free, relaxing and memorable holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The staff are all superbly trained and are genuinely friendly as opposed to the 'phoning it in' service you get in many places these days (including the highest level, exclusive ones where they feel they don't have to try as hard due to their name and exclusivity). Many of the Hornberg's guests return time and time again, through the generations and we can see why. We are finding it hard to go elsewhere for fear of being disappointed! Despite what a reviewer wrote below about the 'WIlderness that is Swiss cuisine' (which we would strongly beg to differ on), the food at the Hornberg is fresh, imaginative and incredibly plentiful. In fact, if we didn't hike and ski a lot whilst there, we would come back many kgs heavier! We book the half board (which is unheard of for us) as the food is so good, great value and with a lot of variety, you never feel bored. (There is also a reciprocal agreement to eat in the hotel just nearby but we have never felt the need to do that). There is also the option to swap your Half Board evening meal for a lunch and courses can be swapped in the 'set' menu, so there is still plenty of flexibility if you do opt for Half Board. We also like the fact that breakfast runs till quite late, if you fancy a lie-in, and lunch can be eaten late too if you've been out till late afternoon. The focus is on freshness and there is even a large fruitbowl for guests to help themselves which is constantly topped up. A really nice touch.
The rooms are decorated in a classic Savoyard / Alpine style which suits the character of the building. The bathrooms are not particularly modern but everything works well and the shower pressure is excellent. There is a very comfortable bar area with an open fire and free (fast) wi-fi.
The outdoor 'bio' natural pool looks wonderful but was too cold for us to use in a hot'ish September. The indoor pool is extremely tranquil and beautifully designed. There is a very generous spa area with several sauna and wet rooms, however, we do not like to use this area as the hotel maintains the Swiss-German tradition of the saunas, wet rooms, public shower area etc all being mixed and a 'naked zone', which, for an international hotel, is very disappointing as many other countries' citizens are not used to this and find it very uncomfortable. It is a shame there isn't the option to wear a costume as it is actually 'forbidden' (!) I sincerely wish they would change this ruling and at least give people the choice. I would also mention that all the newsletters and event info sheets are in Swiss-German and it would be nice, if they know they have English guests staying, to provide them with English ones so they don't miss out on the great events, walks and snow-guiding they lay on. Finally, the wi-fi signals in the rooms are a bit weak and sometimes you can't gain access. I think fast and reliable wi-fi in rooms of 5* hotels is becoming the norm now so perhaps this could be addressed with more 'repeaters' placed so that all rooms have a strong signal. Oher than these three comments, we cannot fault the hotel in the slightest. It is also right by the train station which runs some of the beautiful old classic Swiss carriages and you can easily get into Gstaad and beyond (you don't hear the trains in the hotel rooms which is a blessing). I cannot emphasise enough what a stunning location this hotel is in for hiking, skiing and biking etc all on the doorstop. You would need to go into Gstaad or Rougemont for shops and restaurants as there is nothing really in Saanenmoser other than a couple of ski-hire places and a small grocery store. The Hornberg should open a little tea house / patisserie in the town as it would go down a storm!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowfox101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This Hotel has been known to my Family about as many generations as it belongs to the same owner Family and it keeps being excellent.
From the first moment that you enter into the hotel to the moment when you are leaving the hosts and their Crew are making every effort to make it an outstanding experience.
An Experience that starts at the friendly and professional reception Clerk goes over into the spacious and nicely fitted rooms and just continues with the delicious supper and breakfast. The owner and the crew of the hotel make an outstanding job and we can recommend this hotel to everyone that like to relax in the beautiful mountain scenery of the “Berner Oberland”

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Arriving at the Hornberg the warmth of the greeting sets the tone for the rest of your stay. Christian and Brigitte are charming and attentive hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them if it will ensure you enjoy your stay. This attitude is imbued in their staff who are exceptional, always attentive and helpful. The rooms, decorated in Alpine style, are beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable and absolutely spotless. The hotel is in a beautiful setting at the foot of the Hornberg with stunning views. In winter you can ski right to the door and in summer there are many hiking trails to explore. Alternatively you may take advantage of the Spa, Wellness or the the indoor and outdoor pools. Excellent food made dinner something to look forward too and the breakfast buffet is fantastic. If only other hotels were like this....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanenmoser
0.1 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
3.1 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
433 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 13 in Lenk im Simmental
761 reviews
1.5 mi away
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
3.1 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Hornberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Hornberg

Address: Saanenmoser, Saanen CH-3777, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Saanenmoser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saanenmoser
Price Range: £89 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing