We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, lovely village and surrounding area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We got a great deal on this hotel and overall we got what we paid for. Rooms were clean and well maintained but chalets were on the small side with an 8 person chalet fitting people into two bedrooms with a double sofa bed on the landing next to the stairs and a twin bed pushed together in the kitchen/dining area. Although I hear this is pretty typical for ski chalets. Oh and the beds are very uncomfortable with one flat pillow per guest and rough blankets but no duvets.

On the plus side the views from the apartment were amazing, the shower is powerful and hot and reception staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi costs 3 euros per hour but can only be accessed whilst sitting in reception (it's not great and would not work twice in the four days I was there).

The village is lovely and I highly recommend the avalanche bar for a coffee or beer (Jupiler was nice!) and for the free wifi. Also, the pizzeria/restaurant above serves great food especially the Entrecote Nature with gratin dauphinois. For people visiting this area for the first time hours of opening for most shops is 9-12 and 3.30-7 each day and restaurants start to close at 10pm. Be prepared to dust of your French skills if it isn't your first language!

All in all a nice chalet but only worth it if you get a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittyM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

I have just returned from a stay at Les Chalets de La Porte des Saisons and was quite impressed for the money we paid. I booked through Ski Horizons and paid about £250 for an 8 person apartment. We had two of these apartments opposite each other at the top of one of the chalet buildings. The Hotel is at the top end of the village and we used the ski bus each day to get to the main ski lifts. I was a bit worried about the booking based on my translations of previous reviews that said the hotel was dirty, so I took my travel cleaning kit. I need not have worried, the apartment was extremely clean . Although the communal areas are a bit battered and dirty which is quite normal in a ski resort where people are walking aroung in ski boots etc.

We arrived at 4pm and were checked in very quickly by the efficient reception staff who spoke excellent English and gave us an information sheet to help us out. There is plenty of parking at the site. We were in the Ecureils block apartments A13 & 14. Each apartment had a large lounge / kitchen area, a bathroom, toilet and bunk room downstairs and two bedrooms and a shower room upstairs. The apartment is supposed to sleep 8 people but that would be a squeeze and mean 2 people sleeping on the sofa bed. The block did not have a lift and we were on the third floor which could be a problem for some people.

You can order bread and croissants to collect from reception each morning or there is a small supermarket just up the hill. We only found 1 restaurant near to the hotel but there were others down in the village.

The hotel seemed to be occupied by mainly Belgian and Dutch holidaymakers .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mysticmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank phildu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Nassera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bea62219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander un appartement avec une mezzanine pour les 8 personnes.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sgfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
1.0 mi away
Residence Odalys L'Oree des Pistes
Residence Odalys L'Oree des Pist...
#3 of 6 in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Odalys L'Ouillon
Residence Odalys L'Ouillon
#5 of 6 in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Odalys Les Sybelles
Residence Odalys Les Sybelles
#4 of 6 in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Balme
Chalet Hotel La Balme
#1 of 6 in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
90 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence et Chalets La Fontaine du Roi
Madame Vacances Residence et Cha...
#2 of 3 in Saint Jean d'Arves
125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Reisdence Goelia Les Chalets des Marmottes
Reisdence Goelia Les Chalets des...
#1 of 3 in Saint Jean d'Arves
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons

Address: Pierre Aigue, 73530 Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint-Sorlin-d'Arves
Price Range: £34 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons is a residential complex composed of 10 chalets, each housing from 6 to 15 apartments of various types. Ideally situated near the slopes and footpaths (300m), it offers a high class standard of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ski Planet and Agoda so you can book your Residence Odalys Les Chalets de la Porte des Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Odalys Les Chalets De La Porte Des Saisons France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing