We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and professional offering, but expensive...”

The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross
Ranked #2 of 3 Chedworth B&B and Inns
london
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quality and professional offering, but expensive...”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

There were lots of positives for this place. The rooms are simple and it was scrupulously clean - nice linen and thick towels.

Breakfast and lunch were great.

The bar and dining room areas are full of traditional character.

The only minus point was that I felt the rooms were expensive for what you get. As there is only limited alternative accommodation in the area I suppose they have no need to compete on price. The four poster bedroom was especially poor VFM and simply was not worth any extra money over the standard room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurux101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    7
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much at the Hare and Hounds, the gardens are really lovely along with the clean and comfortable rooms. The food was great because their was something for everyone from asian, italian to typically delicious english food. We really appreciated the Vegetarian option but i know our guests loved the bangers and mash. The service is very good and the log fires with comfy sofas a delight. A big thank you to Angela, Gerry and Chef Mark - well done.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank juleskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

A few weeks ago my wife and I stayed, for a night, at the Milton Keynes Novotel. This hotel, and the town itself, is surely the last word in functional modernity and characterless blandness. However, this sojourn in the land of the concrete cows was a mere 3 weeks after our stay in Chedworth, where, of course, the countryside is beautiful, the livestock real, the cottages and B&Bs bursting with character; this is the Cotswolds after all. The Hare and Hounds sadly offered very little for quite a lot. Our room was a four poster. It was nothing more than a room which happened to have a four poster bed in it. The four poster was, as it happened, simply a bed with four vertical bits at the corners. The room had no extra little luxuries that would have complimented the four poster or justified the price. This B & B was nothing more than a cynical enterprise designed to relieve travellers of their money by offering something that sounded luxurious while supplying good old fashioned British mediocrity. Breakfast was served until 9:30, checkout was at 10 o'clock. For £120 a night, this was unacceptable. The Novotel's checkout time was a civilised 12 noon, with breakfast served until then. And all for £49 per night. Perhaps the international chains aren't so bad after all?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SirChewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed at the Hare & Hounds for a Wedding at Cripps Barn we had a party the night before there was 30 of us the night was great fun.
The Food was well presented & Excellent .
Gerry & Angela are great Hosts.We will be all going back with friends again as it is such a good location for looking round the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood UK
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Angela & Gerry are excellent hosts and together with their professional staff did everything to make our visit extremely enjoyable . The food is first class, both delicious and well presented. As an added bonus three ‘real ales’ were on offer!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Have just stayed at the Hare and Hounds mainly because we had a wedding in the area. Hotel was very nice but not worth the £95 a night which is London prices. Room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good, but nothing spectacular. Menu is very much an acquired taste very 1990 with its over the top sauces etc. do not expect nice simple seasonal, local produce cooked simply, the menu is very over the top. Beware of the taxi prices in the area minimum fee is £10 just to get in. Overall the Hare and Hounds was quite good but definately overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexMisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Please do not go to this pub....
In short we booked this venue for my Mother in laws 60th birthday and couldn't have been more unimpressed by the Lanlord Gerrys attitude and threatening behaviour and managing to totally rip us off. Despite our whole party spending around £2k on food, drink & accomodation, Gerry was still aggressive & rude. Also after speaking to some of the guests that had eaten lunch there in the day, they were really angry that they had to wait 2 hours for their food of which came out luke warm. What should have been a wonderful event was memorable for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmstravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chedworth
3.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
901 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
496 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
174 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Ivy House
The Ivy House
#1 of 31 in Cirencester
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross

Property: The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross
Address: Fosse Cross, Chedworth GL54 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chedworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chedworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hare & Hounds is in the heart of the Cotswolds close to Bibury, Cirencester & Cheltenham. We have 2 open log fires, stone & wood flagged floors, loads of period features. We have 4 Star accommodation. Food Awards of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Chedworth
The Hare & Hounds Foss Cross Chedworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing