We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbelievable!”
other travellers have booked this property
The substantial, detached, Barn and Stables in Chedworth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The substantial, detached, Barn and Stables in Chedworth
Stylish and elegant, open plan living room with feature fireplace Wonderful, quality furnishings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The substantial, detached, Barn and Stables in Chedworth
Stylish and elegant, open plan living room with feature fireplace
Wonderful, quality furnishings
Floor to ceiling windows for those idyllic rural views
Dining table by the fire with seating for 8
A cooks dream! Beautifully presented kitchen and island
Master bedroom, with feature bathroom and plenty of character
Master bedroom, view of the exposed beams
The feature bathroom in more detail
The extensive, upper living space
Views from the upper floor
Designer bathroom suite
Philippe Starck furniture
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
With an ensuite bathroom facility
Ground floor bedroom
With access to a bathroom facility
Garden feature
Beautiful views
The Barn and Stables, pictured at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chedworth, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jamie J
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 7 of us went to the Barn and Stables for a weekend at the end of January and upon booking the property back in November, we couldn't quite believe how amazing the property looked.

But on arrival, we were blown away. Set back in a lovely countryside setting, we found the property considerably easily and instantly fell in love.

It got even better - we entered the property.

WOW.

Amazing furnishings, all very plushy and it wasn't just a house - it was a home.

We had such a delightful weekend in the area and especially in the house - all the mod-cons were there and all the crockery known to man, which made our stay incredibly easily.

On our 2nd day, we even discussed returning in the Summer time, as the idyllic setting would really suit a summer escape.

We cannot wait to stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smithy238...
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WHAT A HOUSE!!!”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 8 of us were very excited for our annual Winter weekend away and as always, were eagerly waiting to finally see the house we had booked. The pictures looked fab and expectations were high, but upon arrival we were still blown away by this amazing property.

Perfect for a group of friends, the 4 bedrooms all have their own bathroom (most en suite) with a very well equipped kitchen and 2 ample living areas. The large front window is absolutely breathtaking and dusk/dawn views are a real sight to behold. Little extra's like the iPod docks and luxurious bathroom fittings make this place feel very special indeed.

Everything had been freshly decorated when we arrived (we could smell the paint) and the place was spotlessly clean. Not one complaint from any of us.

The farm shop next door is useful as you're a little cut off from everything else (which is perfect for a country getaway), although you wouldn't want to rely on it for every meal as options are limited. Late night Friday Fish & Chips were a life saver though and a good option for a breakfast if you don't fancy travelling further afield. There's info in the house on local takeaways and pubs too. The house is really easy to find and perfectly accessible. However - being relatively cut off from nearby towns - if you are lucky enough to get a clear night you can do some amazing star spotting!

The master bedroom can seem a little chilly compared to the rest of the house, as a result of the impressive high ceiling, so worth a trip up there to get the radiator on before bed. The fire can also be a little smoky at times, but burned well overall. All very minor points and nothing to detract from the absolute quality of this place.

I suppose our biggest concern is why the owners don't want to spend all of their time in this beautiful house - but for our sake we're very glad that they rent it out!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This definitely has the 'WOW' factor”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary with family and wanted somewhere different - it had to be special, with en-suites, big enough to accommodate 7 of us in style and in comfort, all within distance of interesting things to do and see. We found everything we wanted in The Barn & Stables. Spacious accommodation, 3 bedrooms with en-suites, one twin room and one family bathroom. The upstairs lounge was a great place to relax quietly and take in the view but the whole of th ground floor - being open plan - was great for the family to mingle. The property was well equipped to cover all ages - even babies & toddlers, with a safety gate and fold away travel cot if needed. There is also a Farm Shop and Cafe next door which offered Friday fish & chips or a curry if you didn't fancy cooking after arriving! Nearby, The Roman Villa was definitely worth a visit as was The Inn at Fossebridge for great food, friendly service and beer. Only a mile away but on main road so not really walkable. The chocolate box pretty village of Bibury as nearby - also not to be missed. And of course there is all the stunning countryside to see!

Only one slight negative point. - as we had an older person in our party, she pointed out that there wasn't enough light on the stairs to see the various changes in levels. Just a thought. Maybe some higher wattage bulbs or some spot lights?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the floor to ceiling window
Liked least: Stairs lighting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
""Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner's appointed property manager at The Barn & Stables: “Thank you for your feedback, it is good to hear. In fact, there is a lot of lighting for the staircase and there are switches both upstairs and down. We would estimate that there are 20 or so ceiling spotlights, and spotlights are on the staircase itself and we will make sure that guests know where to find the switches. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.” “
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidaylo...
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible weekend at Barns and Stables”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We had a terrific stay at the Barns and Stables. The property is beautiful (both inside and out) and contrary to the other reviews on this site all the amenities worked perfectly! The house was warm, so much so that we didn't end up using the fire. The management were a pleasure to deal with as are the local people. Highly recommend both the home and the location and certainly we will be back soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold, tired, unhelpful landlords”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The fire is essential to heat the place but a) they don't supply firewood you have to buy it from the farm shop next door, and B) the fire doesn't work, the poor draw on the wood burning stove means the fire only smoulders at best and doesn't heat the house at all.
The downstairs bedroom has the heating system in the cupboard so if you're in there you need to have ear plugs and be drunk to sleep through it as it fires up randomly through the night and is very loud.
The pictures look amazing but don't be fooled. The general standard of everything from decor, to equipment in the kitchen, the TV, and finish in the bathroom is old and tired.
The dishwasher didn't work and no effort was made to fix or compensate. Not acceptable for a self-catering house.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owners appointed property manager for The Barn & Stables:

Firstly, the satisfaction and enjoyment of our guests is a primary concern at all of our homes. A great deal of attention is paid to maintaining our high standards and we aim to provide excellent service to all. We appreciate all guest feedback and place great importance on any comments made, whether positive or negative. We are always looking for ways to further deliver on the guests’ expectations.

In answer to the comments raised:

· The log fire is not essential to heat the property, but works perfectly well. There is a central heating system with tall radiators in every room, all of which work efficiently when the guests do not adjust the controls. There were, and are always an initial supply of logs left out for each booking, along with firelighters and matches.
· The heating system is in the downstairs bedroom cupboard, but is silent. The water heater, which is also housed in the cupboard, can be noisy, but is not necessary for the hot water, and is always turned off. The only exception to this is when the guests switch it on themselves. The switch has now been taped over to avoid the same happening again.

I believe the comments about the dishwasher relate to a previous review and have already been covered in a previous management response. In this case former guests over loaded the machine causing a fault and, as it was the Christmas holidays, was impossible to get an engineer out to fix the machine as quickly as we would have liked. This was clearly explained to the guests, prior to their arrival and apologies made at the time. At the earliest opportunity a new machine was purchased and installed.

Over the course of the three night stay, we answered all of their questions; we called their mobile number seven times, sent three text messages and answered their emails promptly, always being courteous and polite. We also were able to allow them to arrive at the property two hours earlier than the published time so they could start their party sooner. “
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonDGou...
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Weekend in Chedworth”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Read the previous Tripadvisor review & started to worry but have to say that review sounds harsh in the extreme! Great Barn conversion, yes getting a bit dated and in need of some general improvements but couldn't complain about the house and the service by the Management Company.

Broadband in property is fine. Didn't notice any unpleasant odours. If you want privacy in the main bedroom ensuite shut the door, even lock it if needs be!

My thoughts:-

4 good sized bedrooms, main one could take a while to warm up and shower in downstairs ensuite needs repairing.

Nice lounge, don't personally like the cow hide carpets & we could have done with the under floor heating turned on.

Decent Dining room with huge table - furniture a bit dated.

Great kitchen, needs a review of utensils and crockery but fine for us for a weekend.

Super Garden with great outside facilities, some road noise but it's not a busy road at all.

Nice pub locally. Village very picturesque and places to visit in surrounding areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishkem
Sutton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cold and smelly bedrooms - and the whole starting to get very tired.”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our visit - four couples gathering for a sixtieth birthday party - took place over a mid-January weekend, when it was very cold.
The barn certainly has a wow factor when first encountered, but the sheen quickly wore off when we discovered that the master bedroom was unheated and the second bedroom smelt like an open sewer - something which took about 18 hours to wear off. (the agent advised that this had occurred previously).
Even if we'd have had access to a working landline to phone the agents (there was also no broadband at all, and almost no mobile signal) there would have been nothing they could have done about these problems late on a Friday night.
During the course of the weekend we noted numerous (20+) other shortcomings or disappointments, many of which were quite minor, and some of which could possibly have been rectified on the Saturday - such as the non-working dishwasher, the unopenable fire escape door, the smoke alarm dangling from the ceiling, the inadequate cleaning (including dirty sock left in the master bedroom) - but frankly, with only another 24 hrs occupation of the place, it hardly seemed worth the disruption.
In response to our complaints during the course of the following week the management company were quick to point out that as we hadn't alerted them to the problems during our stay (how? smoke signals?), they could not, and would not, be responsible. My standpoint was that the property had not been prepared in a fit state for our arrival. None of those things I've mentioned went wrong DURING our stay - they were all wrong on arrival at 6pm +/- on the Friday night. A simple tick list after cleaning would have highlighted all of our principal concerns.
I would dearly have liked to have rated this property as Average or even Good, because we had an enjoyable, albeit brief, break here, but sadly the preparation was woeful and, moreover, the whole house is getting very tired and is in need of serious TLC throughout.
One final word of caution - the en-suite to the Master Bedroom is devoid of privacy - it lies behind a partial partition wall and, almost comically, is totally exposed to the landing whenever the bedroom door is opened. One of the many examples of form over function. Rent with care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Four reasonable sized bedrooms
Liked least: Too much to list
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owners appointed property manager for The Barn and Stables:

"Firstly, the satisfaction and enjoyment of our guests is a primary concern at all of our homes. A great deal of attention is paid to maintaining our high standards and we aim to provide excellent service to all. We appreciate all guest feedback and place great importance on any comments made, whether positive or negative. We are always looking for ways to further deliver on the guests’ expectations.

Whilst every effort is made to ensure that the properties are thoroughly prepared and all equipment is operational, some factors are completely beyond our control - for example, when external utilities are disrupted, or when appliances are broken by other guests and not notified. Prior to these guests arriving at the house, there was a fault discovered within the British Telecom exchange in the village, which resulted in the Wi-Fi/broadband and telephone service at the house failing. BT assured us that the issue had been resolved a few days before these guests arrival and, when the housekeepers attended to prepare the property, they connected to the Wi-Fi seamlessly. It later transpired that the BT fault was intermittent, and not fixed until after the guests had left. That said, if the guests had advised this whilst at the property, we could have offered an alternative Wi-Fi source to use during this outage. Whilst there can be patchy mobile service in the village, there are certainly some areas of the house where service is available.

It is widely known that wooden doors and frames can swell during wet weather, which is exactly what happened with the bedroom door at this house. As part of our routine inspections, the doors are checked, and this was opening easily just a couple of weeks earlier. However, we have amended our policy to check the door during each preparation.

The dishwasher was damaged by the previous guests and, as this was the Christmas holiday, it was impossible to get a service engineer to attend. The machine has since been replaced.

It is quite false for this guest to claim that we took no responsibility. As soon as we were made aware (after they had vacated the property) of the problems he encountered, we investigated each point. We arranged for the service engineer to attend, and immediately acknowledged to the guest that our housekeepers, on this rare occasion, had not checked all of the drawers, and missed the sock. Whilst it is not an excuse, the previous guests had left the house in such a filthy condition, it took hours longer to complete the clean than normal, so I can understand why the housekeepers missed the sock. We offered some compensation for this shortfall which was accepted by the guest.

At each home, the guests are politely advised, if they find anything needing attention, they should make contact as soon as possible during their stay. This is to ensure that the issue is resolved with speed for them, but also before the next guests arrive. Unfortunately, despite having provided these guests with a mobile number, a landline and an email address, we heard nothing from them until after their departure. This meant that there was little time to investigate and rectify the issues before the following guests arrived. A common courtesy, ignored by this group, which was unfair to us or the new guests. Had they made us aware of their issues, we could have put our rectification procedures into place, and corrected as much as possible with maximum speed and minimal disruption. Surely one should be judged on how well one deals with a problem? We always react quickly when any of our guests have difficulty with anything, but can only do so if we are made aware. These guests didn’t simply couldn’t be bothered to let us know.

The house has undergone a routine spring clean; everything has been checked and is working as it should. It is a beautiful home and deserving of honest reviews."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing