We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buongustaio

Buongustaio
Ranked #23 of 134 Restaurants in Guaynabo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Juan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I bought a voucher on the Internet for a nice dinner at Buongustaio. I can definitely say the food is exquisite! My husband is Italian and he definitely loved every entree. We had fried calamari and the seafood risotto, which were both so good! We also had the Semifreddo dessert, which was tasty and brought us directly to the taste of authentic Italian Cuisine. The service was spot on: the waitress was amicable, diligent, and attentive at all times. Our Sangrias were quite tasty, also. As an added bonus, we went on a Thursday night, and they had live Italian Bohemian music, which was really beautiful. Would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorMsSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Family oriented restaurant with friendly wait staff. They have an ample menu with a vast selection of pasta fish and meat dishes. Overall the food is great and the prices are very reasonable. I have never had a bad meal here. They rarely make the pasta fajoli soup but when they do, you need to have it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flower_bee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

The place is small and quiet one, nice for great talks with your couple or friend. The food was delicious, a little high price but the serving was big so maybe the price is ok. They take a lot of time to bring the check and to process the payments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aknaibth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a small family owned Italian Restaurant. My family and I visit it quite often. The food is fresh and very authentic. The service is a little slower than I would like, but that is what you get when you are being served authentic italian food with fresh ingredients. So, when you go, go without feeling rushed. Just order a bottle of wine and relax! Great for Couples, Families and Friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HyperGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as good as in other visits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Been here before and the quality of the food has suffered. Ordered the prosciutto and mushroom pizza and wasn't impressed. The dessert, a tartufo, was good but not as good as other times. The prices are going up but the quality is not up to par. The service was good but they took forever to bring the check.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buongustaio also viewed

Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
 
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Buongustaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing