We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers, great service, fun atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Doe's

John Doe's
Ranked #94 of 133 Restaurants in Guaynabo
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Caribbean, Grill, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: "The Place for Homemade Hamburgers" The best homemade hamburgers and grill. Enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and our outdoor terraces. Come alone, with friends or with your whole family. Open 7 days for lunch and dinner, and Saturdays and Sundays for brunch.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great burgers, great service, fun atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Found this gem while running some errands in the area and really happy we did! Great handmade burgers, shakes, fantastic fried pickles and onion rings! The service was great and the atmosphere was lively and friendly. Everyone was in good spirits and having a good time. A great place to go for burgers with a group of friends and have a bucket of beers. Pretty good prices too.

Saw an advertisement for a weekend brunch so we'll be going back soon to check that out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMBogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
254 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Over rated, terrible service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was expecting great food, service and to have a good time because was told so by some friends. But, unfortunately we were dissapointed. We ordered some fried items such as the chicken strips with fries and waited 43 minutes for that. I complained about it with 2 different servers but none gave even an apologee to this absurd. The food was cold and tasted like took out of a microwave box, the beverage was ok and service terrible.

Helpful?
1 Thank IsmaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW! friday night party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

It's a sport bar and restaurant. You can go alone or with friends. Open 7 days a week. Every friday they have live music. Maybe they let you sing... It's a nice place to celebrate birthdays and everything else. The place (including the kitchen) looks clean.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good burgers, awful, awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I've been to this place a few times, but my last experience was so bad I doubt I'll go again. The burgers are in fact very delicious, and they have decent beer selection. As usual, the service was very slooooow, but this time, not only did they bring the wrong order, but they also followed that up with undercooked quesadillas (i.e., with unthawed cheese!). I've never sent anything back and asked for the check before, but that's what I had to do I guess. It's a real shame, because the place looks nice and all.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Homemade burgers at great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Can't go wrong with this place. Homemade burgers with all types of cheese and toppings. Ate a burger in a sweet roll. It was delicious. Loved the fried pickles. Service is pretty good. It's a great place to have lunch on sundays with the family. The restaurant is like a ranch with no a/c but it doesn't get hot because of the industrial fans.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hjruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Doe's also viewed

Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
 
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to John Doe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing