We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Enjoyed Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We found this hotel to our liking although we did need to change rooms (and encountered a bit of opposition to the idea initially as they were quite heavily booked). This was after our first night in a room next to the laundry (where there was an annoying dull throb of machines/dryers). Most of the staff were really friendly and very helpful. We thought the breakfast was more than adequate and we ate dinner in both restaurants finding the food and staff excellent in both.
This hotel is quite large and the corridors go on and on, so, if you have mobility problems request a room close to reception and the lounge/breakfast room. We were sorry we didn't have our golf clubs with us as the course looked very inviting in the warm sunshine. We found some excellent online rates for our stay and the parking and Wi-Fi was free. The laundry charges were also quite reasonable for travellers needing items laundered or dry cleaned.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the laundry. Rooms overlooking the golf course have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Freya1958,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and absolutely look forward to welcoming you back (with your golf clubs) in future. Apologies re the noise issue, our laundry are instructed not to use the machinary before 8am midweek to prevent any risk of upsetting guests, we will make sure that this is reiterated.

Please do keep an eye out for some further great promotions that are due out from QHotels soon, alternatively why not consider joining our Breakaway club to receive some exclusive discounts.

Sincerely

Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    518
    231
    110
    53
See reviews for
339
512
44
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here about 2 weeks ago, for a little get away from the humdrum of our busy working life's, check in was swift with great help from the lovely lady on reception, think her name was Susan, she was very pleasant and reassured us that we would be looked after if we needed anything by simply calling down to the front desk no matter what the time was. We did how ever notice that 1 of the managers seemed a bit above himself with an attitude unbefitting of some 1 in this rule as he never seemed to interact with the members of the staff at any time unless they were above the rule of supervisor, when my wife asked who he was from another member of staff we found out he was the operations manager, this is very worrying as the rest of the staff all seemed very nice and very helpful no matter what time of day or night. The young man on the night reception David made sure my wife got firmer pillows after she called down as she has problems with her neck, and considering we stayed at the other end of the hotel on the top floor he was surprisingly quick and brought them up himself, he also said if we needed anything else we only had to ask and he would see to it personally, which he did not less than 30mins or so later when we called down to see if it was possible to get a fan for the room since it was so hot and with no control for the heating in the room, and again he was there in what seemed to be less than 5mins with the fan and a smile and as nice touch a bucket of ice to help make a ice pack for my wife's neck . Nothing was to much trouble for this young man and he is by far a massive credit to the hotel. when checking out early in the morning he was there again to help with our bags and was very efficient considering we were checking out at almost 4am. though the room was lovely and fresh looking the lack of heating controls let it down. The operations manager could learn a lot from the lower members of the team in how to communicate with the rest of the staff however as he does not seem to have time for them which is very disappointing, we would not let this put us off staying again as every 1 else are so helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Marc n,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm delighted that David & Susan have delivered excellent customer service for you and thank you for recognising them in your review, I will make sure that they are acknowledged for this.

I take on board your observations re our Ops Manager, however I must stress that it is not shared by any of the team at the Hotel. He is extremely engaging, well mannered, motivational and respected by every member of the team and will be an asset to our industry for many years yet. It is important that your feedback is discussed and I'm sure he would love the opportunity to change your opinion should you wish to return in future.

Please keep your eyes peeled for any special QHotels promotions via the website and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Sincerely

Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Disappointingly not up to 4 star standard.
Room was tired and dull, shower tray was broken and no safe or fridge.
Breakfast also poor and didn't start until 7.30 which is too late for many people staying for work.
Room service tray charge £5 - far too much in comparison to other hotels of same status.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Helen W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm a little dissapointed re your comments as I firmly believe that the facilities reflect a very good level of 4 Star hotel and the team certainly aim to provide 5 Star service.

I will certainly follow up re the broken shower tray and will ensure that this is identified and repaired. Re breakfast, our start time for breakfast is actually 6.45am midweek and 8am at the weekend.

Room safes and fridges are provided in our QStar rooms, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon, please request a QStar room when making your reservation to guarantee a safe and fridge. We also provide mini-fridges for people requesting them for such things as medicine etc.

Our QHotels website is full of great offers, please check it out and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Sincerely

Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The check in was a bit of a joke we were charged twice for this, we had 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel there was thick dust on the shelves in the toilet ther was a smell from the bottom of the shower, there was dark brown water running out of the bath tap instead of clean clear water the bread was stale from room service we ordered disappointed in paying 123,00 for it without any apology at all for the issues we had,

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEK1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Once again the westerwood came up trumps looked after everything fantastic staff and food excellent and Jordan was a star as was the rest of his staff no complaints great night had by all would have no hesitation in recommending the westerwood for a function roll on the new year bash can't believe some of these comments

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_mcginty188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here recently and had a great time. From the outside it doesn't look anything special, just a standard business hotel but inside it is a different story. All the staff were so friendly and helpful and the food and the attentive service in the Flemings Restaurant was fantastic! The food was up there with some of the best restaurants we've eaten in. The leisure facilities were modern and spotlessly clean and the room was very nice. Overall it was a lovely surprise and fantastic value for money. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Christine R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic review.

It is great to hear that Flemings is being well received. We took the decision to re-launch Flemings this year and so far the feedback has been excellent.

Please do keep an eye on our website for any special promotions or even consider joining our Breakaway Club to avail of some exclusive discounts. All details are on the QHotels website.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Sincerely

Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night as an overnight stop attracted by the hotels location and facilities. The hotel itself is modern, airy and well presented. We used the pool and Jacuzzi which although clean were a little disappointing for spa facilities. The pool is relatively small and shallow, more suited for children than adults.

The staff were approachable and friendly. The room was clean, quite and comfortable.

We dined on an inclusive package and were disappointed by the quality of the food. We ate at the Grill restaurant which had a pub atmosphere due to the location of the bar. The food itself was bland and poorly cooked. The vegetables were dry and seemed microwaved. The salmon had been drown in oil, as had the garnish.

A hotel we will not be returning to mainly due to poor food and disappointing facilities.

Room Tip: Book well in advance for a good room and a good rate if you choose to stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_David_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Rachel_David_2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It's dissapointing to read your comments re the food in the Grill. Although the Grill offers less formal dining we do still pride ourselves of delivering quality which has obviously not been the case on this occassion - if we do have the opportunity to welcome you back then maybe Flemings is the better fit for your tastes.

I'm REALLY surprised by your comments re our pool as it is HUGE. The shallow part you are referring to is indeed for children but there is another pool right beside it that has plenty of space for people to relax in.

Please do consider us for a future stay and please contact me directly as I will personally ensure that every detail is taken care of for you.

Sincerely

Paul Bray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
490 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Property: The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing