We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend so we could go to the Edinburgh Tattoo. Although part of a coach party we were not in any way made to feel inferior.(which happens in some hotels) The hotel is very comfortable with excellent rooms and a bed to die for. The staff are all very friendly and super efficient . Breakfast was excellent as was Dinner. All in all a very pleasant experience and one which i will have no problem in repeating when next i am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here so we could go to hampden park for the closing ceremony of the commonwealth games, and before we'd even checked in my 9 year old asked if we could go there again!
The hotel is lovely, a nice and peaceful environment to be in, the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, the health club is great and the room was spacious, clean and had a lovely view!
Stayed in 327 and the housekeeper who was on the floor chatted to us when we arrived knocked on and asked if we'd had a good night, genuinely interested. Like I say, wonderful people!!
Breakfast was ok, not amazing but ok but I wouldn't complain about it.
Would I go back????

GM- give your staff a pay rise, they're excellent!!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Becka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for Commonwealth Games, room was very hot with no aircon but staff moved us with minimal fuss and throughout the stay the standard of service and friendliness of the staff was excellent
Played golf on the hotel course three times and think the course is very interesting with holes separated by huge rough and each very different from the others- the footprint of the course seems very large compared to a lot of hotel-based courses-would agree with previous post that course signage needs improving. Views of surrounding hills excellent.
Overall definitely recommend hotel which has an appearance which belies the excellent level of service provided

Room Tip: If weather hot do not choose room in new part of hotel where the insulation is so good it will get v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My friends and i visited her for a one night spa break. on arrival at 11am we were advised that check in wasnt till 3pm which we knew.
the friendly receptionist offered to call the cleaners to let them know we were here, she then took our luggae and directed us to the spa reception.

you do have to go through the bar/grill to get to the lesiure area which isnt the norm but i thought it was quite quirky this certainly was not a bother from some of the reviews you would think it was half a mile up a steep hill.

we accidentally did go through to the golf reception, there was an older man there who i felt was quite grumpy when we said we were looking for the spa reception. Nevertheless he directed us to the right place.

the young man on the spa reception desk was lovely. after signing in he carried our towels through to the waiting area. While we were filling out our spa treatment forms he went away to get our slippers and robes. Once we were finished he explained where to go for the changing areas/ pool and treatments.

All the leisure facilities were very clean and in working order however i was disappointed that only one of the ceramic loungers seemed to be working.

The water in the spa was really hot which was perfect for me.

We then decided to go up to the bar/grill for our light lunch. Both my friends got the chicked bento box and i got the vegetarian one. it was absolutely delicious. It came piping hot and the sauce on my vegetables were just delicious. the salad was all fresh and had a really nice vinegerette with it. the bento box also included fresh melon and a lovely raspberry mousse.

We were very impressed with lunch.

By the time we finished lunch we went to reception and our room was ready. we had a triple on the ground floor. the room was huge and so clean. it was very peaceful and the beds were very very comfortable.

Next we went to get our treatments. Between us we got facials, head neck and shoulder massage. The relaxation room was fab and made you feel so chilled before and after the treatments. the girls in the spa were really good and so friendly. you didnt feel rushed at all. the treatment rooms were so peaceful and the beds were so cosy with a lovely thick duvet on them and the espa products were amazing.

Honestly could not fault anything.

After treatments we relaxed in our room till it was time to get ready for dinner.

We had dinner in the Flemings restaurant. We were greeted at the door by a very friendly young waiter. he explained that there we had a menu from the bar/grill and a restaurant menu as the bar/grill was closed that evening.

We were given bread before our starters arrived which was so fresh and soft. for starter we got soup (think it was carrot, coconut and chilli) and the garlic and tarragon mushrooms with soda bread and a beetroot puree. My friend said the soup was the best she had ever tasted.

The mushroom started was also amazing. The beetroot puree was so nice and not something i would normally go for.

for main course we got chicken risotto and a beef burger(which was off the gill menu). the burger was huge and very tasty.

Both friends said the chicken risotto was also very tasty and very filling.

we all had room for dessert though.

we had souffle with banana ice cream and the chocolate tart. Again it an all round thumbs up. The banana ice cream has to be recommended. The waitress said that the chef has made her banana milkshake with it before...only wished this was an option i deffo wouldve ordered it.

The next morning at breakfast we were surprised to see some of the same staff and again they could not have been more friendly.

The croissants were huge and just how i like them crispy ont he outside soft on the inside.

There was a buffet of cereal, juice, bakery items, and hot food which you could help yourself to. I ordered a mushroom omelette and veggie sausage to go with hash browns, beans and toast

i was so suprised when i a huge omelette and 3 veggie sausages came my way.

All were hot and fresh but i can eat a lot but three veggie sausages was too much. they were very tasty though so i asked the girl if i was able to take them home as i didnt want them to go to waste. she said it was no problem and was glad i enjoyed them.

Its been a few days since weve been back now and in all this review i have never mentioned that the fire alarm went off at 4.30am during our stay. It was a false alarm we got out to wards the reception and a member staff told us it was okay and we could go back to our rooms.

Even though this happened the rest of the stay was so good it really was not a big deal.

All the staff we had dealings with apart from the golf receptionist were so friendly and nothing was too much for them. I think just a wee refresher around the leisure facilities such as the ceramic beds not working and the shower thats beside the sauna lights have gone out could do with a refresher.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a business meeting at this hotel on Wednesday. We asked for 3 coffees. We were told there was none! We suggested that instant coffee might be available - but we were told that there was none. We opted for 3 bottles of water. I was unimpressed at being charged £7.50! I will never hold a meeting there again and I am sure my colleagues won't either.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Kate S,

Kate S I am absolutely mortified that this has happened in this hotel and I am extremely disspointed that you have been missinformed. Please rest assured that this will be investigated internally and relevant action will be taken.

I would be extremely grateful of the opportunity to change your opinion of the hotel and will be messaging you directly to arrange a solution.

The Westerwood team are proud to have been recognised as delivering service excellence in the hospitality sector and on this occasion it appears we have let ourselves down, I would like to assure you that it is not indicative of our usual service levels.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon and please accept my sincere apologies.


Paul Bray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for nearly a week for the Commonwealth Games. It is a standard hotel but it did have a few problems. We stayed during hot weather and our room (247) was very hot and stuffy. No air conditioning and the windows hardly open. We borrowed a fan, but the room stayed hot. Even the corridors were hot as you approached the room.

The leisure centre was very good and the pool clean and well kept.
The food is another problem, none of it was really up to hotel standard. The dinner menu had several items that were never on. The cooking at breakfast was also disappointing.

The prices were far too high for what it is.

Room Tip: Some rooms involve a very long walk. In hot weather try for a room that may stay cool. 247 was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We played the course last week. Course is nice and challenging. What was very uncomfortable and we had not experienced anywhere else was the uncleanliness throughout the whole round, signage was also practically non existing

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Amiddelman,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the condition and layout of the course. As i'm sure you can imagine, litter is a constant nemisis on the golf course. We always ask our members & visitors to place litter in the bins provided however unfortunately there are people that have a blatant dissregard for this request. We have a cycle for clearing the course of any litter and during the golf season we also have regular nights where our members will get involved with activities such as litter picks, repairing pitch marks and replacing divots.

We have continual investment in the golf course and are committed to ensuring that our members and visitors receive excellent value for money and a great golfing experience, which I'm delighted to say that the feedback this year suggests that they do.

Please do keep us in mind for a future round of golf and let us know what you think of the continual improvements that we strive for.


Paul Bray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Coachman Hotel
The Coachman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#2 of 9 in Motherwell
888 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel

Address: 1 St. Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld G68 0EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range: £91 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is a Glasgow hotel not to be missed. The contemporary hotel is ideally located minutes from the M80, only a short drive from Glasgow, in fact, it is just a mere 15 minutes in the car. The Westerwood Hotel and Golf Resort is home to 148 comfortable bedrooms which will guarantee you a great nights sleep. For more relaxation head to the leisure club where you can swim in the pool, relax in the Jacuzzi or for the more energetic, you can work out in their superb leisure club. If you prefer the fresh air, you'll be pleased to hear the hotel has an 18 hole Championship golf course. There are some simply stunning views over the Campsie Hills. It’s self-contained conference centre can hold up to 400 delegates for a conference and up to 300 for a glittering dinner dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - a q Cumbernauld
The Westerwood Hotel And Golf Resort - a Qhotel
Westerwood Hotel Cumbernauld
Hotel Westerwood
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing