We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlecary House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel....”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here recently on a business trip with work, and it is a small I presume family business. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. I was in a modern room, which was clean and immaculately presented. The only down side is that as I am female, I feel very uncomfortable sitting in a restaurant on my own in the evening, and prefer to get room service. The hotel doesnt offer this service, however the staff stated that if I ordered food, they would phone my room when it was ready and they would put it on a tray and I could collect it at reception and take it to my room. Whilst this wasnt ideal, the hotel did make an effort to accommodate my request partially. The hotel should look at offering room service, I would be more than willing to pay up to a £5 tray charge for this service. The food was very good though too! The only other criticism is that you need to actually come outside the hotel and go to the lounge bar at the side of the hotel for breakfast in the morning, which isnt ideal it the weather is bad. Apart from these two points, the hotel is very comfortable and I would recommend it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModGirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    163
    64
    46
    35
See reviews for
132
180
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We attended a tribute night in the hotel restaurant and from the moment we arrived in the bar through to the meal and the entertainment the staff could not have been better. Nothing was too much trouble and service was speedy and efficient. For a 'set' meal deal (£25 per person including the entertainment) the was a very good choice, portions were just right and the meal was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from a itison deal to castlecary, from the moment that we arrived the staff were first class. We had a problem with our room ( other guests ) but the night staff ( Steve )moved us straight away, both rooms were lovely and the food was Fantastic, The Staff were always friendly and helpful and made our stay worthwhile, we will certainly return and would recommend to our friends and family. Special thanks to Donna and Michelle for there great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxmax59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. The dinner was excellent with lots of choice on the menu. We also enjoyed the tribute singer. A substantial and tasty breakfast rounded up a great experience. All staff were courteous and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We went here for a “high tea” the only thing high about it was the cost. There was no toast, the portions were small, and tea wasn’t offered until after the meal even then it was one small pot of tea to do two of us. The cake and scones were only fit for the bin. On the plus side the waitress was pleasant. We were over £53 for three of us (this included two pints of beer). Would not go back and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank troutfisherman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked an itison deal and could not have been more delighted with the room, food and service. I would happily have paid full price and will certainly go back in the future. We both work in 5 star hotels so know what we are talking about.Not every room can be as perfect as ours room 243 but the least anyone can do is allow the staff so solve the problem. The food was excellent and every member of staff we met was very friendly and could not have been more help full will certainly be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annespoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were attending a wedding at the Glenskirly Castle and decided that we would stay in the Castlecary hotel instead of the usual big chains as we generally have a good experience with small non chain hotels. The cost of the room was ~£45 from laterooms paid in advance. In the end we couldn’t stay in the room provided.
As we were checking in after the ceremony and before the reception we didn’t check the room before we needed the room. This was our big mistake. The room was of such bad standard we packed up our stuff and drove home.
The problems
Both the glass door and windows in our room where covered with a thin net curtain allowing anyone passing to see in while you sleep or get changed.
The mattress should have been retired several years ago. The springs felt as if they were about to pop through the fabric.
We checked out 10 minutes after inspecting our room. We were offered another room which we declined as the state of the first was so bad. No option of a refund.
I would be highly suspect of positive reviews of this hotel. Please if you are staying hear DO NOT pay in advance as I believe this could have been the reason we were placed in such substandard accommodation.
When my partner complained to management the following day she was told “I personally tested the mattress and it was fine and that somebody slept in it for 4 day, they will “NO” be changing it”
In regards to the net curtains “You couldn’t see through because it was dark and that I would be more than happy to get changed in the room”.
I can’t comment on the breakfast as we left before breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel or sleep in your car. You will be more comfortable and have the same privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Always difficult when you get a review like this. No one likes reading them, particularly when it is at complete odds with all our previous reviews.

Clearly we got it wrong for you and I hope you will accept my apologies. Given the opportunity we would have done our utmost to resolve the dissatisfaction and offered you an alternative room. For you to leave without the allowing us the opportunity is such a shame.

All I would ask is that you contact me directly to discuss this review and I will welcome you back as our guest and hopefully we can redeem ourselves. Kind regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
9.4 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
532 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Property: Castlecary House Hotel
Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing