We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlecary House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for an overnight stay in June after attending an event at the Duncarron Medieval Fort in the Carron Valley. It was the nearest dog-friendly hotel with availability so we decided to give it a shot. I was a little concerned by some of the negative reviews I’d read on here but as it was for a one night stay decided to go for it.
There was a slight issue with our online booking (the room it allowed us to book online with a pet supplement doesn’t actually allow pets) but that was quickly resolved with an email to the hotel and a pleasant and helpful phone call from a staff member who arranged a different room for our stay.
When we arrived at the hotel the greeting was warm and welcoming and we were directed to our room which was in the mews block across the car park. The room was clean and pleasant and the bedding and towels were spotless. We were expecting two Z-beds to be available for the children but they weren’t in the room. A quick trip across to reception and another polite conversation with the receptionist saw two Z beds delivered by housekeeping staff along with clean bedding within about 20 minutes.
We were aware before arrival that we wouldn’t be allowed to take the dog into the restaurant but the staff at breakfast were more than happy to make up a tray for my husband to eat breakfast in out room whilst myself and the children ate in the restaurant. The breakfast was delicious, lots of choice in terms of cereal and pastries etc and lovely bacon and eggs. All served with a smile and a chatty “good morning”. What more could you want?
Check out was swift and easy and the room was a very reasonably priced (£69 for the room plus the £10 pet supplement).
We couldn’t get the Wi-Fi to work (seemed an issue with the password) but we didn’t try to get it sorted as we were only trying to use it briefly in the morning. I suspect the staff would have happily sorted it out if we’d been across to enquire.
Overall, a very positive experience. We will certainly consider staying again if we’re in the area.

Room Tip: If you are booking with a pet please double check directly with the hotel that you have booked a sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review, however, when I continued reading you can imagine how mortified I was to learn of some of the oversights on our part. What can I say? It is obviously a serious oversight on behalf of our Housekeeping Department which, our Head of Housekeeping, and I apologise for. I hope this will be your first of many stays with us. With my good wishes, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Met up with our Canadian cousins who were guests at the Castlecary Hotel . What a fantastic meal we had , the presentation was wonderful and the food tasted just as good as it looked... We have never visited the hotel before which is just a few miles from where we live ....but let's just say we will be back .. Excellent .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank ginnyreid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Every guest who stays is special to us and your review means a great deal to us all – thank you so much. With all good wishes, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for one night recently. I found the staff really friendly and professional. The bar meal was really tasty, dinner at night was lovely and breakfast was terrific. The bedroom was clean and well presented. I definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We would also love you to stay here again! With our good wishes, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel from the outside seemed nice, checked in no problem. We were in one of the side building's and OMG when we walked in, was awful. Dated decor and the floor boards were so squeaky I thought they were gonna collapse underneath us! We found ants in the bathroom!! The bin was filthy and the curtains were discolored from being so old. The bed spread was something from the 80s! Dont let the website pictures fool you, this place is in serious need of torn up and started again from scratch!! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay at Castlecary House Hotel. I am sorry to read that your experience did not live up to your expectations and I would very much like to discuss this with you further, as all feedback we receive is of great value to us. Please can I kindly ask that you contact me directly at the hotel?
Kind regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

An overnight stay on our journey south, Quiet room, comfy bed, excellent breakfast with lots of choice, check-in up to 11pm, so we didn't need to rush or worry about being late, could stretch our legs on the public footpath from the car park, following the line of a Roman Wall. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience here. everyone here works so hard to make sure that our customers get the most from time here! We hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for a night before Eagles concert. Room we stayed in was in annex separate from hotel and was in nice condition and clean. Was quiet quiet as well. Close to M80. Breakfast and hotel was nice and overall. Value for money was very good. Would stay here again. Useful for us as the hotel is on the way back to Aberdeen and hence going in the right direction.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenmavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your most recent visit to Castlecary House Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and your overal experience was to your satisfaction. Rest assured that I will share your comments with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Jonathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night after a celtic game. It was a pleasant hotel. Clean and friendly. Had a bar next door connected to the hotel which was a nice touch. The rooms were very big. I had a nice visit to this hotel and i would recommend to others but it wouldnt be a hotel i would stay very long at just my own personal opinion. Breakfast was very average wasnt bad but wasnt great either. Overall a nice hotel and if your if your struggling to find a hotel this hotel will provide a good service and you can be assured of a nice pleasant experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your recent stay at Castlecary House Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the experience with us and that you appreciated the service provided. I will share your comments with everyone here and I very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.
Kind regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
9.4 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
209 reviews
9 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cumbernauld
Price Range: £39 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing