We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really beautiful location with perfect hosts!”
Review of Phidjie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phidjie Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Ojochal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really beautiful location with perfect hosts!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We really loved this location. We stayed almost a week. They have a beautiful garden. The lodges are really romantic and sweet. Almost like a fairytale. They have a beautiful pool. When you lay in it you can often see beautiful birds. Isabelle and Olivier where really lovely hosts! They are friendly and do more then everything to ensure a beautiful stay. They adviced us some really nice activities. They really know a lot of places and people. Our stay was perfect!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    19
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
92
176
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edingen-Neckarhausen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed there for three days in June 2014 and the stay exceeded our high expectations by far. It´s a romantic, quiet and well-run place - only two bungalows set in a lush tropical garden.
It teems with birds, butterflies and iguanas and in the evening the air is filled by the sweet fragrance of ylang ylang and frangipani. In the morning you can enjoy the delicious breakfast provided by Isabelle and Olivier upon request. Don´t miss it - it´s another highlight ( of numerous other ones) served next to the pool.
However best of all: Isabelle and Olivier, the charming, amiable, helpful hosts who really make you feel like friends. We appreciated the plentiful advice and suggestions given by them as well as the interesting conversations. You simply have to love them!
Our stay was much too short - with so many things to do and see nearby e.g. the gorgeous beaches of Marino Ballena NP, the Osa Peninsula and Corcovado NP and much more
Thank you Isabelle and Olivier for an unforgettable stay. We´ll have to come back.
Marie and Wolfgang

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Luise_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was the best place we stayed in Costa Rica. The owners were lovely, the bungalows clean and well designed. The gardens were stunning. At one point I was sat on a Lilo in the pool watching hummingbirds fly, staring at the flowers and the banana trees with the beautiful smell of the ylang ylang coming from its tree. I really loved this place and didn't want to leave. Just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The pool is your private oasis surrounded by flowers and trees, humming birds and Iguana sunbathing in the trees. The owners are wonderful hosts and they go out of your way to make your stay enjoyable.
My daughter and I stayed there for 2 days and wished we could have extended our stay.... but we had to return to the real world.


Can't say enough about this gem!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afterburner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Oliver and Isabelle, the hosts are wonderful. This lodge is a must see in beautiful Ojochal. On the premises, you can find toucans, iguanas and various coloured birds that Oliver attracts to his feed. My favourite part of their premises is the Ylang Ylang tree ( Perfume tree used for Chanel #5) which gives off a scent at night.

The lodge is also well decorated with Oliver's hand made furniture. The pool area is also well designed for relaxing and taking a dip. Ojochal is also a very lovely city with lots of nice restaurants, sodas and nearby attractions. If you visit Ojochal, you must stay at Phidjie Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ify I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Phidjie Lodge, made all the better by the friendly and helpful owners who couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable - thanks Olivier and Isabelle!

The spotlessly clean cabins are set in very nice gardens and since there are only two cabins, you get the pool to yourself most of the time. The pool was very good, nice temperature, and shaded in parts.

We try to not hire cars on holidays, but you might want to consider hiring one if you stayed here. We stayed here for week and although we had a great time, it would have been easier with a car (as suggested by Olivier). There are plenty of good restaurants within a short drive of Phidjie Lodge, but not so close if you're walking (our favorites Morphotica and Mama e Papa were a couple of km away). The supermarket iis an easy walk down the road. The closest beach is roughly 2km away.

Olivier also helped us booked a whale watching trip with Bahia Aventuras (Uvita). We were lucky enough to see a whale very close up!

The cabins are also very nice, good kitchen, lounge/kitchen and small bedroom (bed not that comfortable).

For those keen on birds there are lots to be seen - Toucans (up to six at once!), Aracari, Caracara, hummingbirds, woodpeckers plus lot more can all seen from your lounger by the pool! The road behind the property is also quite a good place to spot birds.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in Phidjie lodge. Olivier and Isabelle, the owners, are great hosts and care about everything. The lodge is very comfortable and decorated with unique objects crafted by Olivier. Superb garden and pool. A great place to stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.0 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
0.0 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phidjie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidjie Lodge

Property: Phidjie Lodge
Address: Calle del Bosque | 200 Mètres Au Nord De L'école, Ojochal 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidjie Lodge is located on the south Pacific coast, in a charming village called: Ojochal. This B&B, owned by a French couple gives you the opportunity to hire a fully equipped and self contained bungalow. Wanna fancy surfing? diving? going to the beach or on a boat ride to see whales and dolphins? Everything is possible here! If you would rather relax by the swimming pool under the gaze of the toucans and parrots, you can do that too. Phidjie Lodge is above all a peaceful and relaxing place but also a wonderful base for many activities such a horse riding in Marino Ballena park, do kayak, snorkeling and/or diving to Cano Island, go for a whale and dolphin tour, do canopy, meeting Indians, discovering the rich fauna and more, even Manuel Antonio and Osa peninsula! with it famous Corcovado NP ! Besides booking excursions for you, we can also provide you with a rental car and give you advices and information to make your stay even more enjoyable. So, come and join us to discover wonders of Costa-Rica southern Pacific! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Phidjie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing