We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Ojochal, Costa Rica!!”
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castillo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Ojochal, Costa Rica!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

El Castillo is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! We recently went to Costa Rica in search for property to build a future retirement home and by chance we landed at the El Castillo. Lucky us!! Scott and Russell (our hosts) have done a fabulous job renovating this lovely spanish style boutique hotel! There was a stunning view of both mountain and ocean from our suite balconies. Everything was very clean and so comfortable...they made sure we were well taken care of. I truly did not want to leave. My favorite spot was the gorgeous open living room to the infinity pool that lines up perfectly with the South Pacific ocean...the sunsets were absolutely surreal! We had dinner at the Azul restaurant in the hotel every evening. The food was truly fabulous! I love Russell's homemade hummus, and pastas! He also whipped up great frozen mojitos! Local expats stopped by in the evening for drinks and sunset conversation, so we were able to make lots of new life-long friends at the El Castillo. It felt like we were leaving family when we had to say goodbye. We definitely will stay there again (and again) while we build our new retirement home hopefully close by!

Room Tip: Corner suites had gorgeous views of both the ocean and the mountain!! Also, a nice breeze flows thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandee118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    13
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
133
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled here in August of 2012 and we had dinner here twice during our stay in CR. If we hadn't of already pre booked our hotels for the 10 days of our trip we would have definatley been staying here.
It is #1 one on my list for my next trip to CR most definatley! This hotel has recently been taken under new management Russell and Scott are the most fabulous, friendly, professional people that you will meet during your trip to C.R.

The restaurant was the best restaurant we ate at during our trip. The menu was fabulous. Everything that we ordered was amazing.

If you are visiting Costa Rica, this is the place to stay & or eat at! The views here are bar none some of the best in Ojochal, it is set on a mountain side facing the pacific ocean, with an infinity pool to enjoy the view.

I will definitely be back here over and over again.
5 stars +

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Having stayed numerous times at El Castillo during the building process of our home, we were more than a little surprised at the subtle, but tasteful changes made to the hotel. Under the new direction of Russell and Scott, who not only have good taste in design, food service and hospitality, the restaurant and hotel blend a perfect combination of comfort, ambiance, style and sophistication. The building always had incredible views and nice rooms, but the new blend of old world charm mixed with contemporary design in the furniture, fabrics and bedding lend a softer and more luxurious feel to the accommodations. Russell and Scott come with the fine reputation of having developed AZUL, a restaurant with wonderful Mediterranean cuisine, easy to understand fixed price options and a much more robust wine menu than seen in other fine restaurants in the Southern Zone. The dining room overlooking the fabulous ocean view on one side and the cloud forested mountains on the other provides a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere for guests and locals to entertain, get together with friends or just meet new travelers. Loved it.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and can accommodate more than 2 people or be used as a suite. Very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanAtwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We are so lucky to have Hotel El Castillo and Restaurant Azul in Ojochal. As a travel agent, I would recommend the hotel to everyone. The newly redecorated rooms are spacious, comfortable and elegant with an unbeatable view. As a neighbor, I eat at the restaurant every time that I have a chance. Lasagna is a favorite dish and the hummus as an appetizer is addicting. The entire staff is attentive, well educated and serious about meeting your needs. Russell and Scott have done an excellent job in every aspect. One recommendation for dining is to arrive before sunset. You would really miss out if you did not see the stunning view of the infinity pool over the mouth of the Terraba River and the Pacific Ocean. Either as a guest or for a mean, you cannot miss by going there. Bring your camera.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annieincrbuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We just returned from spending a week at El Castillo for our family reunion. All 19 of us took over the place for the week, and had the best time ever! The new hosts, Scott and Russell, made everything perfect. Before arrival, they helped us arrange our transportation, our excursions, our sleeping arrangements, and answered every single random question we threw their way. Our group included 10 energetic kids (ages 3-16) and 9 adults (ages mid 30's - 75). We were a handful, but Scott and Russell dove right in and took care of every detail. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and the A/C kept them nice and cool. The meals were delicious, and Russell took extra care to make sure the picky kids didn't walk away hungry. Cocktails in the evenings while watching the spectacular thunderstorms over the water were a huge treat. Scott arranged for the Spa to come to us, so we had facials and massages in our rooms while the kids enjoyed the pool downstairs. The villa is equipped with wi-fi so all of our various iGadgets connected to the internet nicely. We honestly couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our family reunion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaLivermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

If you want one of the best experiences in Costa Rica I would recommend staying at the El Castillo Hotel.

The hotel is more like a luxurious villa...It is located on a cliff with a pool that overlooks the Pacific ocean. The staff are very attentive to your every need. The food is cooked be chef Russell and exquisite. Everything including your exotic drinks a made fresh within little piece of paradise.

I recommend the El Castillo for families, executive vacations, re-unions, and kids alike.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.3 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
12.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
9.9 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Property: El Castillo Hotel
Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Castillo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Castillo is an adults-only, luxury boutique hotel known for its incredible staff, over-the-top service, free gourmet breakfast, and exclusive beach on a nearby private island. Perched 600 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the magnificent structure has arguably the most dramatic view in all of Costa Rica. Enjoy the infinity pool on the main level or relax in a cabana on the ocean-view deck below, which features a bar, Jacuzzi pool, and a full menu of in-cabana spa treatments. The fabulous Azul Restaurant & Bar, located inside the hotel, specializes in Mediterranean cuisine. El Castillo is a special place - stay as our guests or rent the entire hotel and let our staff spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing