We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of El Castillo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castillo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel is amazing with large, well-appointed rooms and spectacular views of the ocean extending from the infinity pool. Its location away from the larger resort towns makes it an excellent getaway spot without sacrificing any amenties. The restaurant is casual, yet sophisticated with an electic menu that didn't disappoint. The communal table was perfect for our group, and the service everywhere from the bar to the dining room to the living room to the pool was attentive without being obtrusive. John was so helpful coordinating activities with local companies, all of which were a great time (whitewater rafting, deep-sea fishing, ATV tour, etc.).

All of that being said - John, Russell, Scott, Will, David and the enire staff are really what made the stay a memorable one. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious with great views - the suites have private balconies which are nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamezyjamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for El Castillo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I haven't ever described anywhere as "perfect" before. But this hotel really is!

You walk in to the most spectacular views imaginable - over the ocean and the surrounding countryside. The infinity pool merges into the sea view. The room we stayed in was beautiful - with a huge, comfortable hardwood bed and views over the ocean. Dinner was fabulous. And the team running the place charming and friendly without being intrusive.

My only regret is not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The minute you walk in, the owners really make you feel like their most favorite family member!
You want to be alone and quiet, in the shade or in the sun, there is a plush chair waiting for you. You want to meet new people and have a few laughs there is a corner for you too.
The atmosphere they created is unique in all my travels. For the rest of the amenities you can trust their add!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rojo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Boutique hotel with an unbelievable view and service staff. Accommodation was comfortable and the food was tasty, couldn't ask for much more. I would highly recommend not only staying at El Castillo but also visiting the Ojochal area, there are a number of private isolated beaches in the and the number of quality restaurants in the area is surprising. Great location to get away from the tourist crowds and still have the amenities you want.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel sits high atop a mountain with a magnificent view of the river and the ocean from the infinity pool! Lovely staff and good cocktails. Talk about a room with a view!! You can't go wrong with this town or hotel!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Cardine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This hotel is amazing! It was our 6th night in costa Rica and we tried many nice hotels, El Castillo rocks! 100% the best so far.
Rooms are very big (two rooms actually) and we'll equipped. Staff is very warm and friendly, restaurant top levels too.
And the milestone: swimming pool with infinite view to the ocean. Unforgettable for sunset.
Nothing to complain about. It is perfect and good price too.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lbmo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My first time in Costa Rica and it was a pleasure. Russell, Scott, John and everyone at El Castillo were amazing. We spent Thanksgiving here and absolutely everything was wonderful. It was one of the best vacations that I have taken in a very long time. Waking up to toucans in the morning and coffee by the infinity pool overlooking the pacific is absolutely breath taking. We took their recommendations for the masage therapist, local places to eat, zip lining ..... you name it, you cant go wrong.. This is exactly the type of boutique environment that I love and they made our vacation special. The people of Costa Rica are very kind and genuine. We will definately be back and will bring friends to El Castillo. Thank you guys for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.3 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
217 reviews
9.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
10.8 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
4.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Hotel

Address: Calle Perezoso | 300 Mtrs Este de Costanera, Ojochal 60501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range: £172 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Castillo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Castillo is an adults-only, luxury boutique hotel known for its incredible staff, over-the-top service, free gourmet breakfast, and exclusive beach on a nearby private island. Perched 600 feet above the Pacific Ocean, the magnificent structure has arguably the most dramatic view in all of Costa Rica. Enjoy the infinity pool on the main level or relax in a cabana on the ocean-view deck below, which features a bar, Jacuzzi pool, and a full menu of in-cabana spa treatments. The fabulous Azul Restaurant & Bar, located inside the hotel, specializes in Mediterranean cuisine. El Castillo is a special place - stay as our guests or rent the entire hotel and let our staff spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your El Castillo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing