We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful, so delicious!”
Review of Hotel Mamma e Papa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mamma e Papa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was such a beautiful place to stay. Your room is in an individual cabin which made it feel so special. The biggest thing for me though was the unbelievable food. Anyone who has been t CR often knows that there tends to be little variety in the food. Well the food here was no only great for CR, but amazing all around. Truly some of the best authentic Italian food of my life! So good that I drove back almost an hour out of my way to eat there again before my trip was over. The couple that run the place were really nice too. FYI the man speaks very little English and the woman speaks none. Oh and also you have to make a reservation at night to eat, even if you are a guest at the hotel. Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mamma e Papa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed in this small hotel for 5 days in March 2013 with our six year old daughter and her grandparents. On previous trips to the area, we had eaten at the Mamma e Papa restaurant on a few occasions and our experience was always exceptional - terrific food, terrific service, terrific atmosphere. Enzo, the owner/host, is always friendly and attentive and upon discovering that there was a hotel on the property, we decided to try it out. They have four private cabinas/chalets and we booked two; the family room, which had a queen bed and a single bed, for us and a chalet with a king size bed for the grandparents. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained and had very comfortable beds. There is a lovely pool with a common area including a self-serve beverage fridge, as well as an outdoor entertainment room with a television and a pool table. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful (be aware that there is a set of steps to get down to the hotel that would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues). We even had the opportunity to see toucans in the trees surrounding the pool during an evening swim - beats high end luxury any day! Our experience was excellent and we will stay here again in August and on any return trips to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adodwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This place is spectacular... Weren't sure what to expect.. after driving up a dirt road (common in costa rica) we arrived and were astounded by this place.... it reminds me of switzerland but in a rainforest environment. The landscaping and surrounding environment is heavenly. This place is CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!!! The owner has class and is obviously very passionate about this place in making it first class and in maintaining it well. This place is family owned and they are wonderful people which makes it even more pleasant. The food here is also very good, italian style. The cabins are great and we ended up staying here instead of going to the beach as it was a very nice place to relax, play pool, swim, and take a nap in the hammocks. We would have loved to stay here longer...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperMariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Mamma e papa' is a great place to stay. The restaurant is amazing. Enzo was so accommodating with everything. The rooms are completely separate from one another they are like their own little cabana. They are very nice and clean. The pool is situated at the bottom of a hill with beautiful landscaping everywhere.

Holly and Jason

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwade24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to spend a few days in the Uvita area and we chose to stay at Mamma e Papa hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. Let me tell you, this place is paradise, the hotel and restaurant are carved into the side of a hill facing east, the grounds and views are GORGEOUS, the cabins are private and amazing, and the food... don't get me started on how wonderful the food was. We sampled a few of the pasta dishes (all phenomenal), a pizza, caprese, bruschetta, and breakfast fruits and pancakes! All made from scratch, mostly in house, some of the best Italian food I've ever had. Enzo and Jeanette, the hotel proprietors, were the most gracious hosts, everything was clean and tidy, simply wonderful. I absolutely would recommend Mamma e Papa to anyone traveling to Costa Rica, especially who wants to visit the Pacific Coast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

With my husband we spent 5 nights in Hotel "Mamma e Papa" in November 2012. We loved the place and we loved the owners. Beautiful garden, very clean rooms, A/C, WiFi, hot water, we could not ask for more. The food at the restaurant was delicious, the coffee was real strong Italian expresso. Both the hotel and the restaurant are great! But what makes this place even better are the owners Enzo and Gianette: they are so nice, kind and helpful, ready to answer all your queestions. And they do it in such a friendly and sincere fashion. We did feel as we were their friends not customers. We highly recommend "Mamma and Papa" and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neviana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in June, Enzo and Gianette were very helpful and attentive. They wanted to make sure everything was perfect. The bungalow has a/c, hot water and very clean. I just had a major dental surgery and they prepared foods that I can eat like oatmeal, soft boiled eggs, fresh fruit smoothies, soup, soft lasagna, and 3 leche dessert. The food served in the restaurant are all fresh, they make their own pasta. We will definitely go back there. Thank you mamma e papa.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojochal
0.4 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
624 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 13 in Uvita
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma e Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma e Papa

Address: Calle Perezoso | 15km South of Uvita de Osa, Ojochal, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ojochal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ojochal
Price Range: £87 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma e Papa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 4 fully air conditioned Bungalows surrounded by lush tropical green gardens in front of the pool. To ensure a cool and safe environment for our guests they are constructed out of concrete. On entering our establishment cleanliness and freshness are the characteristics you will first notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mamma e Papa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing