We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£148
Fully refundable before Sun, 3 Mar
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
£148
Fully refundable before Sun, 3 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
301
28
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
301
28
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo room live music owners john costa rica breakfast area new owners beautiful ocean a wonderful stay boutique hotel scarlet macaws nice pool mountains views paradise sink veranda driveway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This place is immaculate and has it all! Great rooms with amazing views overlooking the jungle to the ocean. Service was second to none and the food was out of this world. Tried most of the menu and never disappointed. From a quiet breakfast on the outdoor pool deck to Great live entertainment every night in the Bamboo Room.
The staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us and the owners were amazing hosts!
Definately coming back.

Room tip: Our room was a corner room with amazing view. I saw the suites and they all have the similar amazing view. They are tastefully furnished.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ssankey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Tucked away on a ridge with a view of the forest and ocean from each room with the valley and mountains behind, this gem boutique hotel is a great space for those who are looking for ambiance within the heart of this location in the Southern Zone. A short drive from Uvita and just past the entrance to Ojochal (going south).

We stayed in one of the suites with a massive king bed with lots of pillows for lounging. A few chairs and a lounger on our patio allowed us to chill and listen to the sounds of the ocean surf below. The sounds of the forest animals - so many birds. Saw a fiery billed aracari toucan right beside where we enjoyed our breakfast (included in the rate).

The pool is in the sun most of the day which creates a beautiful temperature for swimming or lounging. Loved my morning swim/float prior to leaving.

We enjoyed this wonderful space, relaxed after a hopping evening (live music) at the hotel's adjacent bar/restaurant - The Bamboo Room @ Alma de Ojochal. Everything we ate was wonderful and the choice of frozen drinks...mmm good!

Room tip: All rooms have a great view with the sound of the surf to chill to!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolynnSokil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This was our second stop in our 2 week tour of the southern region. The Alma has it all, superior rooms, great food and nightly entertainment. Our room had a large deck to enjoy the sunsets. The pool was a welcoming treat after a long day exploring the region.
The best feature although of the Alma is the hospitality shown by fellow Canadians and owners John and Janet. Both went out of their way to ensure we had an awesome stay. Our stay at the Alma was on of the highlights of our trip.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Best one night stay the entire trip. I didn't want to leave. John and Janet are so welcoming. The place is immaculate. Food is fantastic. Entertainment was pretty good too! I had one of the best coconut curries I've ever had, and the bar is well stocked and a super fun hang. Nice, attentive staff. Lovely, seemingly brand new facilities including a nice sized, super clean pool. Views from every inch of this place are epic! The large room was so clean and comfy, I couldn't stay awake long enough to enjoy it because the bed was perfect. Shower had soap and shampoo, and I saw the first AC unit I've experienced in this country. The deck off the bedroom was a really beautiful setting. Can't wait to come back!!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank puravidaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Stayed here one night but wanted to stay a week. Woke in the morning and sat just outside my room on the private terrace. Couldn’t stop gazing at the views of the jungle and ocean with humming birds buzzing by and toucans in the distance. Get my room ready I’m coming back.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One4Bluewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews