We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay here again... and again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo Casentino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was sadly only an overnight visit during a short tour of some more obscure Tuscany hilltowns arranged by my daughter-in-law for my birthday. Accommodations are housed in a three-story restored 11th century monastery. Historical authenticity extends from the creaking floors, old hewn sink, and well-worn steps of the agriturismo itself to the surrounding forest preserve, deemed one of Europe's most beautiful and bio-diverse(and also known as "Dante's forest"), home to the 1000-year-old Sacro Eremo di Camaldoli up the road a few kilometers.

Rooms are clean and well-appointed, the common room (one for two rooms) commodious and comfortable, and the views from the covered terrace astounding.

Dinner at €25.00 each was local and traditional: antipasti of mixed bruschetta, ribollita Toscana soup of "black" cabbage and proscuitto, whole grain pasta from wheat ground nearby with a ragu of rabbit, veal and pork, duck cooked ala porchetta — well-spiced and succulent —fennel pie, and salad.

The owners were friendly, accommodating, and informative. I would like to have come to know them better. I can't recommend this place enough for those looking for a rustic but comfortable experience in the heart of Tuscany. Those looking for fitness centers, room and turn-down service may want to look closer to Arezzo proper.

Room Tip: I'd try for a room with a view (along the front).
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Casentino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

My partner and I traveled to Italy to celebrate his 60th birthday in Tuscany. Agriturismo Casentino was our home base for two wonderful weeks. Our charming hosts, Elida, Guido, and Simona, made us feel so very welcome. The entire family hosted a birthday dinner party for my partner. Guido assisted our day trip planning and provided great commentary for the sights we visited. The convenient location near Bibbiena made it easy to access the entire eastern Tuscany area. Day trips included Poppi, Pratovecchio, Stia, Della Verna, Camaldoli, Eremo, Bagno Di Romagna, Caprese Michelangelo, Anghiari, Sansepolcro, Perugia, Siena, and the Chianti vineyards. We made two auto excursions to Florence with one overnight stay there. The beauty of this region is unparalleled. We were fortunate to experience the foliage change colors during our stay...gorgeous! We heartily recommend this Agriturismo and will return if we're able.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the "Il Falco" apartment and playing with Fomo the farm dog!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I have traveled to Italy regularly for years. But this trip was absolutely outstanding. Where do I begin? There was so much to appreciate: the beauty of the old house which is located in the mountains in the national park, tastefully decorated and cozy house, the company of the wonderful hosts.
We do not speak Italian, but because we felt as we were among friends, somehow we had interesting and funny conversations while having a Michelin quality food.
On the top of that, when the hosts learned that my husband's drivers' license had been stolen, they drove us to picturesque medieval little villages with world class art works, to and from train and bus stations, and to unforgettable Perugia and Lake Trasimeno.
We would love to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceanport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This was the best vacation of our lives. The hosts made us feel like family and catered to our every need. The food was magnificent, including three or four course meals every night. We watched them make the pasta and other dishes and we have never tasted anything like it. To add to the experience we could pick cherries from the trees and eat fresh vegetables from the garden. The location is perfect. The are few tourists around and one can drive to incredible castles and old cities in just minutes. They were also also so kind to our children and knew just how to keep them happy, including lots of seconds for dessert. I am a critical traveler and this place gets my highest possible rating. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deckerfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank articsupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aliciamarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fferretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibbiena
2.3 mi away
I Tre Baroni
I Tre Baroni
#1 of 1 in Moggiona
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Greti
Hotel Le Greti
#1 of 1 in Soci
43 reviews
20.4 mi away
Podere Violino
Podere Violino
#1 of 6 in Sansepolcro
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Collina delle Stelle
La Collina delle Stelle
#2 of 7 in Bibbiena
248 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast La Collina
7.5 mi away
Agriturismo Borgo Tramonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Casentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Casentino

Address: loc. Partina km 186,6, 52012, Bibbiena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Bibbiena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bibbiena
Price Range: £56 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our farm is in Tuscany, between Arezzo and Florence, on the border of the Parco Nazionale delle Foreste Casentinesi, in the heart of Casentino. From here you can easily reach places of unique beauty as Camaldoli, Poppi, Bibbiena, La Verna. In lawn solarium and swimming pool surrounded by rock garden you can enjoy sunny days surrounded by forests and meadows breathtaking, deer and roe deer will be the companions with whom share your relaxation, all this just 300 metres from the highway that leads to Camaldoli. Six splendid accommodations were recovered in the cottage. Small restaurant available to our guests. Playground for children, Mountain biking, barbecue outdoors in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Agriturismo Casentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing