We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place!”
Review of Irupe Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Irupe Lodge
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I loved Irupe Lodge! To get there, it requires about a two hour drive on dirt roads from Mercedes, or a four hour drive from Posadas. It is totally worth the drive. The lodge is situated right on the lake near the village of Colonia Carlos Pellegrini. I chose the four night, three day package which included two day boat trips on the lake to view wildlife, a night boat ride, a day horseback riding and eating with gauchos, and a walk in the nature preserve, along with all meals. We saw lots of animals on the boat rides. One of the rides it was only me and the guide, Marco, and there were very few other boats out there, and we saw tons of animals--birds, capybaras, caiman, caterpillars. It was so peaceful! The guides knew enough English to point things out. The day horseback riding was wonderful too. Diana, one of the English speaking workers, accompanied us. Diana was amazing and helpful, and the one who helped me book my trip and took care of all transfers perfectly. The gauchos were very kind and happy people, and made us a wonderful meal we ate in their house. This might be the highlight of my whole trip to Argentina (hard to say!). The gaucho life seemed simple and helped put the annoyances of your own life in perspective! I also must say the meals at the lodge were wonderful; I looked forward to each one and wondered what would be brought to the table. Often it was beef, but there was also rabbit, chicken, and a potato gnocchi dish for a break from the meat. Eggs were also used frequently. They offered to make something lighter if desired, and the desserts were out of this world. There is bar service virtually all day. The room was very nice too. Simple furnishing, but very nice. I had a superior room which included a nice balcony for relaxing and watching the birds. There is plenty of free time between excursions to relax, read a book, wander about the village and surrounding area on your own, have a drink, etc. I hope to go back someday!

Room Tip: The superior rooms were a slight walk away from the main lodge. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

This Lodge is in a small village 2.5 hours drive from Posadas airport over a dirt road. Irupe has its own travel company which organised our stay in conjunction with a three-day visit to Iguazu Falls staying at the Panoramic Hotel. All arrangements, transfers etc went smoothly. The Lodge foyer and dining/sitting room is very comfortable with a lovely atmosphere. The meals, three courses for lunch and dinner, are delicious and there is a small but good selection of wine. All staff are welcoming and friendly and service is excellent. The wildlife is what you are here to see and you will not be disappointed. Boat trips on the marshes bring you up close and personal to caimans, capybara, marsh deer, in our case an anaconda in a tree, umpteen birds, Geoffroys cats, howler monkeys. The sunset boat trip is not to be missed and we enjoyed our two hour horse ride to the rustic estancia. Don't expect too much from the room. Ours was in the main Lodge area and was basic and simply furnished. There was a large shower stall (beware the metal hot tap which gets scalding hot) but otherwise the bathroom was cramped with an old-fashioned pedestal basin so nowhere to put toiletries. Toiletries provided are shampoo, conditioner and soap. However, you are not here to spend time in your room and the overall experience was fantastic and unmissable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HookedOnTravel255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We came to Irupé Lodge on a mother-daughter-trip and spent three nights there. The Lodge is placed in a beautiful setting, right at the edge of one of the lagunas. The views are truly spectacular and we saw a lot of animals and birds that we have never seen before in our lives.

The transfers and all the excursions were perfectly organised by the owners of the lodge. Everyone we met there was very reliable and extremely friendly and helpful. We had booked full board and were very much looking forward to what the kitchen staff would be serving yet again. Bliss!

We hope to come back some time maybe in a warmer month when even more animals and flowers can be seen. It's been an absolute pleasure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZollingerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We found the Lodge Irupe on-line and made reservations directly, with e-mails flying back and forth as the means of paying the deposit was sorted our. We drove from Iguazu, stopped for lunch in Posadas, and missed the turn down to the village of Carlos Pelligrini because the road is unmarked. After stopping at a police post we retraced our steps about 12 km. and found the dirt--not gravel--dirt road that would take us to our destination. Good thing there had been no rain because our sedan would have been mired in muck for a week, or at least until a kind soul with a large truck and tow line happened by. The experience was worth it: we pulled into the lodge about 18:00, were greeted by Facundo, the manager, and immediately offered a drink. Good sign! We must have looked as worn as we felt.

After cold libations, expertly prepared, Facundo showed us to our room, the far half of a cabin, built on low stilts and nestled in a marsh with shade trees all around. A king-size bed, no TV, no noise, except for birds singing and the Cicadas whose symphony began about sundown. The room had a king-size bed, desk, and large, 4-piece bath for Europeans who need a bidet. French doors opened onto a deck with table and chairs. A perfect setting after 5 long days that had taken us from Buenos Aires to Iguazu Falls and back to the Esteros del Ibera, a vast, protected marshland in the middle of Correintes province.

Facundo had inquired when we would like dinner, which is served over a 2-hour period in the evening. Dinner and every other meal over the next 3 days were 5-star. Javier, the owner and occasional resident, is a trained chef and has taught well the kitchen staff in creative ways to prepare local produce. Over the next 3 days we enjoyed fish, lamb, chicken and a couple vegetarian dishes that had me wishing Javier would produce a cook book. Thee is an excellent selection of wines from Mendoza to complement every dish.

We had reserved 2 nights at the lodge but found the setting so relaxing and enjoyable that we decided to stay another day. The lodge and village offers a variety of activities that take advantage of the natural wonders in the Esteros. There are morning and late-afternoon boat rides from the lodge's dock to various parts of Lake Ibera; they never go to the same area twice the same day. The morning ride includes a stop at the Park Ranger's centre, where a half-hour video introduces visitors to the lake, marshlands, and wildlife. This is followed by a walk along the monkey trail where, if you're lucky you will see a family of howler monkeys. Then it is back to the boat for a 90 minute ride along the shores of the lake to see an amazing variety of birds, capybarys (the world's largest rodent) and crocodiles. Each trip is accompanied by an English-speaking guide (if necessary). Our guide, from Switzerland, also spoke fluente French, German, and Spanish.

Back at the lodge, you can wander around town on your own or hire Nene to give you a tour of the village in a horse-drawn carriage. Nene, who moved to Calos Pellegrini in 2004, but has family roots in the village, knows everyone and everything--from the birds, to the house where the oldest woman in the village lives, to the cemetery where he points out that many people's political allegianges are reflected in the colour of their tomb.

The next day featured a trip to a gaucho's home, 40 minutes south of Pellegrini, and a horse-back ride around the area, before returning to Chacho's house for a home-cooked lunch prepared by his wife, Mercedes. The ride treated us to more wild life, meeting and chatting with an 83-year-old gaucho who lives alone despite his children's efforts to move him to B.A., and stopping for refreshments at Chacho's mother-in-law's home, where she demonstrated her weaving skills. We learned that the lamb we ate came from Chacho's estancia and, at Javier's request, we left an order for another lamb to be picked up the next day.

The lodge is a wonderful place to do nothing. There is an excellent selection of books on various regional topics in three languages. There is a swimming pool large enough to do laps. And there are many comfortable chairs on the verandah where one can nap or watch the frequent comings and goings of a variety of birds.

We did not plan to return--for al least a year--when we left, but misfortune intervened: our laptop with over 1,000 photos, taken the previous week, was stolen within an hour of arriving in Buenos Aires. There was no possibility of returning to Iguazu but we decided to return to Irupe. We called Javier and he arranged everything: we took an overnight, 1st class bus to Mercedes, the nearest town to Carlos Pellegrini; a driver tmet us, took us back to Chacho's on the way to the lodge, then to cram in a late afternoon boat trip and another one the next morning. Nene obligingly came by with his carriage so I could take pictures. We spent 2 days and one night at Irupe, this time in a room with twin beds (hence the tip to reserve early), then our driver took us back to Mercedes for the overnight bus to B.A. This was a successful venture, much more cost-effective than renting another car or flying to Posadas, and we discovered the benefits of traveling by first-class bus in Argentina.

One more word about driving to Carlos Pellegrini: The road between Mercedes and the village is MUCH better, being packed gravel, than the road going north.

We travel a great deal and have experienced a variety of lodgings. The Lodge Irupe ranks near the top of our list for comfort, service, food, and setting. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Book early and be explicit about preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tsmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Ibera wetlands are a spectacular place for seeing wildlife and a must if you really like your birds and animals.

The sheer quantity of sightings (up close as well) is amazing. You end up seeing a lot of caiman and capybara though so venture further afield to see some extra things.
Irupe lodge is an ideal place to base your trip from. It has direct access onto the lake (by canoe if you wish which I highly recommend) and is a very relaxing and peaceful place.
Out of our whole 3 week trip to Argentina it was definitely the most relaxing, tranquil place.

The restaurant, staff and guides are all top quality and we had no complaints.
We had one or two issues when the owners arrived for some sort of staff party and we were used a bit to fit in with their plans but the onsite staff were brilliant and more than made up for any shortcomings of the owners.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Finding Irupe lodge on our travels from Buenos Aires to Iguazu falls was a real blessing. We spent new years eve and two more nights there enjoying the very comfortable accommodation, true hospitality, great food and the delights of Laguna Ibera and meeting some local farmers. Regi then went out of her way and helped arrange the rest of our mostly unplanned stay in Argentina making our whole holiday much better than it would have been otherwise.
I would recommend contacting Irupe to help plan your stay in Argentina and to have some time there. Our family of 4 (including 2 male youths) really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWS-AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed at Irupe Lodge for four nights in early December, we had a family apartment - which was huge and beautifully decorated.

We went on three boat trips, all of which were excellent - but the night trip under the stars was our favourite. We saw hundreds of birds, capybarras, cayman and even a yellow anaconda.

On arrival, we went on a guided trip looking for howler monkeys - we missed them that time, but we went ourselves a couple of days later and they were there.

We can also recommend the day in the country, where we horse rode for about 3 hours in the company of a gaucho family.

Our guide was Sabrina, a Swiss lady who has married a local - she spoke perfect English, was full of knowledge and our kids loved her.

The food is great and the staff are all attentive and ver helpful.

I guess the only thing is it is pretty expensive by the time you add costs of transfers etc... But for a splurge, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
0.8 mi away
Posada de la Laguna
Posada de la Laguna
#1 of 1 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
182 reviews
24.9 mi away
Ibera Estero Salvaje
Ibera Estero Salvaje
#1 of 1 in Uguay
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nande Reta
Nande Reta
#1 of 10 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Posada Aguape
Posada Aguape
#1 of 19 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
169 reviews
17.1 mi away
Rincon del Socorro
Rincon del Socorro
#1 of 1 in Uguay
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Ana del Ibera
Casa Santa Ana del Ibera
#2 of 10 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irupe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irupe Lodge

Address: Yacare e Ysipo, Colonia Carlos Pellegrini 5000, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Corrientes > Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Price Range: £109 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Irupe Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iberá Lake and marshlands are among the last paradises on earth where visitors can get face to face with caimans, capybaras, swamp deer, howler monkeys and hundreds of birds. Over 350 species of birds live in this virgin landscape.The ideal starting point for excursions into the Iberá marshlands is the village of Colonia Carlos Pellegrini.The panoramic view of our park and the lake right out front, crowded with colourful birds, invites you to explore Argentina’s nature. The Lodge construction on poles ensures a natural and cozy atmosphere for unforgettably relaxing days.At Irupé Lodge, we offer two different types of rooms:• 4 Superior rooms with panoramic windows, integrated living-room, private bathroom with bathtub, individual balcony with view to the lake Iberá. The superior rooms are located in separate cabins and hidden in the naturally dense vegetation of our park.• 4 Standard rooms with panoramic windows towards lake Iberá and private bathroom. The standard rooms are located in the main building and have direct access to a large living area, library and open-air veranda.• Our family suite in the main building with bedroom with balcony, separate living room and private bathroom is the ideal solution for a family with 2 or 3 children.Esteros del Iberá is the place for adventurers and nature lovers!Here are some options we can offer you:Boat Safaris:On the lake Iberá you can take morning, sunset and night safaris. Swamp deer, capybaras, caimans, giant otters and birds can be observed all year round.Night Safaris:To see the swampland’s other face, you start off with a specialized guide around sunset. Either on the boat or on foot you will get a demonstration of the variety of the swamp’s strange sounds while observing the night active animals. Horseback riding and horse-drawn carriage trips:Sitting astride a horse, you’re sure to get a different view of the marshland and its surroundings. In the company of your guide you will find trails through palm tree forests and past the sparkling water of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Irupe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irupe Hotel Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Irupe Lodge Argentina/Colonia Carlos Pellegrini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing