We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Irupe Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Irupe Lodge
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Excellent animal watching tours, nice guides, food and accommodation is great. We also did a tour on horseback and visited local farmers. Nice and quiet place in the middle of nowhere. I can recommend it to anybody who loves nature, animals and a good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    36
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
50
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It is an excellent place to sleep a couple of nights and enjoy the Esteros del Ibera. It has a nice view of the lake and you can hire them to get a rent excursions in boat, 4x4, horse, etc.
The food is excellent, thought expensive. You can find food cheaper in the city that is only 4 blocks away.
The host are very friendly and willing to accommodate the traveler needs.
A nice pool thought s not pristine.
The rooms are cosy, clean and very appropriate for the Esteros.
I will recommend this place if you want to spend a good time in a comfortable place and don't mind spending a few buck onto it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezekiel_morales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford. Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Irupe Lodge is one of the hidden wonders of Argentina. Unfortunately it is not easy to get to: four hours from Posadas or two hours from Mercedes but once you are there, you have arrived to paradise. The hotel is small situated at the edge of the esteros. The meals are exceptional. At breakfast we were offered eggs (a first in Argentina) by the wonderful staff and both lunch and dinner were three course fabulous meals. Also included in the cost per day are two trips to the wetlands by boat. The guides are fantastic: patient and extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and fauna. This year was my second trip and I will return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. Don't worry about mosquitoes. In both experiences, I have yet to see one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rypnhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

After a horrendous journey to get there over miles and miles of bad roads, it was a total joy to arrive at simply put, a beautiful place. The excursions that were arranged by the staff were amazing, the wildlife was unique and plentiful. The pool was a welcome addition at the end of the day. The meals were excellent as was the service by truly interested staff

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrispenoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Irupe is a wonderful place to see wildlife up-close and felt like a perfect escape. It is beautifully situated with great views of the laguna from the dining room and bedrooms. The staff are extremely attentive and helpful - and so was Regi, the Swiss owner, with the planning of my excursions (which are organised by the lodge) and onward trip. I loved my room - it was bright, spacious and clean. The food was very good, too - including a huge breakfast that went far beyond the typical Dulce de Leche and marmelade... It was definately worth the long trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneSch_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I loved Irupe Lodge! To get there, it requires about a two hour drive on dirt roads from Mercedes, or a four hour drive from Posadas. It is totally worth the drive. The lodge is situated right on the lake near the village of Colonia Carlos Pellegrini. I chose the four night, three day package which included two day boat trips on the lake to view wildlife, a night boat ride, a day horseback riding and eating with gauchos, and a walk in the nature preserve, along with all meals. We saw lots of animals on the boat rides. One of the rides it was only me and the guide, Marco, and there were very few other boats out there, and we saw tons of animals--birds, capybaras, caiman, caterpillars. It was so peaceful! The guides knew enough English to point things out. The day horseback riding was wonderful too. Diana, one of the English speaking workers, accompanied us. Diana was amazing and helpful, and the one who helped me book my trip and took care of all transfers perfectly. The gauchos were very kind and happy people, and made us a wonderful meal we ate in their house. This might be the highlight of my whole trip to Argentina (hard to say!). The gaucho life seemed simple and helped put the annoyances of your own life in perspective! I also must say the meals at the lodge were wonderful; I looked forward to each one and wondered what would be brought to the table. Often it was beef, but there was also rabbit, chicken, and a potato gnocchi dish for a break from the meat. Eggs were also used frequently. They offered to make something lighter if desired, and the desserts were out of this world. There is bar service virtually all day. The room was very nice too. Simple furnishing, but very nice. I had a superior room which included a nice balcony for relaxing and watching the birds. There is plenty of free time between excursions to relax, read a book, wander about the village and surrounding area on your own, have a drink, etc. I hope to go back someday!

Room Tip: The superior rooms were a slight walk away from the main lodge. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This Lodge is in a small village 2.5 hours drive from Posadas airport over a dirt road. Irupe has its own travel company which organised our stay in conjunction with a three-day visit to Iguazu Falls staying at the Panoramic Hotel. All arrangements, transfers etc went smoothly. The Lodge foyer and dining/sitting room is very comfortable with a lovely atmosphere. The meals, three courses for lunch and dinner, are delicious and there is a small but good selection of wine. All staff are welcoming and friendly and service is excellent. The wildlife is what you are here to see and you will not be disappointed. Boat trips on the marshes bring you up close and personal to caimans, capybara, marsh deer, in our case an anaconda in a tree, umpteen birds, Geoffroys cats, howler monkeys. The sunset boat trip is not to be missed and we enjoyed our two hour horse ride to the rustic estancia. Don't expect too much from the room. Ours was in the main Lodge area and was basic and simply furnished. There was a large shower stall (beware the metal hot tap which gets scalding hot) but otherwise the bathroom was cramped with an old-fashioned pedestal basin so nowhere to put toiletries. Toiletries provided are shampoo, conditioner and soap. However, you are not here to spend time in your room and the overall experience was fantastic and unmissable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HookedOnTravel255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
5.2 mi away
Posada de la Laguna
Posada de la Laguna
#1 of 1 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Aguape
Posada Aguape
#1 of 19 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
160 reviews
17.1 mi away
Rincon del Socorro
Rincon del Socorro
#1 of 1 in Uguay
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ecoposada del Estero
Ecoposada del Estero
#3 of 10 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Tupasy
Posada Tupasy
#7 of 19 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
51 reviews
125.3 mi away
Posada El Yacare
Posada El Yacare
#5 of 10 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irupe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irupe Lodge

Property: Irupe Lodge
Address: Yacare e Ysipo, Colonia Carlos Pellegrini 5000, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Corrientes > Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Irupe Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iberá Lake and marshlands are among the last paradises on earth where visitors can get face to face with caimans, capybaras, swamp deer, howler monkeys and hundreds of birds. Over 350 species of birds live in this virgin landscape.The ideal starting point for excursions into the Iberá marshlands is the village of Colonia Carlos Pellegrini.The panoramic view of our park and the lake right out front, crowded with colourful birds, invites you to explore Argentina’s nature. The Lodge construction on poles ensures a natural and cozy atmosphere for unforgettably relaxing days.At Irupé Lodge, we offer two different types of rooms:• 4 Superior rooms with panoramic windows, integrated living-room, private bathroom with bathtub, individual balcony with view to the lake Iberá. The superior rooms are located in separate cabins and hidden in the naturally dense vegetation of our park.• 4 Standard rooms with panoramic windows towards lake Iberá and private bathroom. The standard rooms are located in the main building and have direct access to a large living area, library and open-air veranda.• Our family suite in the main building with bedroom with balcony, separate living room and private bathroom is the ideal solution for a family with 2 or 3 children.Esteros del Iberá is the place for adventurers and nature lovers!Here are some options we can offer you:Boat Safaris:On the lake Iberá you can take morning, sunset and night safaris. Swamp deer, capybaras, caimans, giant otters and birds can be observed all year round.Night Safaris:To see the swampland’s other face, you start off with a specialized guide around sunset. Either on the boat or on foot you will get a demonstration of the variety of the swamp’s strange sounds while observing the night active animals. Horseback riding and horse-drawn carriage trips:Sitting astride a horse, you’re sure to get a different view of the marshland and its surroundings. In the company of your guide you will find trails through palm tree forests and past the sparkling water of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Irupe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irupe Hotel Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Irupe Lodge Argentina/Colonia Carlos Pellegrini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing