We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Aguape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Aguape
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Another wonderful world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in mid February and had an excellent time. As previously stated the lodge is simple but comfortable and the morning and late afternoon tours give you plenty of time to relax during the day. Breakfast is fairly basic, but the 3 course lunches and dinners were very good and much appreciated. The Ibera wetlands are simply teeming with wildlife and the lodge guides, Claudia and Natalie were knowledgeable and fun to be with. The environment is beautiful, the service is good and the stay was an enjoyable, educative and relaxing contrast to busy Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at Aguape for two nights. The three-hour trip from Posada airport over dirt roads was well worth it. Staff was very friendly, all meals were home-made, and the environment was beautiful. The lodge is simple, but very comfortable. We saw a lot of animals during boat and hiking excursions. Despite the excursions the stay was very relaxing because there was enough time between excursions and eating to have a siesta and read a book. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Aguape Lodge has enjoyed deservedly favorable reviews on Tripadvisor. The food is excellent. The additional charges are reasonable and minimal. The two tours per day that are included are excellent. Life at the lodge is relaxed and delightful. We visited in the Austral summer. There was one tour in the morning and another at 5pm. The afternoon was spent by the pool or in siesta – the entire experience was excellent and is highly recommended. Things the prospective guest should plan for three important realities:

1. Aguape is located in Colonia Pellegrini, a remote community with essentially no services. There is no ATM and the lodge requires cash payment of 50% of the bill.
2. While it is possible to use buses, there are many problems with them on this route. The only sensible way to get to the lodge is by automobile. There are two routes to the lodge, one through Mercedes and the other from Posadas. The latter should only be attempted with a four wheel drive vehicle. Even then, if the weather is wet, it will be slow or impassable. The road from Mercedes can be handled by two wheel drive vehicles. As of February 2012 it is in an early stage of being paved. There is a bus from Mercedes but it is slow and unreliable. The lodge will arrange transfers from Mercedes or Posadas via automobile and driver. We used both and they were comfortable and reliable but are not cheap.
3. Public transportation through Mercedes is very limited.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peregrine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
211 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I just returned from spending five days and four nights (March 12-16) at the Posada Aguape in the Ibera Wetlands. We travelled by bus from Retiro in Buenos Aires to Mercedes. From there, we hired a driver who delivered us to the lodge in good condition after travelling the rough roads to the town of Carlos Pellengrini. The lodge is the best located posada in the area. The property includes access to the Lake and all the boating activities which dominate your time at Ibera. I would like to mention that Carlos, Matilde, and Naldo were excellent hosts with their respective duties. Carlos was the camp director; Matilde had a team that cooked and cleaned; and Naldo was a terrific guide. The activites were typical of what you would find at a get-a-way place such as Aguape. Boating, hiking, horseback riding, and birding were all part of the program at the lodge. By the way, Naldo will show you some terrific birds and those that like to keep a list will certainly add plenty to your roster. For a remote location, the meals were tasty and plentiful. We had chosen the fullboard so we had three meals a day plus tea time at 4pm. All in all, the Posada Aguape is well run. Carlos makes sure that all of your desires are met and that you are as comfortable as possible. The grounds are beautiful. The people who take care of you are professional and caring. And, I cannot recommend Posada Aguape more highly. Note: If you need a ride from Mercedes, Rafael will meet you in Mercedes and take you to the lodge. He is also pretty bilingual and will point out places/creatures along the road to C.Pellegrini. One last thing, if you want to see a great animal and attraction in itself, the capybara is home to the Ibera Wetlands......

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, don't worry about choosing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went to Esteros del Ibera with my family and stayed at Posada Aguape. It was a wonderful experience starting off with the actual Posada which has picturesque architecture, beautiful grounds right next to the lake and a big swimming pool. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy.
The expeditions organized by the Posada were fantastic. The local guides were great, very knowledgeable in flora and wild life and you get to see an amazing variety of both, but especially birds.
Food was delicious, with a combination of typical foods and more international stuff. All meals are included so you don't even have to worry about the issue, just make it to the dining room, and start enjoying it.
It's not easy to get there since roads are not very good, but it's a highly reccomendable place to visit especially if you enjoy nature and wildlife!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesB_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We couldn't say enough about Posada Aguape. It just oozes beauty and tranquility - the amazing bird life and mammals is unique to other areas and the lodge is so glorious. The food is excellent and service is wonderful. But most of all its the experience of feeling so special in an unique and wonderful area of Argentina. Everyone should visit! Its not easy to get there but once you are there, it will be an experience you will never forget. Our thanks to all the staff at the lodge for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I'm very glad we chose to visit the Esteros Ibera and stay at Posada Aguape. The setting is very unique, very removed from city & town amenities, and it literally teems with life. There are countless variety of birds out on the lawn every morning, dragonflies dance through the air in the afternoon, capybaras wander up from the lake, and the frogs even like to spy on dinner (the less welcome visitors are the mosquitos, which be warned we did encounter plenty of in December). Getting here from Buenos is time-intensive but not uncomfortable -- the overnight bus is reasonably comfortable and Posada Aguape is very helpful in arranging 4WD transfers in and out of Colonia Pellegrini. It did get very hot in the middle of the day, but there are no activities on at that time so it is easy to stay in the shade if you wish.

As for the accommodation, the landscaping is lovely and simple and very private, the pool area is very relaxing and hammocks hang everywhere. Our room was spacious and well-tended. The manager spoke excellent English and was friendly/helpful in delivering instructions for whatever was up next. The outings are pretty straightforward and we certainly enjoyed them even though the English level was limited. The food is very tasty -- it isn't fancy or gourmet and has a pretty home-cooked style, but it always seemed to hit the right spot. Overall I think Posada Aguape is a great choice if Colonia Pellegrini is where you're headed. This place was the pioneer eco-lodge in the area so it knows what it's doing and comes with lots of touching attention to detail.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallard75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia Carlos Pellegrini hotels
4.3 mi away
Posada de la Laguna
Posada de la Laguna
#1 of 1 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Irupe Lodge
Irupe Lodge
#3 of 18 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
125.8 mi away
Posada El Yacare
Posada El Yacare
#5 of 9 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nande Reta
Nande Reta
#1 of 9 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Tupasy
Posada Tupasy
#7 of 18 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Paso Ibera Cabanas&Posada
El Paso Ibera Cabanas&Posada
#16 of 18 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Aguape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Aguape

Property: Posada Aguape
Address: Provincial Route 40, Colonia Carlos Pellegrini, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Corrientes > Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Aguape Lodge is located in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini, only 115 km from Mercedes city ( province of Corrientes) and 740 km from Buenos Aires. Access by car and bus is rather easy. THE INN Eight double suites with a view to the lagoon Wide verandas, TV and video in the living room. Play room. • Guests House: Four double suites by the lagoon Small cozy living room with a large fireplace and a bar. • Decorated with regional typical craftsmanship. Show of crafts made by the "correntino" people. THE ROOMS Posada Aguape, offer large and comfortable rooms. All have a view to the lake and are decorated with regional typical craftsmanship. MENU With a unique view of the Ibera Lake, you will be able to enjoy our homemade delicatessen and savor selected wines. All jam and marmalade, butter and country sweet milk are homemade, and are only some of the temptations that you will be served with at our traditional breakfasts. Home pastry making at tea time. Menu: appetizer, entree, and dessert. Vegetable garden, homemade pasta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Aguape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Aguape Hotel Province Of Corrientes
Posada Aguape Argentina/Colonia Carlos Pellegrini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing