We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for bird watching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada de la Laguna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for bird watching”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent four nights here in February and can really recommend the place. The journey in is challenging and if it's just rained you are in real trouble - 4WDs only. There is nothing to do in the village and hardly anywhere to eat so best to go full board like we did. Peaceful place, lovely pool, delicious food, all home-cooked. Can recommend the horse-riding excursion, safe and easy for anyone. I speak Spanish but it is about time the guides learned English. Yes I know the village is remote but you can learn on the internet these days. And the night excursion was a huge disappointment. We were bitten to pieces by mosquitos despite covering up from head to two and smothering ourselves in repellent. The hotel need to address this as it's downright dangerous with dengue fever around and bites can get infected. We were unlucky not to see armadillos. But the day-time bird watching pretty much compensated. I'd say three nights here (so two days) would be enough for most people. We enjoyed seeing the ruined missions on arrival in Pousadas but could find nowhere decent to stay in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBeckhams421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    30
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
70
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

It's hard to decide where to start with praise of La Posada de la Laguna. Pleasant, friendly (if a bit shy) staff. Amazing view of, and access to, the wetlands. Our guide, Roque, was informative and patient, and seemed just as excited as we were to see all the landscape and animals...although he had probably seen it all a million times before. The guest rooms are clean and comfortable. Waking up to incredible bird sounds each morning was an extra bonus. The food was great and they took care of my husband's and my vegetarianism. The main house/dining room was comfortable and provided a great view of the iguanas and wild guinea pigs by the swimming pool.
Two caveats: 1) It's not easy to get here, but that makes it that much more special! We took a car from Iguazu Falls (6+ hours, many of them very bumpy) on the way in, and then a car to Mercedes on the way out (less bumpy, the road was in the process of going from dirt to pavement)...and then an overnight bus from Mercedes to Buenos Aires (not as "easy" as some would have you believe). 2) I wish we had taken one morning or one afternoon just to sit/nap/read at the Posada. We went on excursions each morning and afternoon, and they were all great. In retrospect, I would have liked a few hours of doing "nothing."

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELSA G, Owner at Posada de la Laguna, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Hi Tim!!!
Thank you very much for your comment. I´m very glad you enjoyed our lodge and I´m very happy we have "supported" your honeymoon.
I´ll take seriously your suggestion about "to do nothing" for a day!!!
A big hug!
Elsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort-de-France, Martinique
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Hello,

We choose that place to discover the Esteros del Ibera and it was a great idea. There is a direct access to the lake, so you go directly and don't loose time. We were there to see capybaras ans they were so many all around...

Ideal for rest (no TV), big rooms, great food...

Everybody is there to help you to pass a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesvoyagesdemadikera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very nice lodge, the 3 days we spend in the Posada de la Laguna were the highlightsof an altogether marvellous trip through Argentina.
The lodge is well-maintained at a great location in the middle of the Esteros, 3 hours by car from Corrientes airport.
The food was very good, included in the price. Room was spacious and nicely decorated (with DirecTV and mini refrigerator).
Nice swimming pool and incredible lounge with bar and fireplace. Wifi is available, with no additional costs.
Nice excursions (horseback-riding, walking safari, canoe-trip). There are lots of birds to see and you will see capibara's and caiman in the immediate surrounding of the lodge.
The guides know a lot and are very enthusiastic. Our English speaking guide was great.
Transfer between the lodge and Corrientes airport can be arranged (at additional costs).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hechtel
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this remote part of Argentina. Getting here is an adventure. We came by nightbus from Buenos Aires to Mercedes, where a driver was waiting for us. Driving to Colonia Carlos Pelligrini we already saw the beautiful nature. We got immediately our room at the posada and after some rest at the swimming pool and lunch we already did a first excursion in the afternoon. And we must say: what a stunning place. We really recommend everybody going to Esteros del Ibera. Everywhere you can see the birds, capibara and other animals.
We really enjoyed all the excursions. The guide spoke little English but was very helpfull and pointed all the birds and animals. We made several boattrips, walkings and an night excursion. Normally we didn`t get a horse riding trip (this is just after 5 nights), but we asked the owner if we could change another excursion for it, and this was no problem. So we also went for a easy horse riding. Wonderful trough the marshes and fields with a very funny guide and gentle horses.
The food and service was excellent. The rooms simple but clean and the swiming pool very nice. It`s not cheap to stay here, but we are very happy to have included it in our round trip through Argentina. It was one of the highlights!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

If you like wildlife and birds this is the place to stay on the marshes.
The lodge is simple but the facilities excellent. the cooking was very good and all the staff friendly and helpful. the guide who looked after us was first class.
What a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmankelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

how nice were the 5 days we spent al posada the la laguna!
the absolute perfect place to enjoy all beauty nature offers you in a wonderful- jet relaxing environment in which you are taken care of in an absolute superb way!
the staff is very kind and will do anything to make your stay in the posada as pleasant as it can possibly be! the beautiful rooms, 'haute cuisine' and great experiences we had will be in my memories forever! hasta la proxima!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olaf35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
4.7 mi away
Posada Aguape
Posada Aguape
#1 of 19 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
157 reviews
22.3 mi away
Rincon del Socorro
Rincon del Socorro
#1 of 1 in Uguay
139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Irupe Lodge
Irupe Lodge
#2 of 19 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ecoposada del Estero
Ecoposada del Estero
#2 of 9 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
76 reviews
5.2 mi away
Posada Tupasy
Posada Tupasy
#7 of 19 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
51 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nande Reta
Nande Reta
#1 of 9 in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de la Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Laguna

Property: Posada de la Laguna
Address: Calle Guasuvira s/n, Colonia Carlos Pellegrini 3471, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Corrientes > Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada de la Laguna 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada de la Laguna is the best option in Colonia Carlos Pellegrini. It has a privileged location, inside a 2 acres garden with autochthonous trees and the best view to palms and the lagoon. Its gastronomy, the comfort of its rooms and personalized attention, all supervised by the owner, Elsa Güiraldes, add value to your stay in the Ibera Marshlands. Posada de la Laguna offers a big variety of activities for its guests. Daily or nightly magical boat trips down the Ibera Lagoon, unforgettable walks, canoe rides while listening to the birds sing, different horseback rides through the marshlands and palms, or simply relaxing on a hammock or by the swimming pool. The mix of the personalized attention, caring for all the details, together with the exquisite gastronomy and the big variety of activities will make you “live” the Ibera Marshlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada de la Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De La Laguna Argentina/Colonia Carlos Pellegrini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing