We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant”
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Many previous reviews have mentioned, that if possible, a traveller should stay overnight on Miyajima Island instead of just being a day tripper and leaving on the last ferry. My wife and I were able to spend one glorious night on the island. The Hotel Mankato exceeded our expectations in every way. The information booth at the ferry terminal will call the hotel and arrange to have your bags delivered to your ro if you wish to shop first in the village. The hotel representative also gave us umbrellas at the terminal. At check-in you will be asked for your breakfast time. Breakfast service stops at 9:00. We chose the western breakfast and were very happy with our choice. Waiting for us on the table were eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, rolls, and coffee. A great way to start a sightseeing day. Do not forget to take advantage of the Japanese bath that the hotel offers. An excellent facility with an outstanding staff

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cseesaw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    24
    12
    3
See reviews for
35
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is really a Ryokan (Japanese Inn). We called and were picked up at the ferry terminal. The rooms are spacious with tatamis and use futons for sleeping. There's also a safe in the room for your valuables. Was a pleasant change not to have internet available at all (a time to do some bonding). All staff members were very helpful as is the norm in Japan. Altho check-in was not until 3PM, we took the opportunity to explore the area near the ferry terminal. Our booking did not include dinner so we decided to look for a restaurant in the shopping area. Unfortunately we were warned that many shops and eateries close at 6PM. However, we did find a small restaurant that offered juicy BBQ fresh oysters. Very delicious paired with sake! For the evening, we reserved a private bath and sauna for two (see pic) at no extra charge. Our booking included breakfast. We chose the Japanese style and were not disappointed. Variety was excellent as was the service. Everything operates on clockwork so be on time so in order to savour the food at its best. Unfortunately the next morning rained but still a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Spent one night at this hotel in July 2010. The hotel booking includes dinner, bed (futon!) and breakfast. Rooms in this hotel are spacious and are furnished in a traditional Japanese style with Tatami mats, low table and chairs and futons that are made up after dinner for sleeping on. Despite us having little Japanese between us we had no problems at this hotel - the staff were incredibly helpful and one member of staff appeared to be charged with looking after us as she had superb English. The waitresses had less English but were extremely friendly and helpful when explaining how to eat the ten course Japanese dinner (some of which you cook yourself which is an experience). We had the standard dinner (there was a deluxe and a budget option avaiable as well) and found it very advenurous for our Western palates but was definitely an experience that should not be missed. For breakfast we choose the Japanese option (rather than a Western style breakfast which was also available) - again this was quite a culinary adventure. Overall a wonderful hotel on a lovely island - if you have time to fit in a visit to miyajima would thoroughly recommend staying here for a night or 2 - you may run out of things to do on the island if you stay much longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APMGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I booked a 1 night stay at Miyajima Hotel Makoto after the ryokan we wanted to stay at had no vacancies. Hotel Makoto is a close walk from the ferry terminal and easy to find. The staff was friendly, but not as hospitable as the other hotels that we had stayed at in Japan. Our room was large and clean with an in suite bathroom. Dinner was served in a separate room. We were served a large variety of fresh seafood that was good but not great. Same for breakfast-it was just OK. Unfortunately, the room next to ours had a group of men that were loud and smoking (both of which seeped into our room) till very late. We called the front desk to see if they could have the men quiet down, but instead of helping, they hung up on our call. The only highlight of the hotel is their Japanese bath. It was large and clean and was truly a pleasure.

Overall, Hotel Makoto was a disappointment considering the cost. I would definitely return to Miyajima though, it is a beautiful island and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellabecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

The hotel is a short walk from the main ferry station, and is close to the island’s main attractions. We were a little put off at our arrival in the early afternoon by the receptionist who told us that check in was only after 3 pm. Consequently, we had to leave our luggages at the reception desk. However, our luggages were waiting for us in our room upon our return at the end of the afternoon, which we really appreciated. Although Hotel Makoto could be qualified as a hotel considering its size, the room configuration and the traditional Japanese in-room dinner makes it closer to a traditional ryokan (Japanese inn). The evening meal, which is included in the price of the room (we took the “standard” meal), is quite amazing. We were served with delicious platters of fresh oysters, sashimi, as well as many kinds of marinated vegetables and other local delicacies. Although the hotel is well located on the island, there is not a lot to do and see in the evening, except for the magnificent night view on the famous Miyajima’s Torii gate. All in all, hotel Makoto, for it’s traditional rooms and haute cuisine, is worth a one-night trip if you are planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#6 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
293 reviews
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
#3 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
260 reviews
Hotel Kikunoya
#10 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
166 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Aki Grand Hotel
Aki Grand Hotel
#16 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
215 reviews
Sakuraya
#2 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyajima Hotel Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyajima Hotel Makoto

Property: Miyajima Hotel Makoto
Address: 755 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi 739-0518, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels / Ryokan in Hatsukaichi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyajima Hotel Makoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Miyajima Hotel Makoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyajima Hotel Hatsukaichi
Miyajima Hotel Makoto Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing