We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in Miyajima” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miyajima Hotel Makoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Nice place in Miyajima”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Miyajima is very lovely and this place is a nice place to stay.
The standard is ok bit you could expect more for that price.
The food is traditional Japanese food and very good.
The service is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrettokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    38
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
32
46
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this ryokan for one night and it was a pleasant experience. Not difficult to find – 10 minute walk from the pier. We checked in quickly (even my name was written at the entrance), and then a lady in kimono accompanied us to the room and prepared a tea. Our room was very big, with tatami floor and futons. It also had a nice terrace with a lovely view on the bay. The weather was very nice, sunny and so we enjoyed sitting, having a tea and watching the roofs of the houses and further away the sea. We were warned that there will be a group of children staying at the same time – but they were not noisy and we were given the remotest room so this was really not a problem at all. The bathroom was also ok – though everything could be refurbished and refreshed a bit, particularly taking into account the price (highest on our 15 day trip in Japan). Communal bath was nice and clean. Next morning we enjoyed in the traditional Japanese breakfast, delicious food and another great experience. Internet was free (Wi-Fi) in the hall.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment we placed the booking through an agent’s website to the moment we left, we had a wonderful experience of Makoto.

Within several hours of placing our booking, a representative of Makoto contacted us by email to clarify the details and number of our family and made a recommendation to cancel our booking and re-book with different details in order to reduce the price and get a better deal. I’ve never experienced such honest and helpful service before.

On the day of our arrival for one night, we were warmly greeted by a hotel driver who was waiting for us at the ferry terminal (look out for the hotel marked vehicle) and then a further warm welcome was received at the reception at the hotel. Our hefty luggage was transported to the room and we were accompanied by a woman who showed us the room and its facilities and then made us green tea. Her English was non-existent, as was most of the hotel’s staff, but this was in no way a negative for me. We were guests in their country and hotel and this just enhanced the experience in my opinion.

An additional nice touch, which we enjoyed, was seeing our name displayed on the outside of the hotel to greet us on our arrival.

The views of Miyajima from our room were outstanding. We could clearly see the torri gate and across the bay.

We ate in the hotel and had a traditional Japanese banquet. We traveled with two children aged 5 and 12 and they provided food appropriate for their age but some of it was still adventurous for their young pallets. The only minor grumble in relation to the eating arrangements was the size of the circular table, which was huge. This made it difficult to help my children with their meal. I literally had to stand up each time and walk to them. Our family of 4 was seated at a table that would have comfortably held 12.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. I would describe the Makoto has half way between a Ryokan and a hotel. The room was very traditional but enjoyed the facilities of a good standard hotel.

I would definitely return to the Makoto if staying in Miyajima again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
295 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed two nights. The facilities were wonderful.

The room was quite large by Japanese standards. There was a separate sitting room with a view of the harbor.

This is a traditional Ryokan Inn. Futons were rolled out on the tatami floor. This is NOT a "futon" like you might find at Ikea. The first night we had two futons each to sleep on. They are really little more than heavy comforters. YOU ARE SLEEPING ON THE FLOOR.

It had been over 30 years since I had slept on a futon on a tatami floor. Nice memories, but in the morning.I felt every one of those years!

TIP: There were extra "mattresses" in a closet and we pulled out one more each the second night. I am a "side sleeper" and my hips appreciated a little extra padding.

The room had a private "Western style" bathroom. The toilet was fitted with a heated seat and bidet feature so popular in Japan. The shower was spacious, and there was a tub. Regrettably it was not an ofuro with heater and jeys, but the hotel does have public baths with hot springs.

TIP Using the public bath you are completely naked. (They are segregated by sex.} And you wash up BEFORE entering the hot pool to soak. There are directions, and watch your fellow bathers.

There was a choice of "Traditional" or "Western" breakfast. We opted for Western style. Each morning there was juce and coffee or tea. There was an egg dish which you cooked or heated right on your table. Add yogurt, fruit, bacon or ham and pastries and it was a full meal.

The staff was very friendly, informative and accommodating. They came and picked us up at the ferry terminal upon our arrival, puling up minutes after we phoned. Though their command of English was limited they had a tablet computer (iPad?) with a translation app that allowed us to speak our requests or questions into a mic. The staff read/heard Japanese. It worked.

On our second day the staff also advised us that the ropeway was closed due to high winds. That saved us a walk.

And they shuttled us back to the ferry the afternoon we left.

A great experience from arrival to departure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldRoadWarrior60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

we stayed 1 night, in a traditional Japanese room.
Comfortable and clean. Bit pricey.
There's a spa/onsen which our friends used and they reported it was excellent.
the odd thing was breakfast.
When we went to the dining room, other guests were eating breakfast (about 7:30am) but we were directed to the front desk. Thinking we would have to pay at the front desk, off we went. However, despite (or perhaps, because of) our non-existent Japanese and their poor english, we could not understand why we could not have breakfast at the hotel.
Anyway, we were unable to stay and have breakfast here.
Checked the booking info later and still don't understand the breakfast policy - there's nothing in the booking info to indicate a prebooking or otherwise.

All up, I would advise staying on the mainland and catching the ferry over to see the island.
Much, much cheaper: both for accom and for restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry-neutralBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed during a bank holiday weekend so maybe the prices were inflated generally I feel it was expensive for what we got. The room was average as was the Onsen and the meal. The location was good as we're sign posts from the ferry.

When we walked along the waterfront in the evening we saw much nicer hotels/ryokans. We hadn't seen the, on western booking sites so it might be worth using a Japanese guide to source a hotel for this part of your trip

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

after visiting quite few proper hotels and proper ryokans in Japan this place was a cheesy version of both. Also not that clean like other places we saw, especially the hot bath part. Breakfast was very good though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geelonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#6 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
#3 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Hotel Kikunoya
#9 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Aki Grand Hotel
Aki Grand Hotel
#16 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Kinsuikan
#4 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyajima Hotel Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyajima Hotel Makoto

Property: Miyajima Hotel Makoto
Address: 755 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi 739-0518, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels / Ryokan in Hatsukaichi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyajima Hotel Makoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your Miyajima Hotel Makoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyajima Hotel Hatsukaichi
Miyajima Hotel Makoto Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing