We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The place is beautiful along the ocean. Rooms in Japanese traditon are well equipped and quiet.
The restaurant offers a careful and high quality cuisine.
A warm bath (onsen) is available.
Finally a shuttle to take you and bring you back to the village center for shopping or sightseeing.
The staff is very friendly and charming

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a view of the water tanks and there was a faint sound of intermittent pum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you wish to experience a trip back to the 70's this is the place to go. Decoration style is typical from this period with shades of brown everywhere, white tube neon light with matured plastic becoming dark yellow, almost matching the brown. Hotel staff is nice. Do not plan to spend time on the beach in front of the hotel, there is a bit of sand in the middle of the marina, but it is not a place to rest. I strongly recommend not to spend your money in this place, and anyway spending a night on miyajima island does not worth it as you can visit all the spots in less than 6 hours and go back to hiroshima in less than an hour until 10PM.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank guillaume m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Miyajima Seaside Hotel. From the moment we arrived, the staff were so super welcoming and attentive. Yes, the hotel itself might have a slightly dated feel to it but thats all part of its charm. Our traditional style Japanese style room was gorgeous with a fantastic sea view and deer roaming below. The hotel is located a pleasant 20 min walk from the pier or if you don't want to walk, a member of staff will happily drive you in the hotel shuttle bus (and will also come and pick you up if you call them when arriving at the pier). The onsen is also of a good size with lovely waterfall feature and was better than most other hotel onsens we used whilst in Japan. This hotel is perfect for a stay in Miyajima island but be warned that most restaurants on the island close at 6pm ( except for a couple) so plan for dinner accordingly. Again the hotel staff are happy to drive you into town so you can eat! All in all, loved the peace and tranquility here and would definitely stay at this hotel again for sure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers a relaxing piece of Island bliss to it's residents.
We would highly recommend the traditional Japanese dinner served in your room which was absolutely fantastic! The hosts will then come and clear away, followed by laying out your bed for the night.
The sea facing rooms (I don't know if they're all like this) have the tranquil backdrop of waves sounds and mountain views.
Walking from the ferry port is approximately 5km but there is a free hotel mini bus that will take you there and back if needed.
We opted for Western style breakfast which a preset plate of ham, scrambled eggs, potato salad and bread rolls. Not overly filling but a nice light start to the day, served with the ultimate politeness that only Japan can supply.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Faith Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first of many experiences staying in a traditional ryokan. Arriving around 7PM, we were met at the entry by the friendly staff and immediately asked to relinquish our street shoes for slippers! Check in was easy. The lobby is quite spacious and we saw a large group of guests relaxing in their yukatas, the traditional robes supplied in each room! We found our rooms to be spacious with a beautiful view of the sea (we specifically had requested and paid for a sea view.) The furniture was sparse and a bit dated. The bathroom was a bit small. But truthfully, we weren't there to spend time in our rooms!
Although we didn't want a full course dinner, we were a bit hungry, so the desk clerk offered to take us to a local restaurant. He drove us about 5 minutes away to what we would truly call a "local joint." There was counter seating only and the owner/chef was grilling these wonderful thick pancakes filled with cabbage, noodles and meat called okonomiyaki. Washed down with beer it was the perfect meal for us. The desk clerk picked us up again when we were finished. That's what I call GREAT HOTEL SERVICE!
After dinner, we went to the onsen - public bath - again our first experience during our 17 day trip. The onsen was large, spotlessly clean and fully provided with extra wash towels, soap, shampoo and plenty of hot water! Such a soothing relaxing experience!
Our morning multi-course breakfast was served by cheerful waitresses all dressed in traditional kimonos and geta, wooden sandals. It was a delicious array of eggs, fish, pickled vegetables and sometimes, other unknown but delicious tidbits!
Although we had our own car, the desk staff offered us the use of their shuttle the next day.
When we got home from our long day of climbing Mt. Misen and visiting Hiroshima, we melted into the onsen once more before donning our yukatas for dinner.
The dinner was a major production of multi courses, called kaiseki, each one more beautifully prepared than the next. Some cooked, some raw fish, and many other delectable items all accompanied by fresh hot tea at the asking.
In conclusion, we recommend this hotel for it's excellent service and spotless environment,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Visited here whilst on an exchange visit in October 2012
Lovely, clean hotel. Food was amazing. The yukatta in the rooms were great to relax in.
Very peaceful.
If I could live anywhere else on this earth, it would be on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

On our trip to Japan we had decided to stay in traditional Japanese accommodations, Ryokans or Minshukus. This hotel is situated, probably a half a mile from the ferry port, and you can call the hotel from the ferry and they will pick you up. The hotel is very clean but a little dated, and showing the years. We had a room which looked out over the sea, and very tranquil at night and in the morning.
In comparing this with other accommodations we stayed in in Japan, this was not up to the standard we had experienced at other locations in Japan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
#5 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
311 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
183 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Aki Grand Hotel
Aki Grand Hotel
#16 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
#15 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
126 reviews
Hotel Kikunoya
#12 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
99 reviews
Kurayado Iroha
#7 of 32 in Hatsukaichi
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyajima Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyajima Seaside Hotel

Address: 967 Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi 739-0501, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Hatsukaichi
Price Range: £149 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miyajima Seaside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute drive from Miyajima Ferry Port with its free shuttle, beautiful ocean views can be enjoyed from Miyajima Seaside Hotel. The hotel features a public bath, a karaoke room and free WiFi at the lobby. Japanese-style rooms feature a tatami (woven mat) floor and shoji sliding paper screens. Some rooms offer tranquil views of the Seto Inland Sea. They are fitted with an LCD TV, a mini-fridge and traditional futon beds. An en suite bathroom and yukata robes are provided. The hotel serves Japanese and western-style breakfast between 07:00 and 08:30 and traditional Japanese Kaiseki dinner from 18:00 until 19:00. Miyajima Hotel houses a soothing hot public bath, a souvenir shop and free-use laundry facilities. Drinks vending machines are on-site, and free parking is available. Seaside Hotel Miyajima is a 5-minute drive from the Itsukushima Shinto Shrine, a Unesco World Heritage Site. It's a 5-minute drive from Senjokaku Hall, and an 8-minute drive from Daisho-in Temple. Miyajima Ropeway lift is a 5-minute shuttle and a 20-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ebookers, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Miyajima Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyajima Seaside Hotel Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing