We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One way”
Review of Miyajima Ropeway

Miyajima Ropeway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.59*
and up
Private Day Tour of Kintaikyo Bridge and Itsukushima Shrine with a Local Guide...
Ranked #6 of 85 things to do in Hatsukaichi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
863 reviews
471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“One way”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We rode up and walked down. It was very misty so no view unfortunately. We still thought it was worthwhile however. The brand new, and only half open, visitors centre is going to be great. The walk down gives you aching calves but is lovely. Some great views to be seen on a clear day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    206
    74
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ride up, walk down (in the right shoes)”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Really enjoyed the tram/ropeway to the top of Mount Misen. Great views during the ride and from the top of the mountain. Nice hiking trails to the mountain top and around. Take water or a extra drinks with you because the options at the top are limited. BTW, the ropeway does not ends at the top, you still have some seriously steep hikes to do once you get off the ropeway. But the trails are clearly marked and the best parts of your visit are worth the effort. We took a picnic lunch and enjoyed the views. We decided to hike down the mountain through the nature preserve down to Miyajima. We were able to see many different bird species including wild pheasants (rare in these parts). The hike down is steep and will tax your knees. I wore teva's that day which were ok, but would have preferred my boots. We encountered others hiking up the mountain but I would advise the use of the ropeway opposed to the hike up. The hike up is difficult. FYI: the non-JR ferry tickets covers the cost of the ropeway too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great views & even greater local food”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The entire journey was completed in under 4 hours inclusive ferry ride (10mins) & ropeway (cable car) journey (30mins one-way). The ropeway journey consisted of 2 cable car rides. The longer one (8 pax max seating) of 10 mins plus ~ 10 mins wait for th furnicular cable car ride (22 pax max) which took ~4 mins. The walk to the ropeway station, ~ 15mins, took us through a forest filled with autumn leave colors which was simply beautiful. We didnt venture up to the Mt Misen summit which would have taken 30mins one-way. Instead we headed back to the local street for fantastic local food like Hiroshima grilled oysters, conger eel buns, fishcakes wrapped in asparagus & bacon. Oh, of course we visited the imposing orange-colored 16m tall Otorii gate & deposited a 50 cent Singapore coin amongst the barnacle-laced base whilst it was low tide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fwlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Loved this ropeway and I loved (after a fashion) the walk up to the top of Mt Misen at the end of it. Magnificent views of the forests and back onto Japan. This was one of my highlights of visiting Hiroshima.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great view, quite unexpected.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

After an undulating stroll to the gondola- a charming sign says " 10 minutes with a little run", two stages took us to the top of the mountain.
A wonderful clear day for viewing but it would be disappointing without it.
No facilities at the top and limited seating. I would suggest an umbrella and sweater. A wonderful surprise to enjoy on this delightful island a short fifteen minute ferry ride from the main land.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miyajima Ropeway also viewed

Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Miyajima Ropeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing