We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To rope or not to rope?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Miyajima Ropeway

Miyajima Ropeway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.37*
and up
Private Day Tour of Kintaikyo Bridge and Itsukushima Shrine with a Local Guide...
Ranked #6 of 83 things to do in Hatsukaichi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hatsukaichi, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“To rope or not to rope?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you're in less than good physical condition, if you have toddlers, if you're lazy, if you're tired, or if you just wanna blow 18 bucks, then you should take the rope way. Or if you're just curious and want to see things from a different perspective. My recommendation would be to just take it one way and then walk the other way and that way you could get both perspectives. Either way you should go up Mt. Misen while you're on Miyajima.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WTGreg-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    193
    71
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beware of the steps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

If you have got a 2 day pass for the trams in Hiroshima you get to ride the ropeway for free. The views from the top of the mountain are great, It was a bit overcast while I was there, and it was pretty quiet at the top.

Just don't get lulled into thinking that when you get to the top It will be a walk in the park - its a walk up a mountain - and there are a LOT of steep uneven steps often without handrails. In fact there are a lot of steps connecting the two parts of the ropeway before you even get to the top. If you are uncertain get the free bus to the bottom station and if you think the steps up to the entrance are too much for you stay on the bus, there are a lot more steps at the top.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller9996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
836 reviews
463 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“One way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We rode up and walked down. It was very misty so no view unfortunately. We still thought it was worthwhile however. The brand new, and only half open, visitors centre is going to be great. The walk down gives you aching calves but is lovely. Some great views to be seen on a clear day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Ride up, walk down (in the right shoes)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Really enjoyed the tram/ropeway to the top of Mount Misen. Great views during the ride and from the top of the mountain. Nice hiking trails to the mountain top and around. Take water or a extra drinks with you because the options at the top are limited. BTW, the ropeway does not ends at the top, you still have some seriously steep hikes to do once you get off the ropeway. But the trails are clearly marked and the best parts of your visit are worth the effort. We took a picnic lunch and enjoyed the views. We decided to hike down the mountain through the nature preserve down to Miyajima. We were able to see many different bird species including wild pheasants (rare in these parts). The hike down is steep and will tax your knees. I wore teva's that day which were ok, but would have preferred my boots. We encountered others hiking up the mountain but I would advise the use of the ropeway opposed to the hike up. The hike up is difficult. FYI: the non-JR ferry tickets covers the cost of the ropeway too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great views & even greater local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The entire journey was completed in under 4 hours inclusive ferry ride (10mins) & ropeway (cable car) journey (30mins one-way). The ropeway journey consisted of 2 cable car rides. The longer one (8 pax max seating) of 10 mins plus ~ 10 mins wait for th furnicular cable car ride (22 pax max) which took ~4 mins. The walk to the ropeway station, ~ 15mins, took us through a forest filled with autumn leave colors which was simply beautiful. We didnt venture up to the Mt Misen summit which would have taken 30mins one-way. Instead we headed back to the local street for fantastic local food like Hiroshima grilled oysters, conger eel buns, fishcakes wrapped in asparagus & bacon. Oh, of course we visited the imposing orange-colored 16m tall Otorii gate & deposited a 50 cent Singapore coin amongst the barnacle-laced base whilst it was low tide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fwlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miyajima Ropeway also viewed

Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Miyajima Ropeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing