We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing & Unforgettable!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing & Unforgettable!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can't say enough good things about this amazing experience...

We stayed in their best room, with tatami mats, private onsen on the corner-view balcony overlooking the town and mountains. It was by far the best room, service & food I've ever had at any hotel in the world. It was expensive (about $900 for two people, all food included), but after it was over, I felt they could have charged even more.

Being American, this was my first experience at an Onsen. The public baths were very nice, but the private tub on our balcony offered the most amazing views. The natural mineral water was so healing, and the tub was always filled to the brim & at the perfect temperature.

The 30-or-so course dinner was fit for any shogun. It was served in our room by our own geisha-clad server who could explain every dish in English. All of the food is gathered and prepared locally. Their chef is top-notch, and even after such a huge and long-lasting feast, I felt great and healthy afterwards. For this service and exquisite quality, I would estimate this meal could easily cost $200/person.

Their breakfast, while not quite so lavish, was still easily a $50/person gourmet meal.

So regarding the value... if you consider that $500 could go towards the amazing meals, the total cost of $900 for the night was actually a great value for this amazing room and experience.

In conclusion...if you opt for their best room with private onsen, you are in for a real treat!

Room Tip: The private onsen room on the corner (with tatami mats) is simply amazing! We stayed in Room 502 (an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    98
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
99
101
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Made the booking through the hotel’s English website. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we had to change our travel date so we wrote an email and our check-in date was changed without any hassle.

The receptionist was polite, helpful and speaks English. The room was spacious and clean (no special view). Though we find the bathroom’s lighting a little too dim. Comfy futon.

The highlight of our stay would be the kaiseki dinner served in Shioji (their dining area). The dishes were well prepared and our server, Murakami-san (speaks fluent English), made effort to ensure we enjoy our meal and took his time explaining the dishes. Breakfast was satisfying as well.

Strategic location, away from the hustle bustle of the main street yet a short walking distance to a few of the main attractions.

We really enjoyed our one-night stay in this hotel and would definitely recommend it others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlackerJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My room was a single room, so it was not traditional Japanese style. I had no view, overlooking the entrance door. and the room was tinny. Too small actually. So the room was not good at all. I did not like it, but I imagine if you get a Japanese style room (which is not offered for solo), it is much nicer. Dinner, well, I did not find it great. The beef stake served cold. Not my thing. Breakfast was decent. The location is really great. The public onsen was awesome. Three baths, two of which are outside, so that was great. They pick you up from the station, and will drive you back if you stay after 2:00pm. Polite professional staff. Check out at 10:00am, so very early. Last dinner served at 7:30pm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liat-geographic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Giuliano Milanese, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

for the last two days in japan we have choseen miyajima. This hotel is just behind the temple and the famous torii. excellent location. shuttle service available from the ferry terminal. wide and confortable room. we have been very impressed for the welcoming and the staff kindness and flexibility. it is difficult to find in japan the availbility and flexibility we have found here. occidental and japanese available meal both for breakfast and dinner, as well as the accomodation. we experienced a funny dinner and stay here thanks to a superlative maitre we will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
352 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at three places which offered tatami mats and futons and this was our favourite. We had dinner in a private room with western table and chairs and breakfast was in the restaurant with friendly staff. Dinner was really pleasant whilst breakfast is to be avoided. Cold and unappetising. Staff really pleasant and in a great position to look round Miyajima which is a lovely place and to get pictures of the floating torii gate. Also, good location for a visit to Hiroshima.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Arimoto for one night and decided to spring for a room with a private outdoor bath. The room itself was huge, by far the largest room we stayed in during our trip. The bath itself was wonderful, it was raining during our stay but the bath was covered and it was wonderful to soak whilst listening to the patter of raindrops.

Included in the room rate was dinner, which was truly beautiful...although one word of warning, you will need to like seafood/shellfish (we asked for no shellfish but this was taken a little liberally). Dinner itself was in a private room and you have your own server. Ours was Hitome, and she was simply brilliant. Breakfast can be either Japanese or Western style. Whilst this hotel is pricey, you get what you pay for, the location is great and really this was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penfoldio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I found this gem of a hotel searching in trip advisor and japanican (a great site for booking off the beaten path Japanese hotels) and couldn't agree more with the superb reviews I had seen. The hotel is located right behind the most famous temple in the island, a short 10-15 minutes walk from the ferry pier.

A memorable stay started when we arrived at the ferry pier, as the hotel had already sent a huge van to pick us up (I had called barely 5 minutes before, already aboard the ferry to let them know we were arriving). I was travelling in a party of 6 with some very heavy bags and both the chauffeur and the reception stuff quickly took the heaviest ones without allowing us to help. On arrival we were greeted in the street by two people in the most kind and courteous way I've ever seen (we would experience the same kindness at departure) who took care of our bags and led us to reception. Check in was smooth, with reception staff offering tips for sightseeing and understanding in detail our food preferences (dinner and breakfasts were included in the room rate, as in most upscale ryokan style accommodations) before escorting us to our rooms.

Rooms were absolutely wonderful, a blended western-Japanese style consisting of western style twin beds (one of the most comfortable I've had in any hotel), a tatami area with traditional low table and seating (beware of the shoes!) and a third space with a sofa and TV area to chill out. Besides, one of the three rooms had a big terrace overlooking the wonderful forest around the small town and the sea on the right. All three rooms had the same mountain view, but only one overlooked the sea. Decoration is a very nice modern/traditional mix with all needed comfort amenities, and all is spotlessly clean. Bathroom was standard Japanese with bath/shower and all kinds of toiletries were provided along with yukatas for the stay.

Common hotel areas are bright stylish modern with a nice bar area in front of reception overlooking the garden along with a regular restaurant, huge souvenir shop and public baths (also huge). Our dinner was served in a private room for our party and was top of the range, both in quality and quantity, extensively featuring oysters (miyajima's more typical food) and one of the best sashimi I've ever had, along with many other things. The person serving us during dinner was outstanding, making every effort to make us enjoy. Breakfast was served in another private room along with other two guest parties, and quality, quantity and attention to detail we're equally astounding. At check in we had been given a choice between Japanese and western breakfast, both great.

After check out we went sightseeing and left our bags in the hotel. At our return we were able to refresh, have a look at the store and even relax a little while in the bar area. As soon as we were ready reception organised a complementary transfer back to the pier and were on our way in no time despite the short notice.

The extreme kindness of staff was once again shown on departure, when reception staff greeted us in the street until we were out of sight. We really felt as family even if we don't speak Japanese, and our stay was truly memorable as a result of the top facilities and well over the top personnel of the Grand Hotel Arimoto.

100% recommended if you visit this wonderful spot in japan. You won't regret it!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank buduku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatsukaichi hotels
Miyajima Seaside Hotel
#3 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
242 reviews
Hotel Kikunoya
#9 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
84 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Aki Grand Hotel
Aki Grand Hotel
#16 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miyajima Hotel Makoto
#14 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
114 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
161 reviews
Iwaso
#1 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto

Property: Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto
Address: 364 Minami-machi, Miyajima-cho, Hatsukaichi 739-0522, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hatsukaichi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels / Ryokan in Hatsukaichi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miyajima Grand Hatsukaichi
Miyajima Grand Hotel Arimoto Japan/Hiroshima Prefecture - Hatsukaichi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing