We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At best, it's OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountain Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blue Mountain Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“At best, it's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights.
Overall, it's just about OK: however, would have preferred a Premier Inn.
The room interior was refurbished, but closet and bathroom small: maybe they should have had some of the bedroom when refurbishing? Nowhere to hang anything in bathroom.
Sliding door did not open - just taped up! Actually, that is symptomatic of the need for maintenance - in the corridor loose cable covers at foot level on 4th floor (I think) and ropey lifts - will the doors open or not?
I agree with a previous comment that there is a musty smell on the corridors: how about opening the windows, shampoo the carpet or just replace it?
Another maintenance issue: could only get one of 3 showers to work in male pool changing room: water saving sensor device is rubbish. Does anyone test it or are you just assuming it works?
Reception is little better than a Travelodge.
On a more positive note, Liked the restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Tedfordian,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of a recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort and the Blue Mountain Inn. We’re sorry to hear that you did not find the Inn met with your expectations, despite a complete refurbishment that generally receives positive feedback.

The corridors had all carpet replaced in late 2009, and is routinely shampooed during periods of lower occupancy. We will direct your concerns with change room showers and patio doors to our engineering associates for inspection and possible repair.

We are delighted to hear our reception associates provided you with memorable service and the quality of our products and services in the Pottery Restaurant, garnered a thumbs up from you.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    145
    70
    37
    16
See reviews for
113
107
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were given a gift certificate for this hotel and our first shock was the demand of full payment on a credit card when we made the reservation 6 months earlier ! It was a hassle getting a rebate on arrival to the credit card in order to use the gift certificate.Our room was not ready at check in (4pm) . We checked back just after 5 to be asked " Oh you did not get a call saying it was ready? That is a different department" The call notifying that the room was ready came 20 minutes after we were in the room. No apology though a 10% discount on the room was offered.
The front desk is unappealing as was the front entrance. The room was "tired" with a malfunctioning closet. Only the bathroom and shower were updated. The hall carpeting is old and there is no family / couple segregation in the hotel so noise is an issue. Checkout was slow as only one clerk was on the desk at peak checkout time.
The village and condos nearby were delightful.....management should take note !

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a condo rental instead of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moncoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear moncoer,

Thank you for providing this review on Trip Advisor following your visit to the Blue Mountain Inn at Blue Mountain Resort. It is not uncommon to be asked for a deposit at a holiday destination such as ours, despite having a gift certificate, this practice protects against last minute cancellations and assists us in managing our room inventory. It is generally a very simple process to provide a credit back to a guest account and unusual to hear that you encountered challenges in this regard.

We are sorry to hear we did not meet our goal of a 4pm check in, and share your disappointment with the conflicting messages provided by our associates. We will use your feedback in our coaching sessions with associates to ensure messages such as this are streamlined and do not adversely affect our guest experience. We want to assure you that the responses provided are not representative of our service quality or our commitment to the guest experience.

The Inn lobby was completely renovated in the fall of 2013; the guest rooms were also fully refurbished and completed in December of 2012. Generally we receive very positive feedback from our guests preferring the Inn over a Village suite or Mountain Home.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blue Mountains hotels

Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I recently stayed (August 2014) at the Blue Mountain Inn for 5 days.

It was a terrible experience.

This place is being managed like it's 1995.

1. No Wifi in rooms (what century is this?)
2. No microwave in rooms (I thought this was standard at this point at this price range).
3. The "fridge" in the room was terrible. The worst I have ever seen in any hotel.
4. The TV was so small and the picture quality was so bad! Has management even heard of digital TV let alone HD?
5. The room had clearly not been vacuumed when we checked in.
6. No AC in the common space on the 3rd floor. It felt stuffy and smelt weird.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snrmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Snrmgr,

Thank you for sharing your perspective on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort. We regret that you were dissatisfied with the lodging location, and several of the amenities. It is not uncommon at all, for hotels to levy a fee for wifi in their guest rooms. We do offer complimentary wifi in our hotel lobbies as well as our Pottery and Jozo’s restaurants. We refer to our free service as our “light wireless”, meaning it is adequate for limited internet activity such as checking e-mail and browsing the internet. The service offered in guest rooms is referred to as our “premium wireless”, which provides a much greater bandwidth, adequate for checking e-mail, browsing the internet and downloading media. The Inn guest rooms are not intended to allow for meal preparation and as such do not offer appliances other than the coffee maker & mini fridge, which is convenient for keeping some beverages cool and storing leftovers. We will be sure to alert our housekeeping associates to your observation, in that improved care could have been taken when vacuuming this room and to avoid a repeat of this service.

Yours in Hospitality
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited



James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

First time staying here. Friendly staff, good restaurant and clean room that exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Happy Valley Suite. We had a beautiful view of the mountains. Hotel was very quiet. The only real negative thing was the pool. It was not open and with no outdoor pool we were slightly disappointed. Hoping to fit in another weekend at this Hotel before summer end. Most importantly it was a short 5 minute walk to village.

Room Tip: The 'Happy Valley Suite' was well-worth the extra money. It is spacious with a separate bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear JudithToronto_Canada,

Thank you for this lovely review of your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort, we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The Happy Valley Suite is charming and does offer a nice view of the lush green mountains at this time of year. Yes, it was most unfortunate that the indoor pool at the Inn suffered a minor mechanical failure resulting in the need to drain and refill in order to make the repairs and has since been reopened. Yes, it is a pleasant 5 minute walk along a quiet street and you are in the Village.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the BMI for the weekend. It was a beautiful area for hikes and leisure. We enjoyed all the sights and shops around the area and especially enjoyed our day at the BM caves. Many restaurants to choose from ranging from high end to pub style food. Room rates were decent for the summer and service at the hotel was excellent. Also a beautiful beach you can spend the day at with a free shuttle service to and from the beach. Our room was amazing with a king size bed and my favourite part a bench in the shower. I would recommend this area of Ontario to all my friends and family and we look forward to heading back soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KINGB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear KINGB1981,

Thank you for this terrific review of your visit to Blue Mountain Resort, it really is a great place to relax and rejuvenate. The lush green landscape and serene hiking trails are a great way to challenge yourself before riding the Gondola down to the Village below and searching out the perfect dining establishment. The shuttle service allows ease of access around the resort and yes, all the way over to our private beach. We’re glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the inn for 1 night, in a king bed room. We were happy that the room was ready earlier as we arrived a couple of hours before check in. The staff was helpful and nice, the room was clean, bed was comfortable. The AC was a bit noisy, but we unplugged it altogether since it was quite chilly as it was, and we were fine.

At $160 bucks a night that we paid, I was disappointed that WiFi was a paid service ($12 bucks a day or $21 bucks for 3 days) and that there was no breakfast included. Parking was free though.

Overall, a good stay, but overpriced from my point of view.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Anya Z,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort on Trip Advisor. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Our associates are our backbone; they are passionate about making every guest experience a great one, thank you for acknowledging their services. Occasionally we see this comment; we do offer complimentary wifi in all hotel lobbies as well as the Pottery and Jozo’s restaurants. The free service is referred to as our “light service” offering an adequate bandwidth for checking e-mail and browsing the internet. The service we offer in our guest rooms is our premium wireless, with a much bigger bandwidth, adequate for checking e-mail, browsing the internet and downloading media.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We checked in at the Blue Mountain around 2:30, and our room was ready. We asked if we could be upgraded to a higher floor and they provided us with a mountain view room on their highest floor. When we entered, we were welcomed with an awful smell, that was not like the smell at the other hotels I have visited. It smelled like someone smoked in the room. When I entered I also realized some hairs on my bed and something stuck to the pillow which looked like a booger. I was disgusted. My Family never experienced anything so disgusting. To take our minds of, we later went relaxing in the hot tubs, the change rooms were so bad so I recommend changing in your room. Also, request for a room with a patio that walks out to the hot tubs. The hot tubs were quite good and the pool was deep, not recommended for small children. When we returned to our room, the heat was on and there was a burning smell. There were no operable windows so all I could do is open the main door and let air into the hall. I could hardly breathe. The bonuses though were the free shuttles, to the attractions including the beach. Anyways, I would rate the rooms poor and the attractions, services good. Tip: Eat on Collingwood, cheaper and only 10 minutes away
Tip: Request for a room with a patio that walks out to the hot tub( ask of its free)

Room Tip: Don't think the higher floors are better, I recommend rooms with a patio that walk out to the ho...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank antoinepriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at Blue Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear antoinepriest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort. We regret that you were disappointed in the room you were assigned, this should have been reported to us by our cleaning associates in advance of placing you in the unit. When a guest chooses to violate our non-smoking policy we levy a fee for additional cleaning required to purge the odor. We are disappointed to hear that our cleaning associates missed the mark on the clean linen, and creating a poor impression, this comment will be used by management in our ongoing coaching sessions to improve overall quality. Generally speaking we have been receiving very favorable feedback on the Inn rooms, particularly since they were completely refurbished. We have engineering associates on duty at all times, should a guest experience a mechanical issue, our internal call centre can be reached via a quick phone call to AYS and a dispatch will be issued to resolve any concerns.

Yours in Hospitality
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
2.7 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.5 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Inn

Property: Blue Mountain Inn
Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Blue Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Blue Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Collingwood
Blue Collingwood Mountain Resort
Blue Mountain Inn Blue Mountains, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing