We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but what's with the service?”
Review of Kikaku Sushi Bar

Kikaku Sushi Bar
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food but what's with the service?”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I went for dinner with a 10yr old. We managed to get a table, were told the bigger table next to us was reserved. Fine. We ordered from the lady and the waiting started. I ordered Edamame, plus some sushi etc. The 3 guys who arrived after us, got most probably my Edamame in the meantime. I had to inquire about mine and the lady was like "Oh, you ordered it?" Yes, i did and never got it. It arrived after i was half done with my sushi and i ended up taking it with me. And guess what, the bigger "reserved" table was still sititng empty. The lady's English wasn't clear and she messed up my order. It took her awhile to bring the dishes and I was ready to get those dishes myself. I was getting quite frustrated with the whole experience. Don't get me wrong, the food was good, it was the service I wasn't happy with.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torontogirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    18
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keswick
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dinner in the village”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stopped in to this quaint little Sushi Bar. The service was excellent as well as the food. Great value for the dollar.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rbkbwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Ever”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Best Sushi we have ever had by far. Very nice and friendly even had us try a creation he was working on. I can't say enough about this place! The place we ate at twice!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JessicaBrannagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The service was great and the food was good, but I was left expecting more. It was at best average as far as sushi goes and more expensive, so I was let down by the quality of the food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kristenumkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It Was Nice To Have Sushi But..........”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We love Sushi. We went to Kikaku and we were surprised at how expensive it is. Really. Way over the top for what you get. We always expect to pay a little more in these places for inferior food but this was really ridiculous. Check the menu and prices before you sit down and look around. Not terribly clean either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kikaku Sushi Bar also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to Kikaku Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing