We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and More”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location and More”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We knew Family Day weekend at Blue Mountain would be a zoo so we were pleasantly surprised at how well they handled the crowds. The Grand Georgian lobby also provides check-in for the Weider Lodge and Seasons at Blue (all 3 labelled "Village Suites"). They had about 8 check-in stations so there was no real line-up. As a guest in the Village you get free Ski Valet service and they were set up in the drive-way taking your equipment so you didn't have to lug skis & boards to your room or locker.

The hotel is really a condo so there are no porters, room service, coffee shop, etc. However, there is a quiet reading lounge, games room (coin operated video games), small gym, sauna, and outdoor patio with 2 large hot tubs and pool (closed for the winter). The hot tubs and sauna were a godsend after a day of skiing (try a visit after lunch when they're quiet)!

We had a two-bedroom suite which featured a master bedroom with it's own flat-screen TV and en suite bathroom (regular tub). Plus a second bedroom and bathroom (shower stall). No jacuzzis or soaker tubs. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. The living/dining area had a gas fireplace, second flat-screen TV & DVD player, large dining table with 6 chairs, pull-out sofa bed, and 2 easy chairs. A good sized balcony had 2 plastic chairs. No washer/dryer in the suite.

The central location is a two-edged sword. On one hand, you're very close to the Central Lodge (ski valet, equipment rental, etc.), main ski lift, and all the shops & restaurants of the Village. On the other hand, it can be noisy. We did hear party people late at night but it was no big deal. You wake up then fall back asleep. By the second night, we were so tired after skiing, we slept through the night. But a sound machine or earplugs may be an idea. We turned on the room fan for a little white noise. But there was no thumping disco and our room neighbours were quiet. A well-stocked grocery store is next to the hotel (they even have DVD rental). Personally, we liked the energy of over-looking the busy village streets.

Skiing at Blue Mountain is as good as it gets in Ontario. And during a long-weekend you just have to accept the crowds. The lift lines could be brutal but the staff did a good job of loading efficiently and if you use the Singles line you move much faster. We would ski from 9 - 11:30 AM then take a long mid-day break for lunch, hot tub, and stroll through the village. Then back on the slopes late afternoon and/or night skiing.

There's no question you're paying top dollar. Like Mt. Tremblant, if you want the village experience and quality accommodation, it costs. And although we stayed at the excellent Sommet des Neiges in Tremblant last year, we found the Grand Georgian compared favourably. The much much shorter drive means you can go for a weekend. And for our intermediate level of skiing, Blue offered plenty of challenges. Also, we liked the selection of shops in the Blue village better than Tremblant, which seemed to cater to only the super rich! We'll return to Blue and the Grand Georgian.

Room Tip: Avoid the huge line for Beaver Tails in the village by going to the location at the top of the South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainResort, VP Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear BJFToronto,

Thank you for posting such a glowing commentary of your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort. You have provided such a thorough and detailed review of our facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Blue.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    125
    46
    21
    20
See reviews for
124
75
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and couldn't have booked a better place than Grand Georgian. From start to finish it was Grand. They even sent us a bottle of wine and chocolates to our room to celebrate the occasion. The staff were so helpful and courteous....the room was very comfortable with a Fireplace in the Living Room, Dining and Kitchen. Our room had a great view overlooking the slopes of Blue Mountain and the pool courtyard. Location is right in the Village........steps away for a late night stroll and dining.
Overall a great experience

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainResort, VP Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Jabri,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor users, we are delighted that we contributed in a positive manner to your very special occasion and provided the prefect venue to celebrate your special day.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The rooms here are very comfortable, pretty basic and clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with our 2 young kids enjoying a long weekend skiing at Blue Mountain. The location can't be beat - you are steps away from the ski lifts and right in the middle of the Village, where all the restaurants and shops are. The skiing is not the best, but pretty good for what Ontario has to offer. The one bedroom suite has a kitchen, so we could get up early and prepare a full and healthy breakfast right in the room. There is a tv, fireplace and a comfortable couch (not so comfortable as a pull out bed, but the kids managed OK).
The only downside was the late night noise. People leaving the bars late at night would walk around the village and occasionally stand right outside our room (2 floors down) and scream and laugh and talk for hours which was really irritating since we wanted to get early starts to our ski days. Ask for a room that is on the quieter side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on one of the main streets of the Village so that you avoid the late nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellypop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainResort, VP Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Geejay123,

Thank you for taking a moment to express your candid view of a recent experience staying at Blue Mountain Resort; we appreciate your feedback and are certain Trip Advisor readers are glad to view your first hand comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our lodging facilities and agree that a pullout couch is better suited for young children.

You raise a very good point in respect to the late night noise, and we regret if this impacted your experience. Blue Mountain offers a diverse and active village atmosphere, however we do recognize that at times the noise generated by some patrons may cause a disturbance. If you are sensitive to noise, then requesting a room away from the Village is a good suggestion.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Everything with the room was fine but the problem was with the check in area and the noise. The check in area, on Friday evening was packed full of high school students; to check into some of the other hotels, people had to come to the reception of this hotel. There were no luggage carts and the check in area was chaos.

Because there were so many students, there was loud and constant noise. Students having parties, running through the halls. Definitely not a place for families with young children.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goingplaces11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The staff at this hotel are exceptional. Esthetically, the hotel is 3.5 stars, but people like Kate at the front desk make this a 5 star experience.
The village is fun, the skiing, so-so.
But the rooms are comfortable and everyone at the Hotel is wonderful.
Kate went out of her way to help.
The housekeeper somehow kept up on the suite despite our mess.
the only criticism I have is with the fitness center, its just tiny.
Everything else was phenomenal.

Room Tip: Facing the slopes is nice at night. Convenient to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Grand Georgian Village over the Christmas break. What a fantastic 3 night short vacation. The staff was amazing the rooms were incredibly comfy and clean.
The kids loved the skiing and boarding. I put my 7yr old in their kids camp for snow boarding lessons and he had an absolute blast!!!

My only beef is that once you are in the Village where there are many shops and restaurants you cannot charge anything to your room. That was an inconveience.

But just so you know how great it was...we are going agian during the March break for a weekend!

Room Tip: stay in rooms right in the village so either Grand Georgian, Mosaic or wintergreen. That way you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schoolchef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband, 9 month old daughter and I stayed at the Grand Georgian on the evenings of Dec 29th and Dec 30th, 2011.

We had a number of issues with our stay. Firstly, after the long drive our baby was upset and we wanted to get to our room quickly. With a baby, as you can imagine, you have a lot more baggage than usual. There were no luggage carts on the main level so the person at check-in told us to drive into the underground and there would some there. There were not any there either and my baby was getting increasingly upset. We went back to the main level and asked a different front desk person for help. She told us “they are obviously in use, ride the elevator to the various floors and maybe you will find one there”. I was appalled. We paid $350 per night to stay at the Grand Georgian which is more than we paid per night at the Fairmont in Hawaii which had outstanding service. The last thing I wanted to hear was to ride the elevator and find one ourselves. In the end, my husband ended up carrying everything up one-by-one.

Next to our room was a group of people that were hosting a party in their room. They had blaring music from 6:00pm to 11:30pm that was so loud through the walls that my baby was crying and none of us could sleep. We called “at your service” 3 times to complain about the noise. Each time they said that they would do something but nothing changed. Finally, at 11:30pm it stopped. Just when we had all fallen asleep, there was loud banging at the door. My husband ran down to see and there was no one there but there were people laughing heading to the elevator. It must have been the neighbours or someone else playing a joke by banging at our door. My baby daughter was hysterical by this point.

We also called around 10pm to find out how to close the curtains on the upper windows in our room. The girl that answered said that she had been there 6 months and that no one had ever asked her that before and she had no idea. She asked others that had also no idea. Finally, she offered to send someone to our room to search and figure it out. Since it was so late, we were in our pajamas and our baby was upset from the noise, we declined and my husband searched every switch himself and found it. We were surprised at the staff’s lack of knowledge regarding the rooms.

Due to all of the noise, our baby slept all morning the next day and we weren’t able to leave our room until almost 1:00pm. We went down to the lobby and asked to speak to a manager. He listened to our story and checked to see if the people in 423 were checked out. They were, so he assured us that the noise should end for our second night. He also said that due to all of our issues, he would adjust our account to make up for everything.

On the morning of Dec 31 we went to check-out. When we heard the amount outstanding, we were shocked as it was clear that no adjustment had been made as promised. We told Ben at the front desk the whole story and that the manager was supposed to make an adjustment. He said nothing had been done and there were no notes so went to ask another manager on duty. They didn’t know either but he believed our story so he personally made a 50% reduction on our first night’s stay. Ben’s help that morning was the only good service we had received the entire trip.

Our plan was to get away for a few days and relax. Unfortunately, this was not our experience. We would never return and we would not recommend Blue Mountain facilities to people that have very young families. For $350 per night, there should be at least bell boys to help families with their luggage. If we paid $100 per night, our expectations would be lower but the rates and lack of service are not aligned.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LVKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.3 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
347 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort

Property: The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort
Address: 156 Jozo Weider Blvd | The Village at Blue Mountain, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Georgian, in the middle of the Village at Blue, is fashioned after a historic railway hotel, with 189 suites ranging in size from studios to 3 bedroom. Every suite features high-speed wireless internet access, in-room movies, a DVD player, flat screen LCD TV. Guests also have exclusive access to secure underground parking, games room, 2 outdoor hot tubs (open year round), outdoor pool (summer only), fitness room and sauna. Bachelor, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites include a fireplace, fully furnished kitchen and a balcony or patio. Studio units (regular size hotel rooms) have a kitchenette (small fridge, small sink, microwave, toaster, kettle, dishes and cutlery). Larger units (1 bedroom or larger) have a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Grand Georgian Blue Mountain
Grand Georgian Collingwood
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort Blue Mountains, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing