We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for the price!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Port Elgin, Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice location for the price!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a little mini vacation with the wife. Location is great with the village and activity center right there. Pool and hot tubs are nice. Service was great. Room was bigger and nicer than expected and the underground parking was a blessing as the main lots were full. The bed was two twins pushed together with an obvious seam in the middle but that's the only knock on this place I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinchy_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear pinchy_79,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort, it’s the perfect destination for a mini or extended vacation. The convenient access to a Village bustling with events, activities, as well as unique dining and retail outlets is ideal. Yes, the outdoor parking can become crowded at times making the underground option very appealing. Yes, this is a bit of a unique option called a split king, it can be made up as two singles on request depending on guest needs, or as a king using a padded topper to eliminate the gap.

Yours in Hospitality
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    128
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
130
76
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great 3 day mini vacation at the Grand Georgian. Booked through Blue Mountain website for the summer saving deal, didn't know where we would be put up other than it would be a 1 bedroom with den in the village. Upon check in found it was the Georgian. Free under ground parking right at the condo, easy access to the village shops, restaurants, activities. Room was large with fireplace, outside balcony, king size bed, pull out in den, and pull out in family room. Could have easily slept 4 to 6 in room. Kitchenette was not used, but if we return will bring drinks, snacks. It's nice to try the many restaurants at the resort. Didn't get in the car until we checked out. So much to do right there at the village. Would definitely return next summer if there is another summer saving package. As for people complaining about inferior toilet paper and Kleenex, yes it was not a higher brand, but if that is something you are going to complain about, then you should be staying and paying for a 5 star resort, not a rental condo.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Shalea00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Shalea00,

Great review, lots of great detail that will be very helpful for Trip Advisor fans, following your recent stay at Blue Mountain Resort and the Grand Georgian. The rooms and location to our Village is the perfect recipe for a one stop getaway, testimony to your comment about parking the car and not moving it again until it’s time to leave for home. Our creative sales and marketing teams are always busy coming up with a specials and packages that will appeal to our guests, you can be sure there will be something of interest next summer.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited



James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nothing great about this place other than the location. The rooms are an OK size with kitchen and balcony but the amenities are cheap. The room was clean upon arrival but the maid service during our stay was very poor. Kitchen not cleaned up. Coffee maker - removed the filter but didn't clean out the basket. Didn't straighten up even the couch pillows. Left used mugs on the counter. Worst though was the pullout couch bed. BRUTAL!!! DO NOT stay here if you need the extra bed as you will be shocked how bad they have allowed them to get. Pullouts are never the most comfortable but trust me this is beyond uncomfortable. Inexcusable as the front desk told us upon checking in that the sofa bed would be a good option because we weren't given a double room with our reservation for some reason.

Room Tip: Do not plan to use the pullout bed!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamFromCanadaEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Hospitality at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear IamfromCanadaEH,

Thank you for this feedback, we value all guest comments and the time taken to post a review to assist others using Trip Advisor when planning a holiday. Our standard housekeeping service during a stay in the Village, “daily refresh” consists of removal of soiled linens, mind you, in the interest of thinking green, we post notice of the option to hang used towels and reuse, towels left in the tub or on the floor will be removed and replaced. The trash will be removed, beds made, provided there are no personal belongings on the bed, if there is our associates will not touch personal items and will not be able to make the bed. Following every third night of a stay, we provide a full service clean which will include new linens, dust & vacuum, full kitchen clean, full bathroom clean and trash removal.

With regard to the pullout couch, we cannot argue, they cannot provide the same level of comfort as a full size bed with box spring and mattress. That said, we are in the process of sourcing an insert for this size couch to replace existing inserts and in the interim we can provide a padded topper that will bring the comfort level to that of an 8 inch mattress, similar to those found at the other Village hotels. If it was a room with two doubles you were interested in, the Blue Mountain Inn is the only location at our resort offering this configuration.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms have mini kitchens that are fully operational with fridge stove dishwasher microwave, coffee maker, cutlery, gas fireplace to warm up.

Rooms looked clean upon closer inspection we saw crayons left on the carpet from one of the previous stays. The Staff should pay closer attention when cleaning the rooms.

Carpet was buckling in some spots.

When sports teams are staying over for tournaments it is really noisy even with doors closed and tv on. Ask to be placed in a quiet area away from sports teams so you can sleep. I should have asked when I noticed how noisy it was. (Kids running the halls, jumping, yelling)

Nice underground parking plenty of parking.

Minutes from the ski hill close to amenities.

Would stay again if I received special pricing. If I had to pay full price I think I would think it over.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Lodging at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear JustinK,

Thank you for sharing this feedback with our many Trip Advisor readers, your comments and suggestions are very helpful. The rooms are well appointed and offer all the comforts of home away from home. Oh dear that is most unfortunate, finding crayons from prior guests is not the quality of service we strive to provide. We will be sure to share this feedback with our cleaning associates and encourage greater attention to detail. Yes we do occasionally have sports groups staying with us and at times children are left unsupervised, your recommendation is a good one, requesting a room away from potential noise. The underground is definitely a nice feature, particularly when the weather is cold and snowy.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

James Henry
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

And facial tissues!
While this hotel provides a quite decent one bedroom suite with attached kitchen, it is obvious that profit is more important that guest comfort. The "no-name" toilet paper provided was of the most inexpensive and inferior quality. While it was a 2 ply paper it was so thin that it resembled 1 ply toilet paper.
The same could be said for the "no-name" facial tissues provided with the suite.

One mark of a good hotel is the quality of the towels. At the Grand Georgian the towels were worn and ready for replacement.

While wireless internet is available, it must be purchased and is overpriced:

24 hours for $9.95 or 3 days for $17.95

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripDocror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Lodging at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear TripDocror,

Thank you for your comments; we trust they will provide assistance to others considering a visit to Blue Mountain Resort. On a quick review of past and current postings, we are pressed to find similar remarks in respect to the quality of paper products and linens provided in our lodging units. We will certainly monitor our guest feedback for similar remarks.

With regards to our internet services, we provide complimentary wifi in public spaces such as our hotel lobbies, as well as the restaurants at the Blue Mountain Inn, The Pottery and Jozo’s. Our complimentary service is what we call “light wireless internet”, offering a bandwidth adequate for checking e-mail and browsing the internet. In our guest rooms we offer “premium wireless internet” for a fee, the bandwidth of this service is more than adequate for checking e-mail, browsing the internet and downloading media.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
480 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is attractive, clean, modern and quiet and is located right in the Blue Mountain resort. Rooms are spacious and clean with quiet air conditioners and comfortable beds. The front desk staff are friendly and efficient. I found the prices to be a little high for an off-season visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Lodging at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Geoscientist,

Great review of your recent experience here a Blue, thank you for taking the time to share with other Trip Advisor readers. The Village hotels are very well appointed and really do offer all the comforts of home and right in the heart of a quaint little Village bursting with activities and unique retail and dining options. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and hope you’ll be back again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just recently stayed in the Seasons at Blue section of the Grand Georgian hotel in a one-bedroom suite. The room is quite large and had a full kitchen which made it convenient to cook breakfast. I have stayed in the Village at Blue Mountain and the rooms are always clean with comfy beds, but this was our first time sleeping on a pull-out bed and we were quite disappointed. As we booked a one bedroom suite with another couple, my boyfriend and I slept on the pull-out bed while the other couple slept in the room with a queen size bed. The pull-out bed was HORRIBLE!! I have lower back problems and my boyfriend works construction so our first night was disastrous. The pull-out bed was curved in the middle and the springs poked our backs. We even tried putting the couch cushions on top but it still curved and made it incredibly uncomfortable. We ended up booking a separate room for the second night which I was able to talk the front desk into giving us a 10% discount, but still had to dish out an extra $160. The hotel really needs to fix this problem as I am sure we are not the first people to complain about this. Other than that the customer service is great and its a nice place to stay. If you plan on staying in Blue Mountain, definitely get the spa package with the Scandinave Spa, it is a very relaxing experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Vice President of Lodging at The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Elvira F

Thank you for taking the time to post a synopsis of your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resort on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. The rooms are well appointed and offer great convenience for preparing anywhere from a snack to a full blown meal as well as all the other comforts of home. You’re absolutely right, we do see this comment from time to time and regret that you had a less than comfortable night of rest. The pullout beds in this hotel will be upgraded to a thicker insert during their upcoming refurbishment, similar to that of the other Village hotels and will provide the comfort of an 8” mattress at that time. In the interim we are able to provide a topper that achieves this level of thickness and regret that you were not provided with one. Ideally, a pullout bed cannot offer the same comfort and support as that of a full size mattress and box spring, particularly for adults, small children don’t generally have issue with the pullouts. Ahhh yes, the Scandinave Spa is a wonderful and relaxing experience in a pristine location, a perfect way to spend a few hours and come away feeling ultra-relaxed.

Yours in Hospitality,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


James Henry
Vice President of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.3 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
355 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
305 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.8 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort

Property: The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort
Address: 156 Jozo Weider Blvd | The Village at Blue Mountain, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Georgian, in the middle of the Village at Blue, is fashioned after a historic railway hotel, with 189 suites ranging in size from studios to 3 bedroom. Every suite features high-speed wireless internet access, in-room movies, a DVD player, flat screen LCD TV. Guests also have exclusive access to secure underground parking, games room, 2 outdoor hot tubs (open year round), outdoor pool (summer only), fitness room and sauna. Bachelor, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites include a fireplace, fully furnished kitchen and a balcony or patio. Studio units (regular size hotel rooms) have a kitchenette (small fridge, small sink, microwave, toaster, kettle, dishes and cutlery). Larger units (1 bedroom or larger) have a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Grand Georgian Blue Mountain
Grand Georgian Collingwood
The Grand Georgian - Blue Mountain Resort Blue Mountains, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing