We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked and Discusting”

Blue Mountain Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Blue Mountain Village is located in the Town of the Blue Mountains, nestled between the charming communities of Collingwood and Thornbury, at the foot of Ontario's largest mountain resort, Blue Mountain. The Village offers a vibrant social and cultural scene combining unique attractions, dining and shopping experiences. There is ALWAYS something to do at BLUE including five hotels, 25 retailers, 25 cafes & restaurants, year round award winning Festivals and Events plus Activity Central to book your hiking, biking, caving, climbing, spa, and more!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shocked and Discusting”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was away with my boyfriend last weekend, and we were in The Village at MJ Byrne's Irish Pub and when we were coming out of the pub we experienced a horrifc scene. There were about 15 security men outside of this pub and about 4 - 5 of them had a gentleman on the ground handcuffed. We did talk to some of his friends there and heard the whole story of what happened from a couple of them. You have to understand this group of tourist were in their mid 40's to 50's and to what I understood, some of them frequent The Village often. The security guys were on a rampage to hurt or flex their muscles. Experiencing this really turned me off of coming to Blue Mountain Village. :(

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank 2014LisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainVillage, Director, Marketing & Events at Blue Mountain Village, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We are discussing this matter with Security and reviewing the security camera footage of this incident. We can assure you that Security Staff engaged in the Village are highly trained and have the sole goal of maintaining guest safety and enjoyment. We do hope you visit the Village again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    228
    59
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not exactly like Whistler or Tremblant, but good enough for Ontarians”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Not exactly like Whistler or Tremblant, but good enough for Ontarians who needs to find a decent resort in Ontario.

Great restaurants at this village, I strongly recommend Copper Blues & Magnone's.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony_Chien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minesing, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ski Conditions.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you are looking for a great ski destination don't go to Blue Mountain. All they do is run the snow making guns day and night, so in cold weather you can't see, and what they call their man made snow is like skiing through cement.
If you ask their management why they can't have the snow guns going on half the hills, and not all, they would tell you it allows them to extend thier season into March.
Where is the logic in ruining half the ski season to extend the season into March.
If you wish to ski there only go on weekends (no snow guns) when it is so busy all you do is stand in line, and not ski.
This has gone on for years.
If you are considering a great ski holiday at Blue Mountain, save your money and go somewhere else.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wandering the Village”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Blue Mountain Village is great for wandering. Shopping and nature all in one place. The Village is easy to navigate and is great for accessibility.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MCAT00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Blue Mountain Village”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Blue Mountain Village situated close to the shores of Georgian Bay just west of Collingwood, is a very charming village where one will be fascinated by the beautiful setting of the various establishments. There are a number of hotels, shops and restaurants all set in a eye-catching way. The hills in the backdrop and the ponds within the village gives the village a fantastic look. I with a friend stayed at the 'Seasons At Blue', a nice comfortable time-share hotel. A nice, very appropriate place to unwind or spend time on physical activities. The last few days of Oct is a period when there are few people as it is the transition time between the summer and winter activity phases.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sayeedac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Mountain Village also viewed

 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to Blue Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing