We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a family rest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seoul
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place for a family rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent a night with my family in one of the suite rooms. Found everything to be great. Their was a heated pool for outdoor swims in the cool fall weather, great restaurants in the hotel and the village around the mountains. The rooms were super comfortable, big and had a full fridge and stove etc so we could have a simple breakfast in the room. Ideal for families and kids.

Lots to do all year round. Would love to go back when I have a chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrazierSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMRVP, Vice President of Lodging, Blue Mountain Resorts at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear GrazierSeoul,

Thank you for commenting on your family visit to the Westin Trillium House. We are pleased that the hotel and resort met your expectations. We would most certainly love to see you back again when you find the time.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, Vice President of Lodging,
Blue Mountain Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    374
    130
    53
    35
See reviews for
493
392
12
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I went on my birthday weekend with my family and had a fantastic couple nights stay. The Westin Trillium House is one of the best family friendly accomodations in the Blue Mountain Resort. Offering a fun stay with activities geared for people with kids. Our hotel room was excellent. We were upgraded to a 2-bedroom condo on the 3rd floor and this was a surprise plus. It had a fully equipped kitchen and we had cooked dinner the 1st night from groceries bought from the Village Market just across the House. The view from the balcony was cool as you can see the Village from across the pond amid fall colors. Try to rise early and see the view at dawn. The Village (plaza, shops, restaurants, mountain activities) is a few minutes walk from the House. We really enjoyed the Village amenities. A good selection of shopping and dining. A frequent stop is Starbucks on Jozo Weider street. My personal favorite was the Mile High Poutine next door offering variety of poutine concoctions. The view of the Village and the House from the Mill Pond dockside is just amazing at night, one of the simple pleasures being in this resort. There are a few bars (Kaytoo, MJ Byrne's, Rusty's) that are open late night with live DJ/bands and for a pint or two. On dining, we went for family dinner the 2nd night at the Oliver & Bonacini Cafe and Grill at the ground floor. It has patio dining as well for warmer nights. We ordered food, the appetizers and entrees are very good. Our wait staff was very friendly and entertaining. The best part was the dessert - Apple and Wild Blueberry Crumble - delicious! It was my birthday treat and they wrote in icing 'Happy Birthday' on the plate, which was very thoughtful for guests having celebrations. On other amenities, there is underground parking for $15/day and Internet (using Wi-Fi) is extra. If you are staying 2-nights get the 3-day pass which is same price as 2 individual day passes. It gives access to 3 devices. You can use it til after you check out if you plan to hang around the Village. Overall, this was the best vacation ever in a World-Class resort amenties within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the village. The right side has a better view of the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMRVP, Vice President of Lodging, Blue Mountain Resorts at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Edison V,

It is always such a pleasure to read reviews such as yours! The details, insight and guidance that you have provided our Tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated as it makes our jobs so much easier. Thank you so very much for commenting and we certainly do look forward to a return visit the next time you are visiting Ontario.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, Vice President of Lodging
Blue Mountain Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I attended the resort as a part of a work conference. It could not have been better!
The hotel and food was amazing. Then when ou factor in the surrounding village you have a world class experience.
I would highly recommend this resort as a business retreat or a personal retreat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGM1498, Vice President of Lodging, Blue Mountain Resorts at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear C B,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your conference visit to the Westin Trillium House. We ar very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope to see you visit again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, Vice President of Lodging
Blue Mountain Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My first ever complaint in all of my 40 years of traveling.......

We used to spend our x-mas holiday at this hotel, however we have now changed our yearly
x-mas ski holiday to another Hotel after many years going to Westin Trillium Blue Mountain.

The main reason we have decided to change our yearly ski trip and not go back to The Westin Trillium is the Manager who runs this hotel. A Mr. James Henry

The last trip we made to this hotel was by far the worst experience I have ever come across in all my travels.
We ran into an issue on our last visit and when we approached this manager to voice our concern we were confronted by a very angry and arrogant manager who would not let us talk as he was way to busy yelling at my wife who was trying to explain what we were upset about. Till this day I seriously doubt he ever heard what our issue was.

If you look at some of the complaints regarding this Hotel (on the Hotel website) you can see how he knows exactly who you are and who you dealt with ( mandatory to put your spg # so you can not place an anonymous complaint)
This manager "James Henry" will back up his employees before you have even voiced your concern. He does not solve the complaint with any respect in the least but rather lecture you on the fact that his employees are the best.

How on earth does this man named "James Henry" supposed General manager ever get this job and still have it till this day is beyond us.

As part of my job I travel extensively, this year alone I have 84 nights at the Marriott. I will never stay in a SPG Hotel again based solely on our interaction with this manager, "James Henry" alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchsteffi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGM1498, Vice President of Lodging - Blue Mountain Resorts at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear dutchsteffi001,

Thank you for taking the time to post a commentary regarding your December visit to the Westin Trillium House. I must admit that I was a bit taken aback by your rather focused attack on me (especially since it has been nearly 10 months since your visit) however as you noted in your review I do take pride in responding to the vast majority of our commentators and will certainly do so in this instance.

While I can appreciate your wish for anonymity in your post it makes it very difficult if not impossible to respond fairly or accurately, especially when the commenter fails to indicate the root cause of their concern. Luckily in this instance a quick online search of your login nickname directed me to my files documenting our conversation last year. I recall quite clearly the telephone conversation that was had with your wife and would like to provide some context to your post for the benefit of our online readers.

If I recall correctly I was initially contacted regarding concerns that you and your wife had during your stay surrounding our lack of fire extinguishers in our guest suites as well as our fire safety guidelines and procedures. As I indicated then we do not stock fire extinguishers in our suites due to the fact that the life safety equipment and monitoring system that we employ far exceed the standards set for us by the Provincial Fire Code and are in line with our Starwood Hotels brand standards. Not only are our suites sprinklered but they also contain carbon monoxide detectors and centrally monitored smoke detectors. In addition to this our fully trained emergency response team are ready to respond to any incident that might occur. The fact that we do not allow smoking or open flame in any of our suites further contributes to the safety and security of our guests.

Your concerns stemmed from the fact that contrary to our policies you chose to utilize a fondue set during your stay with open flame, liquid fuel and boiling oil. You indicated to me that the fondue set was accidently knocked over during its use, spilling flaming fuel, hot oil and the heated frame onto the table and surrounding carpet. It is due to the possibility of this type of incident occurring that we do not allow open flame in our guest rooms. While we do not necessarily speak to this guideline during the arrival process, we do indicate in our published guest room compendiums that open flames are not allowed for fire safety reasons.

Subsequent to your departure from the hotel (you departed without indicating to us that this accident occurred - nor did you contact us when the accident happened) and upon inspection of the suite and the damages caused we placed a modest hold on your credit card until the eventual cost of the damages could be determined. Your wife took issue with this and asserted that your personal safety was at risk due to our lack of fire extinguishers and felt that restitution for damages were unwarranted. Although I understand how traumatic this experience must have been the matter could have been avoided in the first place.

The reality of the matter is that your actions endangered your own wellbeing, that of our guests, this hotel and our associates, not to mention the damage that was caused by this accident. Not only were there costs incurred for the repair of the damaged furniture and replacement of the carpet but we were forced to remove the unit from inventory during our busy Christmas season while repairs were made resulting in significant displacement of revenue.

In the end you have posted your perspective and opinion regarding me personally. While I do not recall the telephone call being as you have described I certainly can understand where your perspective stems from and can acknowledge your view. As with all guests you are certainly entitled to your opinion.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment as it has allowed me to respond in kind. Please do feel free to contact me personally should you wish to discuss the matter further.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, Vice President of Lodging
Blue Mountain Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a great weekend, all the associates we extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are great , comfortable and well equipped. The resort is so conveniently located, great restuarant Highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCLCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear TheComries,

Thank you for the accolades and the recomendations!! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, Vice President of Lodging
Blue Mountain Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are now booking for the 2013-14 ski season! Absolutely gorgeous resort! Friendly and courteous staff! Great assistance from the valet gents! Would highly recommend this for a family friendly vacation spot!

Room Tip: overlooking the skating rink and village is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deewr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear deewr,

Thank you so very much for posting your comments on line for our Tripadvisor readers. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again when the snow flies.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

one of the best hotels we have stayed in,rooms large and well kitted out,only a short walk from main village.staff excellent and very knowledgeable about local area,even had maps printed of how to avoid road closures on days of cycle race ,would recommend this hotel if planning to stay in blue mountain area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinGM1498, General Manager at Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear sdc_13,

We were happy to hear that you truly enjoyed your visit during the Centurion Cycling Event and that our team and the property met your needs and expectations. We most certainly look forward to a future visit.

Yours in Hospitality,
James Henry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.6 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
1.0 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain

Property: Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
Address: 220 Gord Canning Drive, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 0V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Trillium House, Blue Mountain, just two hours northwest of Toronto is nestled between the shores of Georgian Bay and the heights of the Niagara Escarpment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Hotel Blue Mountains
Westin Collingwood
Westin Trillium Hotel Blue Mountain
Collingwood Westin
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain Blue Mountains, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing