We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Rooms: Not much to do with Small Children”
Review of Mosaic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mosaic
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Rooms: Not much to do with Small Children”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We (wife, 2 kids aged 5 and 2) stayed in a 1 Bedroom Loft in the newer building - Mosaic for 2 nights on August 28-29, 2013. Upon check-in, the front reception person by the name of Lindsay was great - very friendly. She mentioned that my room was facing the construction zone, and when i asked her to check into another option, she did and hooked us up with a room facing the village. So when we got to our "better" room, we found that it had a Queen which isn't what we wanted. So we called down and Lindsay had the card ready for our orginal room. When we go there, it was steaming hot. The AC wasn't working. We called down again, and the person on the phone told us that someone will eventually check it out. However, we wanted to unpack and asked them to rush this, or put us in another room. The person on the phone was a complet jack [--] - very condescending. Only after my wife get seriously pi$$ed, the person told us that we could have a look at another room. So, I did and found that it was directly in front of the contruction zone. Apparently, there were no other options left which is totally [--] as our AC guy (very nice guy who eventually fixed it) told us there were probably some left, in a higher category. The bottom line is that the hotel could have upgraded us due to the major inconveniences, but rather they were too cheap to do anything about it.
I would NEVER stay at this place again - probably go to the Westin.
In terms of activities, not much to do with 2 and 5 years olds, other than hang out at Plunge which my 5 year old loved. But she's not picky. It was just OK.
Food at Tholos was horrible for the price. Service was definatley not what i'm used to.
Not much evening entertainment for kids. They were supposed to play ET, but ended up with After Earth, a crappy Will Smith movie. People left pretty soon after the movie started.

I was told some good things about BM, but I believe our initial experience with Mosaic tarnished things. If they upgraded us, for wasting almost 2 hours of our time, it may have been a slightly better story.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DudefromOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear DudefromOakville,

Thank you for your very detailed accounting of a recent trip to Blue Mountain Resorts, we welcome our guest feedback and use all comments to improve our services where we can. Thank you for mentioning Lindsay and the great service she provided, we will be sure to recognize her efforts. We are very sorry to hear you encountered some frustration with room assignments and construction on the resort. We are in the midst of a large expansion to our conference facility; as such it can be a challenge at times to ensure a location for every guest away from this view. There is never a good time to have construction taking place but it is necessary for growth and improved services in the future. While we understand and realize our guests might find it hard to believe, we have experienced ongoing room sell outs across the resort all summer long, making a reassignment or upgrade difficult at the best of times.

It is odd to read a comment about activities, more often than not we hear our guests praising the bounty of things to do for all ages and in particular younger children. It does happen on occasion, the scheduled movie is not available or defective, rare, but it happens and an alternative is provided, we are sorry this happened and caused your family disappointment.

As for Tholos, this is an independently operated restaurant and generally garners fabulous feedback, we are sorry to hear this location did not meet with your satisfaction and will ensure the business owner is made aware of your comments.

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    142
    55
    20
    12
See reviews for
157
82
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed at Blue Mountain many times before (Grand Georgian, Rivergrass and Seasons at Blue). This time we spent 2 nights at Mosaic. The room had a view of the construction site in front but at least it was quiet. The room was nicely decorated and furnished and we had a balcony. All of the doors did not close properly and some of them squeaked, which was a bit irritating. This is a basic maintenance issue and it should be addressed, especially the front door. The bathroom was nice with lots of good quality towels. However the water pressure was terrible so taking a shower was frustrating and took longer than it needed to. Housekeeping was good throughout the stay but when we arrived we did have to remove a dirty tissue from under the sofa. The sofa bed should be replaced. It goes without say that a pull-out sofa isn’t as comfortable as a bed but the mattress was lopsided with springs protruding. It was difficult to find the pillows and blanket for the sofa bed. We finally found them in the chest, which serves as a coffee table. Check-in/out was friendly and efficient. Free wi-fi in the lobby only.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear PB&PA

Thank you for taking the time to post these helpful comments for our Trip Advisor readers, your comments are well taken. They allow us to coach staff and increase awareness of items to inspect during regular cleaning and routine inspections. We apologize for the view of construction; however we cannot deny our excitement, as we move closer to this expansion of our existing conference facility.

Yes, on occasion during peak periods, the increased demand can impact water pressure to our guest rooms.

You’re absolutely right, the pullouts are not the ideal sleeping set up for adults, they are suitable for younger children, and regardless the one in your lodging unit should have been in proper working order, we will certainly be more mindful of identifying those that are in need of repair or replacement.

We are embarrassed to hear that you found a tissue underneath the sofa; this is not the high standard of quality we intend to deliver and share your dissatisfaction with this oversight. We will be sure to direct this comment to our housekeeping leadership to be used in daily briefings as a reminder to the team.

We’re glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay and hope these oversights will not deter you from a return trip.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our family including our 1 year old son recently stayed at Mosaic for 3 nights. Overall the trip was great. I won't get into the details of the village but it was nice with lots to do. I'll focus on the hotel itself. The hotel was nice. I was in touch with Alvard before our trip and he ensured that our room requests were met including having a fold out crib waiting in our room on arrival. We had a few issues with our room including a door that rattled and a bath tub that didn't hold water. We requested them both to be serviced however neither was during our 3 day stay. I attended back to the front desk and Kevin was very empathetic and handled my concerns. The pool and hot tub were nice but busy. The TV in the hotel room was a cheap Zenith LCD with very poor reception that was staticy and fuzzy. The room overall was well maintained however it would be nice to see and upgrade in the TV department with a nice mounted TV above the fireplace for the parents that are stuck in their room after the kids are down for the night. Mosaic is right in the village so you're close to everything you need. The kitchenette in our room was handy for making breakfasts and lunches but we opted to go out for dinner every night. Overall it was an enjoyable vacation and we're already talking about making it an annual trip for our family.

Room Tip: For a quieter experience request a room that doesn't face the pool. A kid pushed the alarm butto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear aliemac,

Thank you for this feedback, we’re happy to hear your trip was a great success. The Village is full of things to do and see and the area is loaded with charming towns and villages that beckon visitors to the area. We are very sorry to hear you experienced any deficiencies and worse yet that our service staff were unable to attend in a timely manner and make the necessary repairs to ensure your comfort, this is not the standard of service we wish to provide and apologize for the frustration this caused. We have dispatched staff to this unit to make the repairs and inspect for any other concerns.

This lodging property is not yet due for a complete refurbishment; however we can put forth your suggestion in regards to the television for the owner’s consideration as they plan for this project.

Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our staff provided empathetic and caring services and that you are considering making this an annual destination for your family, great news!

Yours truly,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Mosaic for two night on the weekend of August 9 to 11. Overall our family of four, which includes two children under 10 found the Blue Mountain resort to be an excellent facility with lots to do for everyone, and I have nothing but good to say about the activities, shops, restaurants, and overall resort.
However our experience at the hotel as you might tell from the title of my review was a tale of two extremes. We rented a one bedroom suite with den, and our initial assessment of the hotel was that it was a very nice facility; the fully contained suite was very spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. The full kitchen and dining was great giving us the option to prepare meals or eat out in one of the many restaurants at the resort.
All was good until the sun went down, and the music started to blast from the martini bar across from our room. We assumed that the outdoors speakers would be turned off and the doors closed shortly after dark since the bar is literally surrounded by rooms. Boy were we wrong. Needless to say neither of our children could sleep with the noise filling all corners of our suite. We tried turning on the range vent, and bath fan to create white noise to mitigate the booming bass. This was marginally effective, but not a solution. Finally we called the front desk at 10:30 to request a new room but were told this was not possible and they were booked all weekend. They sent security next door and shortly after the outdoor speakers were turned off, however since the doors remained opened this only provided a slight reduction in the noise. Fast forward to 1am, the kids had finally fallen asleep from exhaustion, but neither my wife or I could sleep due to the continuing noise. Another call to the front desk to again plead for a new room for the next evening, once again quickly dismissed, so I advised we had no choice but to check out the next morning and head home, as this was not the room to rent to a family with children due to the excessive noise immediately below.
Saturday morning I went downstairs to check out and was advised by Lindsey the cheerful and extremely helpful clerk at the front desk that there was a suite identical to ours that hadn't been rented the night before on the other side of the hotel and we could move there immediately if we desired to stay.
Of course we wanted to stay, but I was extremely angry that the staff the night before was too lazy or disinterested to even investigate whether our request to move could be accommodated.
Needless to say when we moved our entire stay took a completely new direction. The room was again beautiful and clean, this time with a balcony looking towards Georgian bay, and it was very quiet. Coffee on the balcony on the morning was a real treat, and everyone had a great nights sleep.
I definitely recommend Blue Mountain to anyone as there is lots to do satisfy whatever type of activity you are looking for, however if you are staying with children, of which the hotel was aware when we made the reservation, avoid room 307!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Shawn F,

Thank you for providing such a wonderful overview for our Trip Advisor readers, you have created a really nice expectation for readers in terms of your lodging unit and activities. The rooms are like a home away from home, well stocked and tastefully appointed.

We are sorry to hear that your visit was marred by excessive noise from one of the very popular night life venues in the Village. You have made a good point and one that will garner increased attention by our administrative team and avoid assigning units with young families or those with heightened noise sensitivity to these locations. Normally we are able to facilitate a room change on request and in particular under these circumstances, however we truly did not have an available room at the time of your initial request. There are a variety of factors that would contribute to our inability to offer an alternate room. The room that Lindsey was able to offer you the following day was what we refer to as a “no show”, we had a reservation with payment and the guest did not show up. We are unable to release a room under these circumstances until the following day on the chance the guest will still arrive. We are extremely sorry for the impression you were left with, the staff were not being lazy, but instead, were being cautious so as not to raise your hopes only to have you further disappointed the next day. They would not know conclusively if a guest might be a “no show” at the time of your inquiry. We are pleased to hear that the room move was a viable solution to the issues that prevailed on your first day here, and thank you for providing this feedback and raising awareness for those with noise sensitivity. We will also provide your feedback on noise levels to the bar owners for their consideration and compliance with local by-laws.

Once again, thank you for this valuable feedback and the opportunity to provide some clarity in regards to the extenuating factors that lead to an unsavory impression of our team members.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

CHECK IN: Ok, but we spent 30 minutes trying to find the place try and put up signs!! Room: We got a 2 bdrm with loft. Very nice and spacious but only one toilet! Sleep: very nice! Activities: Wonderful! I went on the Ridge Runner very fast!. Overall good hotel!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with family get a 2 Bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvard P, Vice President - Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Ewan W,

We’re glad to hear things went smoothly and you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope guests of this website find your comments helpful when considering a visit to our resort. The Ridge Runner is a ton of fun, the Zip Line is open now, you might really enjoy this attraction if you like the speed and thrill of the coaster.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited



Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I went to the Mosaic two years ago and the services and amenities were well kept than considering it was still fairly new. I recently went with my family and my in-laws from August 19th to the 21st. We took 2 rooms. I noticed the rooms are now showing signs of wear and aging. Scratches on doors and worn down couches and pillow couches which are discoloring tell me they need to refresh the hotel. My kids slept on the sofa bed and these are not comfortable to sleep on anymore. The mattress is flattening from use and definitely needs to be changed. If your kids are 12 or older consider a room with two beds. The room was otherwise kept well.

Air conditioning in my in-laws unit did not work properly. The engineer who serviced the room said the air conditioning unit needs to be pulled out so why rent this rom out given the issue? The latch on their door that keeps the door open when you step out of the room broke, again a sign of aging. The biggest disappointment is the pool area. The hotel typically attracts young families and with young kids and they just don't have enough lawn chairs. It doesn't even support half the guests in the hotel. We saw people sitting on the paved deck on their towels or on the grass because there was not enough chairs. Not good for a hotel of this stature. This was the same problem two years ago too. You would have thought they would have opened up an area to fit more chairs, but nothing.

The upkeep to the pool seemed to be poor. When we arrived at the pool, the water seemed to have a cloudy murky look. It could have been so many kids and adults going in with sunscreen, I'm not sure, but it did not look clean or clear.

Nonetheless, the hotel is still in the village and is in a good location to nearby attractions and restaurants. The check-in was fairly quick. I'd say the hotel is probably now a 3 star. No way is it a 5 star anymore and giving it a 4 is a bit of a stretch.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms in the middle of the floor. They seem to be bigger with a queen size bed. Corner s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Heat7,

We’re sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations; your comments are contrary to many recent reviews of this property. On average you can see our guests find the rooms spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped, some refer to them as modern décor, others say they have a rustic feel and for the most part they are well received. There is no disputing that a pullout sofa bed is not ideal sleeping for older children or adults, they are okay for younger children that are light in body weight. A mattress designed to fold up inside a couch cannot provide the same support and comfort as a full size bed with mattress and box spring, opting for a second bedroom is advised.

We apologize for the deficiency that your in-laws experienced with the air conditioning; this of course is not the quality of service we want to deliver. Our service technicians are on hand throughout the day and evening to address items such as this.

This summer has been another warm one and guests of the resort, particularly families of young children enjoy leisurely days around the pools. With increased bather loads and most wearing sunscreen the clarity of the water can, at times, become cloudy. Regardless of appearance, we can assure you that our pool service team and our deck attendants routinely monitor chemical levels to ensure readings are never below industry standards. We had increased the number of deck chairs available earlier this summer and yet see days where we cannot meet the demands, as such our deck attendants have been further empowered to police chair holding. Meaning if a chair sits for 30 minutes without anyone using it, regardless of belongings present, they will remove items and free up chairs.

Thanks again for your valuable perspective and the opportunity you have provided for us to clarify concerns raised.

Best Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Ltd.,

Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband, 5 year old son and I just got back from staying at the Mosaic at Blue Mountain. Some people think this is only a winter getaway..Wrong! What a great summer Vacation destination! My son loved it! From the Aquatic Plunge centre to the mountain coaster, the Gondola ride, live music each night and so much more...we can't wait to go back! We had a Bachelor suite which suited us perfectly! It was a beautiful room with "cottage like" touches, a fireplace, kitchenette, flat screen TV, deep soaker tub, and a great view of the mountains. The staff were always very friendly and accommodating. The restaurants in the village are great! Giving you a variety of budget up to high priced items, but all were great in our opinion!
We are already talking about going back in the fall time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunl0ver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvard P, Vice President-Hospitality Services at Mosaic, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear sunl0ver22,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a quick synopsis of your recent visit to Blue Mountain Resorts and in particular the Mosaic hotel. It’s true, and we think the word is spreading, we are no longer solely a winter holiday destination; we like to think of ourselves as an all season destination. We are so happy to hear you and your family; in particular your young son, enjoyed the resort and the activities.

The Village is vibrant and bustling with activities, events and music and yet it is calming and relaxing to stroll or just sit and linger. The rooms are well appointed and very well equipped, making packing for a holiday much easier for families such as yours. Our staff members are eager to assist and go out of their way to ensure each guest is well taken care of.

We’re delighted to hear you are coming back, the fall is such a pretty time up here; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
On behalf of Blue Mountain Resorts Limited


Alvard Petten
Vice President-Hospitality Services
apetten@bluemountain.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#4 of 8 in Blue Mountains
355 reviews
2.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
0.9 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic

Property: Mosaic
Address: 108 Jozo Weider Blvd, Blue Mountains, Ontario L9Y 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Blue Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mosaic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Blue Mountains
Mosaic Hotel Collingwood
Mosaic Resort Collingwood
Mosaic Blue Mountains, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing