We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chips rice and curry in sale by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goldlion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Goldlion
Ranked #46 of 118 Restaurants in Sale
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Sale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best chips rice and curry in sale by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Me, my partner and all my friends all agree that the golden lion is the best Chinese in sale.
We visit regularly (about once a week) and are never disappointed. We almost always order chips rice and curry but also go for a full blown banquet when treating ourselves.
I have never had any issues with the prices as they fall in line with the sale average.
The staff are always pleasant every time I visit an I never have to wait very long for my food.
The only negative is that they don't deliver but it is always worth the drive to get there

Helpful?
Thank Tbuddy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The fried soft noodles I could eat a full bowl of- delicious!

I have had a few of the main courses and they are all really nice- chilli and garlic, ok sauce, satay, but my favourite is Szechuan as it's really tasty with a nice tang and is great with chicken of the char Sui pork.

I think the ribs are great too- Thai sauce, BBQ sauce- all fab.

I think the only let down is the chips - but in my opinion you should have noodles or rice with a Chinese anyway :)

I am heading there in 10 mins for my tea tonight!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RachDewsnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

-Staff are really friendly and efficient.
-Food is so so so much better than the surrounding takeaways. Their meat is actual meat rather than pure fat which would explain why some people complain that it's more expensive than local takeaways; the food is of a far better quality.
-Don't go to No1 or Wendover for Chinese in this area. Gold Lion Is 10 times better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkkoala20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Vermicelli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our regular Chinese take away choice in Sale.

Very friendly staff and they always know our names..........

Vermicelli is my favourite followed by crispy chilli beef

Maybe not the cheapest around but we like it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Chosen Take-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We always go to Goldlion for our Chinese Take-out - friendly lady, speedy service, tasty food and good value - can't ask for more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatUrquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goldlion also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Sale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Goldlion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing