We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUAINT AND HOMELY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“QUAINT AND HOMELY”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for one night, and it was like going to my grandmother's house 50 years ago...Old fashioned in places, clean, and with a warm welcome immediately you stepped through the front door.Food was 1st class [Dinner and Breakfast] just like grandma used to do,but with abundant more choice...Could not surpass her gravy though!

Left the following morning feeling content and well looked after,just as I did all those years ago.

So convenient for Manchester Airport.We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEREK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    92
    40
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
101
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending a family party in the area. The original building has obviously been lovely and majestic at one time but looks quite run down. What could be made into an impressive approach is actually a barely discernible and overgrown driveway. The reception entrance and lovely staircase are quite impressive but could be stunning with some care. After walking through that area and over an internal bridge we arrived at our room in the large annex at the rear. I really wanted to like this place but, oh dear! The room was small, with little space to move around. The window did not close and obviously hadn't done for some time. The TV was small and perched up near the ceiling. The shower was flimsy and grimy, the toilet roll holder broken and the door on the small vanity unit under the sink hanging from the hinges. The whole room had an air of neglect and was crying out for updating. We were barely in the room fortunately but we noticed when we returned later and went to bed that the walls appeared quite thin and it was noisy. On a positive note, in complete contrast, the garden was lovely and well maintained. The breakfast next day was very nice and served in the pleasant dining room by attentive and pleasant staff. The location was good for us and we managed for one night.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roombudYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fylde
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This reviewer lived within sight of The Normanhurst, in a leafy Manchester suburb, for almost 20 years until moving away in 1997, and saw it prosper under the charismatic founder, catering for the Ford Cortina driving business traveller. Sadly he is no longer around, but the hotel is still under the stewardship of his family. He would be proud of them. We have stayed there on a number of occasions, but this stay was particularly special; the welcome was warm and genuine, and all staff appeared to care. Food and bar service was excellent and intelligently delivered. OK, perhaps the room furnishings are rather dated, but everything worked and nothing was too much trouble. Gardens are terrific. What a venue for a wedding reception! Try this place when in Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night while attending the weekend Ashes Cricket. It's about 1/2 a mile from the metro tram station "Broadway".

The hotel has plenty of parking and has a pleasant atomosphere. The lounge/bar and dining area are nice and there is good seating in the garden, if the weather is nice.

Our twin bedded room was on the first floor. The room was a bit run down and could do with a touch of modernisation. It was looking a bit worn to be honest. Little things like a chunk missing out of the bath side and a fuse box that had been uprated but certainly not masked to avoid it spoiling the look of the room. Tea/Coffee facilities were reasonable but it would be nice to have had mugs instead of small cups. It's hard to make a decent cup of tea without a pot and with very small cups. (You might want to bring you own pot or mug). There was a flat screen TV.

We ate dinner in the evening and breakfast. The dinner was a set menu for about £22 a head. The choice was limited and to be honest the food wasn't anything to shout about. Breakfast was OK. There was a wedding event on while we were there so that may have had some impact on the quality and range of the food on offer.

I would stay at the hotel again but probably wouldn't book dinner. It's comfortable and friendly and in a quite location. It's also convenient for getting out to Manchester, Altringham, or the cricket matches at Old Trafford.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I just overnight there on a business trip, because it was close to the airport and the prices where reasonable.
The hotel itseld is- for my point of view - a typical old enlish building with historical furniture ans athmosphare.
I agree the wy to the rooms, which are very small, are smelly and stuffy, but i did not expect anything else in a old builidng like this. Even the room was very small, the bathroom was renovated and o.k.. Staff was very friendly and the dinner excelent( depens what you expect). It was wonderful to stay in the nice garden after dinner and having some drinks.
Any time again !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strizi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I can't rate this hotel highly enough for the price. Over from Australia on an extended trip for the Ashes, which were not so good, they suggested I get a superior room for the extra space. It was enormous. Staff very friendly, Emma asked to be specially mentioned, Breakfast was excellent, and the one evening meal I eat in was also very good.

There was private party on Saturday night but it stopped at exactly 11.00 pm which was fine.

If a match is held in Manchester in 2015 I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had been on a weeks holiday in Scotland and wanted to stopover half way back and this looked nice on their website; what a mistake! The staff were friendly on arrival and from outside the hotel looks pleasant. But, we were out in an outside 1980s extension with small stuffy rooms with very dirty bathrooms and old fashioned decor and very uncomfortable beds. There was also a problem with the old fashioned electric side lights and the staff not knowing where the fuse box was and thinking the lights and TV would be on the same circuit. The hotel itself was even dirtier - light switches, glasses, calculator on front desk etc. In fact it was so concerning that my mother could not bring herself to eat breakfast. I would recommend 3 star chain hotel Premier Inn over this any day.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
15.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normanhurst Hotel Sale
The Normanhurst Hotel And Restaurant Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing