We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veryfriendly staff walls a bit thin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Veryfriendly staff walls a bit thin”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay here with friends. The friendliness of the staff was unbeatable extremely helpful when we asked about directions and the best way to get to the Trafford Centre and even ordered a taxi for us. We stayed in the annexe which was accessed corridors from the main house. The room itself was very pleasant and adequate for what we needed however I would say that the walls were quite thin and you could here conversation from adjoining rooms (and even the toilet being used) breakfast was excellent as was the festive meal we had in the restaurant on our second night staff were extremely efficient and the food was excellent. A very enjoyable stay and would stay again if visiting that area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxes91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    93
    41
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
101
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

On this weekend trip we booked for 2 adults, 1 child and a dog, but turned up childless and dog less (having found 'alternative' accommodation for them at Granny's!). Despite the fact we had clearly been allocated a larger room we were grateful not to be charged for the child or dog. The hotel is an old victorian building (1898 was mentioned) with loads of character. Original stained glass windows, wood panelling, a victorian conservatory/bar area, and a grand dining room. Attached to the main building is a more modern extension, (70's 80's ?) rooms are to be found through a labrynth of corridors and fire doors. The room was spotless, there was a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities (with a generous supply of sachets and biscuits) a modern bathroom, and a nice hot shower. Next morning we looked out on beautifully kept gardens with lots of plump squirrels hopping about! On both mornings we had a plentiful cooked english breakfast included in the price. If you like the neutral, contemporary corporate style of a Premier Inn or another of those big chains then maybe this hotel is not for you, but we thought it was great value for money and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumboshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The real plus point with this hotel is the friendliness of the staff and owner Adele they really make you feel at home. The young girl on reception and at breakfast is a breath of fresh air always at hand to help and always with a smile. We didn't stay for dinner but the dining room was buzzing and the place had a great atmosphere we did manage a drink at the bar and enjoyed the buzz of the place. We got a really good last minute deal and I would say we got great value.
I suppose for those who expect a bit more you could perhaps say the place needs a bit of refurbishment especially the annexe where we stayed. I found the bed comfortable and the view to the garden was very pleasant, the shower worked well and the facilities were adequate. My reading is that the hotel is doing its best with the annexe as to refurbish it would cost them an arm and a leg especially in the current economic climate so try not to be too hard on them!
Finally breakfast was good lovely and fresh with again excellent service. Just a small gripe any chance of a really good local sausage? The cheap mass produced ones on offer spoilt it a bit and be careful with the toast it did have a couple of black edges!
To sum up the brilliant service makes up for the minor shortcomings and we'd stay here again especially on the brilliant deal we got.

Room Tip: Adele is quite happy to upgrade you if you speak to her personally
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngwarren66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We didn't quite know what to expect from staying at the Normanhurst after experiencing rather "ordinary" stays at this type of hotel in other locations. First impressions on driving up the short tree lined drive were good, as the hotel looked homely and welcoming from the outside. On arrival in the wood panelled reception area we began to realise that this was our sort of place to stay, being traditional and charming in style and welcome. The check in was smooth and the young lady who received us was attentive and took the trouble of showing us to our room personally. We were delighted to find we had been upgraded to a lovely suite overlooking the well cared for gardens. The interior of the main building was akin to a baronial hall and the only thing missing was the odd suit of armour!!! Our room was large and very comfortable with a recently refurbished bathroom. Everywhere was clean and we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Our only regret was that, because we were visiting family in the area, we couldn't partake of dinner in the restaurant, as the menu looked interesting and excellent value for money. Breakfast was good and the waiting staff were friendly and attentive. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will definitely return to stay longer next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starryeyed_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for one night, and it was like going to my grandmother's house 50 years ago...Old fashioned in places, clean, and with a warm welcome immediately you stepped through the front door.Food was 1st class [Dinner and Breakfast] just like grandma used to do,but with abundant more choice...Could not surpass her gravy though!

Left the following morning feeling content and well looked after,just as I did all those years ago.

So convenient for Manchester Airport.We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEREK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending a family party in the area. The original building has obviously been lovely and majestic at one time but looks quite run down. What could be made into an impressive approach is actually a barely discernible and overgrown driveway. The reception entrance and lovely staircase are quite impressive but could be stunning with some care. After walking through that area and over an internal bridge we arrived at our room in the large annex at the rear. I really wanted to like this place but, oh dear! The room was small, with little space to move around. The window did not close and obviously hadn't done for some time. The TV was small and perched up near the ceiling. The shower was flimsy and grimy, the toilet roll holder broken and the door on the small vanity unit under the sink hanging from the hinges. The whole room had an air of neglect and was crying out for updating. We were barely in the room fortunately but we noticed when we returned later and went to bed that the walls appeared quite thin and it was noisy. On a positive note, in complete contrast, the garden was lovely and well maintained. The breakfast next day was very nice and served in the pleasant dining room by attentive and pleasant staff. The location was good for us and we managed for one night.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roombudYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fylde
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This reviewer lived within sight of The Normanhurst, in a leafy Manchester suburb, for almost 20 years until moving away in 1997, and saw it prosper under the charismatic founder, catering for the Ford Cortina driving business traveller. Sadly he is no longer around, but the hotel is still under the stewardship of his family. He would be proud of them. We have stayed there on a number of occasions, but this stay was particularly special; the welcome was warm and genuine, and all staff appeared to care. Food and bar service was excellent and intelligently delivered. OK, perhaps the room furnishings are rather dated, but everything worked and nothing was too much trouble. Gardens are terrific. What a venue for a wedding reception! Try this place when in Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,583 reviews
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#3 of 116 in Manchester
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normanhurst Hotel Sale
The Normanhurst Hotel And Restaurant Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing