We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Clean, spacious and quiet rooms. Very clean and private. Menu choices were excellent, Dinner A La Carte was delicious, freshly cooked, breakfast was lovely with many choices as well, and staff very welcoming. Good quiet location, and transport links very close. Near Wythenshawe Hospital. Prices are reasonable, and you get good value for money. All in all, a good hotel! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in the Normanhurst on 7/12/13 and have to say that we were treated very well. The meals we had were fantastic and the staff were more than helpful and friendly.
Decorated aptly for Christmas in a traditional manner it has certainly given us a festive feeling. Thank you to all the staff x

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room which was a very good size and very clean, nicely decorated and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luce010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Maybe because it is a hotel I don't think about eating here in the normal course of events, but have been twice recently with groups of colleagues & both times the meal has been of a high standard, well presented and friendly efficient service. The meals represent good value for money and the menu changes regularly.
The only down side is that it is sometimes difficult to park as the car park soon becomes full and it is difficult to turn round.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ESHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay here with friends. The friendliness of the staff was unbeatable extremely helpful when we asked about directions and the best way to get to the Trafford Centre and even ordered a taxi for us. We stayed in the annexe which was accessed corridors from the main house. The room itself was very pleasant and adequate for what we needed however I would say that the walls were quite thin and you could here conversation from adjoining rooms (and even the toilet being used) breakfast was excellent as was the festive meal we had in the restaurant on our second night staff were extremely efficient and the food was excellent. A very enjoyable stay and would stay again if visiting that area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxes91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

On this weekend trip we booked for 2 adults, 1 child and a dog, but turned up childless and dog less (having found 'alternative' accommodation for them at Granny's!). Despite the fact we had clearly been allocated a larger room we were grateful not to be charged for the child or dog. The hotel is an old victorian building (1898 was mentioned) with loads of character. Original stained glass windows, wood panelling, a victorian conservatory/bar area, and a grand dining room. Attached to the main building is a more modern extension, (70's 80's ?) rooms are to be found through a labrynth of corridors and fire doors. The room was spotless, there was a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities (with a generous supply of sachets and biscuits) a modern bathroom, and a nice hot shower. Next morning we looked out on beautifully kept gardens with lots of plump squirrels hopping about! On both mornings we had a plentiful cooked english breakfast included in the price. If you like the neutral, contemporary corporate style of a Premier Inn or another of those big chains then maybe this hotel is not for you, but we thought it was great value for money and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumboshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The real plus point with this hotel is the friendliness of the staff and owner Adele they really make you feel at home. The young girl on reception and at breakfast is a breath of fresh air always at hand to help and always with a smile. We didn't stay for dinner but the dining room was buzzing and the place had a great atmosphere we did manage a drink at the bar and enjoyed the buzz of the place. We got a really good last minute deal and I would say we got great value.
I suppose for those who expect a bit more you could perhaps say the place needs a bit of refurbishment especially the annexe where we stayed. I found the bed comfortable and the view to the garden was very pleasant, the shower worked well and the facilities were adequate. My reading is that the hotel is doing its best with the annexe as to refurbish it would cost them an arm and a leg especially in the current economic climate so try not to be too hard on them!
Finally breakfast was good lovely and fresh with again excellent service. Just a small gripe any chance of a really good local sausage? The cheap mass produced ones on offer spoilt it a bit and be careful with the toast it did have a couple of black edges!
To sum up the brilliant service makes up for the minor shortcomings and we'd stay here again especially on the brilliant deal we got.

Room Tip: Adele is quite happy to upgrade you if you speak to her personally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngwarren66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We didn't quite know what to expect from staying at the Normanhurst after experiencing rather "ordinary" stays at this type of hotel in other locations. First impressions on driving up the short tree lined drive were good, as the hotel looked homely and welcoming from the outside. On arrival in the wood panelled reception area we began to realise that this was our sort of place to stay, being traditional and charming in style and welcome. The check in was smooth and the young lady who received us was attentive and took the trouble of showing us to our room personally. We were delighted to find we had been upgraded to a lovely suite overlooking the well cared for gardens. The interior of the main building was akin to a baronial hall and the only thing missing was the odd suit of armour!!! Our room was large and very comfortable with a recently refurbished bathroom. Everywhere was clean and we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Our only regret was that, because we were visiting family in the area, we couldn't partake of dinner in the restaurant, as the menu looked interesting and excellent value for money. Breakfast was good and the waiting staff were friendly and attentive. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will definitely return to stay longer next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starryeyed_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
1.8 mi away
Best Western Cresta Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sale
250 reviews
15.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sale Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range: £54 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normanhurst Hotel Sale
The Normanhurst Hotel And Restaurant Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing