We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was good, but not as we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“it was good, but not as we expected”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

not very outside Manchester Center and Town Hall, but the costs for the taxi, makes you regret that you stay in this hotel. Rooms was ok.. quite old.. breakfast was very rich.. I expected more from the dinner.. just an ok "hotel".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannos-Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    95
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
65
104
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Normanhurst Hotel for one evening and dined at the Restaurant. The staff were wonderful, they just couldn't do enough for you. The food at the Restaurant was gorgeous and everyone at our table (10 of us) had no complaints about the meals served or the service. Breakfast again was great with cereal, fruit juices and the full English with as much coffee and toast as you can feasibly eat. It was all tasty but I especially liked the sausages. If we are ever in the area again the Normanhurst Hotel is where we will stay. The hotel room we stayed in (248) had spotless white bedding. The bathroom had been beautifully renovated with a walk-in shower, it was fully tiled and had a pristine white toilet and washbasin. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Hotel may not be too disabled friendly unless you can walk a little way or you have someone with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights, on arriving, although very busy, the staff were friendly and courteous. the room was fantastic, clean and tidy, extremely comfy bed, excellent on-suite facility's and the food was excellent,

Room Tip: I stayed in the main hotel, there is an extension to the hotel which also had several rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottm328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I have driven a black cab in Manchester for many years and have stayed at this hotel quite a few times.
First the Pros : Great hotel where nothing for the staff seems too much trouble. Lovely rooms with brilliant service ! A fantastic restaurant(and wine list) Perfect location, easy reach of the Airport, Manchester and the football !!!!!!

Cons: Not found one !!!!!!!!

I know most of the hotels in Manchester.....This one is right up there with the best.....Okay others may have 5 stars, I doubt if the service is a patch on this place !!!!! Thank You

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John_taxi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed at the Normanhurst Hotel to attend a family party held locally. First impressions were great, of a traditional homely hotel, roaring fires, wood paneling and beautiful decor. The receptionist was most welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was lovely with a newly refurbished bathroom, fine decor, great comfy bed and a fantastic view over the extensive gardens. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind to us that week and we couldn't enjoy what is surely a lovely space in the summer months. Due to us attending a party we couldn't sample dinner but on our return to the hotel the restaurant was still bustling with a live pianist and a great atmosphere, everyone seemed to be having a ball! The bar was well stocked and all staff were again excellent and most welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. I must again give a thumbs up to all the staff, a truly motivated and friendly team. I honestly couldn't find fault and have already recommended the Normanhurst to friends and colleagues. Thank you for a lovely stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClivePrice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Me and my partner stayed here one weekend in February, we were given a Superior room which appeared to have recently had a new bathroom, which was beautifully decorated and had an amazing shower! The bed in our room was huge and so comfortable, one of the best nights sleep I've had!

The food in the restaurant was beautiful, my boyfriend would definitely recommend their steaks! On top of that the staff were helpful, polite and always friendly! We had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar which gave us the chance to meet and spend a bit of time with the owner who is a very lovely lady, we even got a glimpse of her granddaughter and family, I can't fault this hotel. The grounds are lovely and we will definitely be visiting again as we found the prices outstanding!

Thank you to all the staff at the Normanhurst - we will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had stayed in this hotel a number of times as the staff were friendly and the price was reasonable. Having said that, there was always something in every room that we stayed in that was broken, and the walls are so thin in the annex rooms that the conversations and the snores from the next room can be very clearly heard.
My husband and I planned to stay for three weeks to see friends and family as I am originally from Sale and now live in the USA. The day after my arrival at the end of December I went down to the bar to get some food and a drink, to find it closed and everywhere in darkness. They had decided that since there were only two rooms occupied that they wouldn't bother to open the bar!
After about a week, the owner asked me to change rooms since they had a decorator coming in. The hotel was almost empty with many rooms available, but she had decided to put us in a room that was going to be decorated! After being in the room for two nights we were then informed that we needed to move rooms again as they were going to have the bathroom redone. They offered to put our belongings in the cleaner's closet as we were going to be gone that night! Goodness knows where they were planning on us sleeping the following night as neither room would be ready until the following week! We were very upset with the owner's whole attitude and felt that we were being taken advantage of. She did not even have the grace to come and speak to us even though she was in the hotel at the time.
We left and moved to a different hotel in Sale, which turned out to be cheaper, more conveniently located, and the owner treated us wonderfully.
I was extremely disappointed with the shabby treatment from the owner of the hotel, particularly since we had stayed there many times.

Room Tip: The cheaper annex rooms seem to be mainly for business travellers so to get a nicer room in the main...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanhurstHotel, Owner at The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reader

This guest and her husband have indeed stayed with us on a number of occasions over the years and have always been very complimentary regarding the hotel so I am very surprised by the content of her review.

Because the Christmas to New year period is generally quiet we decided to refurbish a number of rooms. This guest had advised us that they would be checking out for a few days and we decided to redecorate their room while they was away ready for their return, The bathroom next door was also about to be renovated on that day and the tradesmen had been scheduled to start after normal checkout time which is 11am. What we did not realise was that they had decided to check out later that day and had not informed us.

We have always tried to assign them to the same room and this was the case when they arrived on the 28th December. We even help them by holding their room with there belongings in them whenever they are away for a few days (or offer to store them if this is not possible)
In reflection we got this wrong and should have assigned them to a room that would not be affected by our ongoing renovation program

I am sorry that they felt the need write such a negative review especially since I and all members of the staff have always tried very hard to help them

Regarding the points made about the rooms, if there were problems then I am very surprised that they were never mentioned to the staff at any time in all the years they have stayed.

We would also like to point out that the refurbishment work was completed as scheduled and most of our rooms now have new bathrooms and have been redecorated and we are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
1.8 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Belmore Hotel
Belmore Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sale
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,628 reviews
2.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 195 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3PJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normanhurst Hotel Sale
The Normanhurst Hotel And Restaurant Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing