We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel 10 minutes from airport”
Review of Belmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmore Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Level Contributor
387 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel 10 minutes from airport”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel as the usual airport hotels were booked. Very glad we did. Clean, comfortable rooms attached to a pub that has good beer, food and an outside seating area. Only £59 for the room so it competes well with more established budget chain hotels and is in my view better. More character and the staff are very good, pleasant and helpful. Hotel was full and had a mix of business people and tourists, some whom obviously been there before.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 165854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    65
    35
    23
    10
See reviews for
62
80
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I agree with other reviewers who mention the lack of staff. When I originally made the booking I called the hotel on several occasions and no one was answering the phone. When I stayed at the hotel I found it difficult to find a member of staff. Having said that, the two girls who I dealt with were lovely and it was a shame for them they did not have the help. My brother and I each had a room of type deluxe. Deluxe rooms have a separate shower to the bath. The rooms were of good quality and we were both happy with them. We both had continental breakfast but I have to say this was disappointing. There was no porridge even though it was advertised as being available, So my continental consisted of a cheap yoghurt, kellogs muesli (would it be too much to have Alpen?) , tasteless bread. Sorry, but having stayed at hotels across England and the world this is not a continental breakfast. Overall nice staff, nice rooms but poor breakfast, poor service. Great shame.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmorehotel, Front Office Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback as your comments will be taken on board as we always wish to give the best possible customer service on every occasion. As reception is not manned 24 hours, then the calls get transferred to the staff in the restaurant which is always covered, but as you can appreciate on busy occasions this can become quite difficult. On a positive note we are pleased to hear you were happy with your accommodation and we will make every effort to improve the standards of the continential breakfast. We are also still in the process of recruting new members for the team which can be a lengthy process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have not stayed here but have used the hotel's meeting room facilities, bar and restaurant. The attractive building is victorian, refurbished to a high standard a few years ago and well maintained with comfortable, stylish public areas. The outside terraces and gardens are popular in good weather as they catch the sun in the afternoon and early evening. Sandwiches, bar snacks and restaurant food are good quality and well prepared and the Thursday evening curry offert is a bargain (choice of curry with extras plus a drink for £7.99). The staff are friendly and professional and I think the standard of service probably reflects good training. The hotel is on the corner of a tree lined road in a good and safe area but only a few minutes walk from the tram stop ( Altrincham to Manchester,Old Trafford, Salford Quays)so I can recommend it for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback and comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in a double room. It was clean and quite spacious.
It was a bank holiday Sunday evening and the bar was busy. This meant no staff on reception you had to go through to the bar to get someone.
The breakfast was a good size with plenty of it however you had to hunt for a member of staff as there was no one around. We were asked if we wanted toast with our full English but this came after we had finished. They didn't seem very busy in the restaurant so not sure what the problem was?
Overall a nice place but service could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louella75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your comments have been taken on board. Firstly, we would like to point out Reception is not manned 24 hours, but it is made clear with signage to contact a member of staff in the bar area. We apologise if you felt the service could have been better, but unfortunately a number of staff phoned in sick on the Bank Holiday Monday morning including the breakfast waitress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here for the night before The Manchester Marathon, and this was an ideal base, right near to the Brooklands Metrolink, in a quiet area, which is a very good viewing point for mile 9 and 16, and then only 4 stops to Old Trafford and the finish. The Hotel staff were very friendly and courteous at all times. The room was nice and clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and they even opened up early for my husband. The only niggles I have is there was a banging noise, every time us or other guests used the bathroom,(we were in room 8), this went on for some time, and kept us awake at night, I think its connected to the extractor fan system and needs attending to. The other niggle was we had two meals, the first was in the evening. We both ordered soup and my husbands came out piping hot whilst mine was luke warm, also my Ploughmans didn't have any ham on it. Both errors were rectified on complaint with apologies, but I had to sit and wait for awhile. The Sunday dinner was excellent,, no problems with that. I would definitely return and hope to give a better rating next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments. We will certainly take on board your niggle with regard to the banging noise in the bathroom. We are also pleased to hear you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Myself and a small group of friends dined here last weekend and i have to say it was one of the best experiences we've had for a long time!! The menu seemed to cater for all tastes,me and my partner opted for steaks,I had fillet and he chose the rump,both steaks where cooked exactly as we asked and the pepper sauce was to die for. Some of the others in the party had currys,salads and sharing platters, everybody said how nice the food was, fresh,hot and very tasty!!!
The service i have to say matched the food,fast, efficient and nothing seemed to much trouble,Great work alround guys and girls!!!

We dine out quite often as friends and will definately be back to the Belmore soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a great positive review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so pleased you all enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The Belmore is just great as hinted at my title. I haven't stayed, however eaten a few times over the last few months, and as a result returned soon after. Regardless of the day or time, there has been a relaxed atmosphere making it good for a girly catch up, family meal with young children, or a break away from the norm with my partner. The staff have always been helpful, warm and friendly and responded to any requests quickly and efficently. There's a good selection of wines and beers, as expected to a JW Lees pub and at reasonable prices, and to sit and enjoy - a nice beer garden and lovely pub area. The pub is fairly open plan, and benefits from a few nooks and crannies to enjoy some peace and quiet if required. The menu is refreshed every few months with a few classics remaining and new dishes added. The food is nice - its pub food - and what you see is what you get - but its good and in terms of pricing ist around the £8 - £15 for a main. The portion sizes are generous and served in a timely manner regardless of how quiet or busy. I really enjoy the Belmore - I've never been let down by the service, food or atmosphere and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodle0873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmorehotel, Manager at Belmore Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again - and maybe next time you could enjoy an overnight stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.4 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Sale) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
1.0 mi away
Eskdale Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmore Hotel

Property: Belmore Hotel
Address: 143 Brooklands Road, Sale M33 3QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Sale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1875, The Belmore is superbly located within easy reach of the motorway network, Manchester Aiport and Metrolink tram system. It benefits from twenty luxurious bedrooms and suites, with a pub restaurant serving real ales and fresh food. All rooms are furnished to a high standard with a contemporary feel. Free Wi-Fi throughout all of the hotel. All rooms have en-suite facilities available. Each of our twenty rooms offers our guests the following: remote control colour televisions with free view, tea & coffee making facilities and full english breakfast is included. As we are so close to local transport links, we have great access to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the Trafford Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmore Hotel Sale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing