We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, TOWIE atmosphere.”
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 84 Restaurants in Billericay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Trendy, TOWIE atmosphere.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Definitely a place that caters for the young(ish) affluent drinkers, but a great experience. Decent cocktails, cool music, lots of pretty people.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this bar”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We love this bar. On a saturday night they have live music, well a duo or singer etc. Great place to finish off your evening with a drink or two. Lovely decor and although bar staff are all young, they are not condecending to us "slightly older" customers and make you feel welcome. We havent eaten here, but I am sure we will do and will review the food at that time. Give it a try!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good night out”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been to this bar a few times now and have always had a good night out. We have never eaten in here but the food always looks very nice and there is always lots of people eating in there. There are always lots of people in here but the atmosphere is always good and very friendly. The staff are always very good and the service is good. A nice place to go for a good nigh tout with friends, a varied age group drink in there so it is not full of youngsters.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bloody brilliant”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have to say I have never used trip advisor before, wehad a wonderful dinner at Harry's bar this evening and in the cab ride home I promised the girls I would sign up and tell you what we thought of Harry's bar, well we thought it was bloody brilliant the food was amazing the entertainment (female singer) was great and the service was incredible. Our waitress who we think told us her name is Laura (may be wrong due to wine consumption) was a pleasure so happy and helpful and had us all laughing! We ordered a large amount of tapas and we loved every dish especially the nachos! So thank you very much Harry's bar we will be seeing you very soon! Goodnight :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service...just”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went for dinner on a saturday evening. Great tapas food and excellent entertainment from the singer. But... 20 mins waiting for the bill, no one then came to collect if for longer (could have just walked out and no one would have noticed) and despite ordering a taxi through the bar staff an hour in advance again they just didn't bother to book it for us. Good night spoiled by shoddy service at the end and unfortunately that is the lasting impression. They just don't care.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RT0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S S, Owner at Harry's Bar, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
You are obviously the customer I spoke to at the end of the evening
I'm dissapointed you felt you needed to give us a poor review after you admitted to me at the time and in your trip advisor report that you'd had great evening enjoying the food and entertainment up until the point you asked for the bill.
We had a staff meeting about your complaint the following day, and after reviewing the cctv of your visit there are some discrepanises in what you say.
you asked for the bill at 23.30, after 40 seconds the waitress returned with it, (some 19 minutes less than you say you waited to recieve the bill) you studied it for 2.30 minutes then layed it on the table and from that point made no gesture to the staff you were ready to pay.
I hasten to add, our staff are instructed not to pressure anyone to pay before they are ready.
At 23.42 the same waitress walked directly passed you and you did not offer payment at that point.
at 23.44 you went to the bar with the bill in your hand. you then went to the gents. in your absence the waiter came to your table with the card machine at 23.45 and waited for your return.
you then studied the bill again and asked for a pen at 23.47, you then paid the bill at 23.49 some 18 minutes after recieving it.
I will also point out that we were aware you had not paid up until the point you did and certainly would have noticed if would would have tried to leave without paying.
I think the real issue for you was the taxi. At 23.51 you asked the waiter to order you a taxi. He repeatedly tried until he eventually got a reply. He squated next to you whilst on the phone and relayed that there was a 40 minute wait, he ended the call at 23.55. at 23.58 you ordered another round of drinks. at 00.20 you spoke to me with a complaint that you thought the waiter had not ordered you the taxi. I assured you he had but we have no control over the local taxi company. you then conceded that you were and I quote 'going to get it in the ear from your wife if she has to walk down to the taxi rank"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing