We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Museum of Missed Opportunities”
Review of The Cater Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cater Museum
Ranked #12 of 20 things to do in Billericay
Attraction details
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Museum of Missed Opportunities”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This small local museum has a certain charm as an eclectic collection of objects with local connections. I recall visiting it in the 1970s and it has changed little; I am convicted some of the "explanatory" notes are the same ones I read as a schoolboy!
That is the problem, of course. It feels tired and dusty, and not in a way that excites or intrigues. The exhibits do not appear to be displayed with anything other than a loose theme; toys are lumped together, all archaeological finds in another couple of cases. There is no attempt to explain or contextualise the items and no sense of trying to explain the history of the area in a methodical way.
I asked the young lady in charge on the day I visited what they are doing to commemorate the First World War ( there is a small, unchanging, permanent display about the Zeppelin shot down in the area, by far the most interesting display even if takes up only one small alcove); there will be a tiny area which will be updated every year, apparently.
I feel some affection for this dry and dusty old collection but it seems to me to be a museum that misses all the opportunities that present themselves. It isn't just lack of funding; it lacks imagination for what it could be.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EssexColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal quick museum trip for children who loose interest.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

An enthusiastic curator and many interesting local oddities and reminders of past inhabitants. The rather rickety staircase could put some off and the fact that it is easy to miss and is only open 2pm -5pm unless you have a private arrangement, could also make visits difficult. But my young group of 15 girls were happy to spend an hour touring the exhibits and having a quick drink and biscuit in the garden which we took with us.
There have been one or two additions since I went as a child many years ago several items I remember being insitu! Quite a trip down memory lane.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming, small museum in charming, small Essex town.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Cater Museum is on High Street, BIllericay and is easily accessible by public transport; there are buses on the High Street and the museum is walking distance from Billericay Rail Station and is an easy day trip from London (trains leave from Liverpool Street Station).

There are items that were found in Billericay from early days and also from around Essex. Please check ahead to make certain that it is open.

The staff is enthusiastic about the museum and it shows!

Billiericay itself is a wonderful mix of old and new; check out some of the pubs and you'll find that they are historic sites.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BZM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is well worth a visit, if you like to find out about Billericay and see items of old. Only small but well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EssexEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quixotic melange of interesting items”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A fascinating place to visit with a wide variety of objects on display. The children's activity days run by the volunteers are fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rainbowdolphin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cater Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Cater Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing