We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy! !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in March
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Comfy! !!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Oliver Cromwell hotel over the weekend. The staff on reception was welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and tidy and smelt fabulous. I slept very well without any disturbance at all.

We had breakfast the following morning which was really good indeed. Once again staff were friendly and helpful.
I really enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ch3ryl_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    87
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
70
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed in March for 1.5 weeks and our company had booked this hotel. As my title mentions, the hotel seems more like a family run hotel than a professional operation. It is very dated and antique, and the rooms vary from each other, including which TV channels you will have, whether the radiator works etc.

But in spite of this I would be happy to stay again. The rooms are very big, they are very clean, and though they are dated, have everything you need. The beds are comfortable and large. And there is also free wifi, which is very slow, but enough to send emails etc.

The highlight of this hotel for me is the gym facilities. As far as hotels go the gym is quite good. It does offer paying memberships which seems quite popular so that does explain it. But it is possible to get a good workout, with both weights and cardio. Did not go swimming but the pool seems good too.

Although for what it is, the rooms are extremely pricey, but there seems to be a shortage of supply as the hotel was totally full when I went so people are willing to pay. I would never visit if I had to pay myself, only if my company was paying for that price though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherburn-in-Elmet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed at The Oliver Cromwell hotel in February this year. We spent 3 nights, and was made to feel very welcome. The room was basic but clean tidy and well set out. The bed was comfy for my husband, but too soft for me. There isn't a lot to do in March, and most of the activities were in other towns and cities. All the staff were brilliant, breakfast was a buffet type, with full English available, or cereals & fruit. We ate out once in a pub/hotel up the road and the food was lovely. However the next 2 nights we ate in the hotel resteraunt. The food was absolutely fantastic. If you just want a quiet weekend away from the stresses and strains of everyday life, then I would recommend here. they have a pool and gym that can be used free by the guests too

Room Tip: you can ask for an upgrade and you will get a four poster bed. set back from the road so the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaFawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Service ok, decor is slighltly dated, room was comfortable with good facilities apart from not being able to get wifi in my room. The food in the resturant was ok, but limited choices. Slept well, but breakfast was completly disorganised with no direction or intrsuctions

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiewayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Comfy rooms.Rooms are clean and spacious.plenty of car park spaces and is secured.plenty of choice for breakfast.Nice sauna and swimming facility.
Have been staying here from last few months during my visit to march.
Great hospitality when i went for my breakfast.
Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijayteju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very comfortable hotel with spacious and well appointed rooms. The bar has the advantage of offering three real ales - all in good condition and very competitively priced (cheaper, in fact, than the pubs in the town)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Is this an up-market luxury hotel .... no. Does it pretend to be .... no. What it does offer though is a very comfortable stay at a very reasonable price. The crowning glory of this hotel is undoubtedly the staff who were friendly, efficient and really went out of their way to assist with whatever they were asked.

The hotel is right in the centre of March but just nicely set back off the road. Parking was easy in the large hotel car park but I will agree with another comment on here that there is no signage to Reception which was a tad confusing.

The rooms were somewhat dated but what the heck .... they were large, clean and had everything in them to make our stay comfortable and pleasant and so I've no real complaints. We ate in the restaurant during the evening and everything was really lovely from the food to the wonderful staff who were determined to give our table a very enjoyable evening. Breakfast the following morning was the predicable buffet which is absolutely fine by me because it offers a choice to everyone. It was nicely cooked and plentiful.

There are plenty of in-depth comments on this hotel but based on my experience of staying in many up-market hotels the upshot is ......This was a VERY enjoyable stay, the staff are excellent, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near March
13.3 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
625 reviews
13.6 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
406 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
336 reviews
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
972 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#2 of 9 in March
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Cromwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Cromwell Hotel

Property: The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
Address: High Street, March PE15 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > March
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in March
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Cromwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oliver Cromwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel March, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing